We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ever”
Review of Coul House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coul House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We have stayed here many times though the last visit was over 10 years ago. Sometimes when you go back to a place that has been good there can be a sense of disappointment. Not so, in the the case of Coul House.
The new owners have improved the downstairs layout and brough the octagonal room more into play, creating a stunning dining room. There was a history of the improvements in the bedroom, and it appears a substantial amout of work has gone into the place, and it shows.

The owner was very pleasant and exteremly well organised and the whole visit was terrific.
As for the meal, in the past I have eaten some wonderful dinners at the hotel, but this one topped the lot. My crab cakes were the best I have ever eaten outside North America and the beef for my main course was just about the nicest tasting dish I can remember. Congratulations to the chef, who gave our party of four a meal to remember.

The bedrooms were comfortable, though the only downside is that the bathrooms are always awkwardly shaped in Coul House and difficult to move around, and again it was the case here. It was well stocked though with everything one could need.

To sum up, it was really great to go back again, and nice to see something which was always good to visit being improved in every aspect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HabLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

Lovely hotel in a beautiful part of the Highlands. Charming owners and excellent service. The dinner menu was very enjoyable with offerings of local fare with an elegant twist.The room was comfortable and the bed wonderful. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain_RM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The sign outside says 'Deliciously relaxing'. I was a bit concerned on arrival as there was a wedding and thought that maybe this would make it a bit less relaxing for others.
However, the owners and staff were outwardly relaxed even though working extremely hard and this sense of calm pervaded the whole atmosphere.
Room was excellent as was the food.
I have been recommending it to everyone and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: I suspect not all are newly refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Having stayed in many hotels in Scotland and Ireland through business, I would highly recommend this hotel due to the excellent level of service, spotless rooms, great food and outstanding location. Also was excellent value for money - would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed for one night on our way further North. Our first stay at Coul House and we loved it. Very friendly, helpful staff, cosy rooms which were spotlessly clean, and tasty food at dinner. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwayshungryformore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

From the moment we walked through the big door into the reception area complete with open fire, the service was impeccable!

our room was a good size and had been decorated well in keeping with the style of the hotel. Downstairs the rooms were even more spectacular with views across the valley.

We would highly recommend a stay at coul house, the staff were amazing., particularly Stewart and Chris. The food was fantastic and we left feeling extremely relaxed!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mroberts3207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Had a great one-night stay in this lovely comfortable hotel. The roaring fire in the entrance lobby, and the smiling face at the Front Desk were a great welcome. I was staying in a single room which was good. Homely rather than opulent, possibly in need of some redecoration, but more than adequate for my needs - clean, comfortable bed, big fluffy towels, quality toiletries, flat screen TV etc.

What stands out about this hotel (as well as the beautiful building itself and the stunning surroundings) is that the personality and passion of the owners comes through. The story of their running of the hotel is found in their annual update newsletters which are archived chronologically in your bedroom information folder. By the time you have read through these interesting and entertaining accounts (Do take the time to read them, there are several “laugh out loud” moments!) you feel like an old friend of the owners who has come to visit and share with them in their labour of love. Stuart and Susannah have clearly given this hotel and heart and a personality of its own which is great to see when so many cookie-cutter hotels today are soulless and corporate.

The Macphersons have clearly achieved a huge amount over the years. The gardens are now stunning, the ground floor has been sympathetically refurbished and restored, and the exterior of the hotel is very well maintained. They are open about the fact that the hotel is a work in progress – as any old building is, and they clearly have big dreams to make it the best hotel they possibly can. I have no doubt that they will achieve this - they are certainly very close to their goal.

The food and the service are outstanding. We enjoyed a delicious evening dinner and an excellent breakfast, served with flair and friendliness. Venison was perfectly cooked and elegantly presented. Scallops were fresh and tasty. Desert was delicious. The restaurant staff were kind, friendly and obliging – very good hosts. The restaurant itself is worth a mention – a lovely octagonal room with incredible ever-changing views out over the hills.

I would definitely like to return and can imagine that the hotel is lovely at all times of the year given it’s great location, cosy lounges, attractive sun terrace and beautiful grounds with mature trees. If you are looking for the personal touch, then this great country house hotel is for you – it is well worth the short drive from Inverness. I am sure many of their guests come once, and then return time after time.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, keep your window closed at night, as the peacocks in the neighbouring wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGM78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Contin
17.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
616 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
809 reviews
15.2 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
399 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
610 reviews
11.8 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#2 of 36 in Inverness
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coul House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coul House Hotel

Address: Contin, Contin IV14 9ES, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Contin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Price Range: £102 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coul House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian house built 1821 loving restored to create a warm and comfortable country house hotel. Log fires in each of the public rooms, stunning mountain views and lots of natural light. A unique octagonal shaped restaurant that offers an extensive a la carte menu including several vegetarian options however, it is the service that the staff provide that is the most memorable aspect of ones visit to Coul House genuinely warm, friendly and relaxed. Even your four legged friend is made welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coul House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coul Hotel Strathpeffer
Coul House Hotel Contin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing