We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hogmanay 2012”
Review of Coul House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coul House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hogmanay 2012”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed December 2012/Jan 2013 for Hogmanay. We had a fantastic time and would recomend it to anyone. Susanna and Stuart were excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble - including organising flowers and hair appointment to help prepare us for our wedding blessing. We will be back hopefully in two years time for Hogmanay. It was one of the best New Years we have ever had. A time to remember. Thank you Susanna and Stuart. Would recomment Coul House to anyone. My mother and sister in law were not sure about going but said they will come with us again as they really enjoyed it as well.
Maree and Hugh Boyle

Room Tip: Rooms over looking mountains have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11Giggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    84
    20
    9
    1
See reviews for
152
427
24
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Stayed Monday 25th and Tuesday 26th for dinner, bed and breakfast. Coul House is set in its own grounds surrounded by beautiful natural gardens, woodland and stunning views. It is perfect for a restful and inspiring break. Wonderful welcome from owners and dogs. Open log fires in reception and bar areas. Large quiet lounge where you can sit and relax. Delicious food , and becuse everything is fresh your dietry needs present no problem. Attentive, friendly and informed staff. Very comfy bedrooms with exquisite linen and pillows.
Return visit already booked.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We are just back from an overnight stay here and can highly recommend it. Staff are very helpful, polite and attentive without being overbearing. The building itself has been restored and is kept to a very high standard. The character of this nineteenth century house shines through and it is kept immaculately clean. You can tell it is a well-loved venue and feels homely, set in beautiful grounds. We had a lovely afternoon tea in the Regency room which was deliciously decadent. Dining in the evening was heavenly too, lots of choice without relying on any boring “old favourites”. A creative and highly skilled team in the kitchen for sure. The other thing that is lovely about this hotel is that it is family run, and it shows. No faceless corporate management team, just real hardworking people. We definitely plan to return here and have already been recommending it to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night . It was fantastic. The staff were excellent, polite and very attentive. As well as breakfast which was delicious we also had a meal on the evening we arrived. What a delight the food was amazing. Would definately return. Beautiful Hotel with a great history and full of character.. The bedroom was nice and large, lovely and the great kingsize bed most comfortable. I loved the touch of Mackenzie tartan. There was a lovely roaring fire which added to the cosyness and comfort. There are some lovely local walks although we did not have time to do this. The owner gave us a personal history of the hotel which was very interesting. There are some fantastic artists paintings and so good to see the owners supporting all things Scottish. The octagonal dining room is beautiful and somehow enhances the ambience of the dining experience. Overall a most pleasant stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila4360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyrigg Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We had been to the Coul House previously and thought it would be an ideal place to hold a family lunch celebration for my wife's 70th birthday.

Stewart kindly put together a varied menu which catered for all of our guests (a party of 14).

The food was beautifully prepared and served unobtrusively and everyone commented on just how good the food was.

We have never stayed in the hotel, but can certainly say that you will not be disappointed with the food and dining room service

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonythemonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stayed here for one night after reading the reviews here. Was not disappointed. Very clear that Stuart, Susannah and their staff take great pride in making this an exceptional place for their guests. Lovely setting on the edge of Contin. Beautiful gardens with some amazing trees. Met by Chris and effortlessly checked in and shown to our room. Room cosy and very comfortable bed. Made to feel very welcome. Public areas very well presented with traditional decor. Very relaxed atmosphere and open fires in entrance and bar. Bar was nice place to enjoy a pre-dinner drink. Menu had a seasonal feel, and the challenge was to decide what to have. The home smoked beef carpaccio was amazing; melt in your mouth tender with beautiful smoky taste. Spicy butternut squash spring rolls were wonderful. Main courses of beef fillet and lamb rump cooked to perfection. Puddings divine, though a challenge to make room for them. Overall, a fantastic meal. Presentation great, lovely flavours in every dish and good portions. Wine list extensive, and having followed a tip from Chris, enjoyed a lovely wine. Staff throughout were very attentive but not obtrusive. Just the right balance. Breakfast followed in a similar vein. Will certainly be going back to this charming hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teko465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

What a wonderful stay at the Coul House Hotel. The staff were attentive yet unobtrusive but extremely helpful when necessary. The room was really nice, lovely views and very comfortable. But what made the weekend was the absolutely amazing food - out of this world.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Contin
17.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
573 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
770 reviews
1.0 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
370 reviews
14.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
13.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coul House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coul House Hotel

Property: Coul House Hotel
Address: Contin, Contin IV14 9ES, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Contin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coul House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian house built 1821 loving restored to create a warm and comfortable country house hotel. Log fires in each of the public rooms, stunning mountain views and lots of natural light. A unique octagonal shaped restaurant that offers an extensive a la carte menu including several vegetarian options however, it is the service that the staff provide that is the most memorable aspect of ones visit to Coul House genuinely warm, friendly and relaxed. Even your four legged friend is made welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coul House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coul Hotel Strathpeffer
Coul House Hotel Contin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing