We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Highland gem.”
Review of Coul House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coul House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stayed here for one night after reading the reviews here. Was not disappointed. Very clear that Stuart, Susannah and their staff take great pride in making this an exceptional place for their guests. Lovely setting on the edge of Contin. Beautiful gardens with some amazing trees. Met by Chris and effortlessly checked in and shown to our room. Room cosy and very comfortable bed. Made to feel very welcome. Public areas very well presented with traditional decor. Very relaxed atmosphere and open fires in entrance and bar. Bar was nice place to enjoy a pre-dinner drink. Menu had a seasonal feel, and the challenge was to decide what to have. The home smoked beef carpaccio was amazing; melt in your mouth tender with beautiful smoky taste. Spicy butternut squash spring rolls were wonderful. Main courses of beef fillet and lamb rump cooked to perfection. Puddings divine, though a challenge to make room for them. Overall, a fantastic meal. Presentation great, lovely flavours in every dish and good portions. Wine list extensive, and having followed a tip from Chris, enjoyed a lovely wine. Staff throughout were very attentive but not obtrusive. Just the right balance. Breakfast followed in a similar vein. Will certainly be going back to this charming hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teko465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

What a wonderful stay at the Coul House Hotel. The staff were attentive yet unobtrusive but extremely helpful when necessary. The room was really nice, lovely views and very comfortable. But what made the weekend was the absolutely amazing food - out of this world.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This was our first visit to Coul House Hotel, simply because I wanted to visit Ullapool. On searching everything in Ullapool, nowhere could accommodate us..
What a fantastic surprise this find was. Lovely spot, fantastic food, lovely room and the most accommodating staff .Fantastic warm cosy open fires,
The Hotel is approximately 38 miles from Ullapool. On visiting this beautuful spot we found everything closed for the winter.
We are so glad we found this amazing place, we will definately visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We have just returned home after 3 lovely nights at Coul House Hotel and are missing it already.
From the moment we arrived we felt warmly welcomed and that continued for our entire stay.
Our room was stunning, beautiful view, the bed was so comfortable and the champagne and strawberries were a wonderful surprise also!!
The food was exceptional, both breakfast and dinner faultless (no room for lunch!) and encouraged us to overeat during our stay!
Our dog thoroughly enjoyed her stay too, being made every bit as welcome as us at all times. She particularly enjoyed her breakfast sausages she received from Susannah!!
I can't recommend this hotel enough and will be returning again and again.
Stuart and Susannah have created the perfect place to eat and stay with the help of their team, so much so, we can't remember the last time we came home so well rested, fed and pampered.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Nothing too much trouble for all staff, food fantastic with a great selection of local fresh produce.
Rooms have been upgraded and are a real country retreat
Open fires and atmosphere unique we are regular visitors and would encourage you to be the same

Room Tip: All good but mountain view room are really special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Thank you Stuart and Suzannah for a wonderful time ! returning after 9 years we were greeted like long lost friends and were keen to tell us about the massive improvements made . All the staff made us feel welcome and the attention to detail was exemplary . A casual comment about an anniversary was later met by us with a huge surprise with Champagne and a beautiful desert ! Its so lovely to see how a family run business works with everyone getting involved and the low key calmness and personal side of you both rubs off on everyone ! . Breakfast was a treat and to sit and talk about life with you both ( Suzannah in particular ! ) for ages over breakfast was lovely . A true romantic anniversary and we have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful hotel . Many thanks

Room Tip: Mountain view was lovely to wake up to , just remember to close the shutters to keep the warm in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markdann7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Thank you Stuart and Chris for your attentive and exemplary service yet again. We are never disappointed when we dine and stay with you, you and your staff are a credit to the industry. We stayed here after an excellent meal for 6 on our office Christmas night out. The other 2 couples who were with us had not dined with you before, but both agreed whole heartedly to come back very soon. Your meal and wine selection as always is wide, varied and simply stunning on presentation and of course taste! Chris is quite simply the best at everything he does and everyone always makes such an effort to make our time at Coul House a warm and enjoyable experience. Thank you again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Contin
16.9 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
428 reviews
17.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
628 reviews
15.2 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 36 in Inverness
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
797 reviews
6.9 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coul House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coul House Hotel

Address: Contin, Contin IV14 9ES, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Contin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Price Range: £102 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coul House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian house built 1821 loving restored to create a warm and comfortable country house hotel. Log fires in each of the public rooms, stunning mountain views and lots of natural light. A unique octagonal shaped restaurant that offers an extensive a la carte menu including several vegetarian options however, it is the service that the staff provide that is the most memorable aspect of ones visit to Coul House genuinely warm, friendly and relaxed. Even your four legged friend is made welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coul House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coul Hotel Strathpeffer
Coul House Hotel Contin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing