We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Break”
Review of Coul House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coul House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Break”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have just returned from an excellent 2 night stay at this superb Country House. The location, facilities and staff made this experience truly special.
Stuart and Susannah are rightfully proud of their establishment and this is reflected with their staff also. Nothing was too much trouble and their Chief Garry's food produced some of the best meals I have had.
This coupled with the beautiful scenery and walks that are on the doorstep made for an amazing short break. e will be back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    82
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
151
420
24
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Fantastic staff, great food, tiny room, old bathroom. Overrun with dogs - yes should have checked but in this day and age who wants to sleep in a bedroom previously occupied by a dog. We counted 6 while we were staying including 2 belonging to the owners. Sorry just not acceptable for the cost of staying here. I like dogs but don't want to live with them. So many people have asthma and allergies nowadays we were really surprised and yes the presence of so many furry friends did affect me.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Jsquarededin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

What a gem of a place, everything and more than you would expect in a superb country house hotel. The owners and staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Quality shines through. Great little touches, olives and mixed nuts with your drink order, and quite possibly the best olives I have ever tasted! We ate in the dining room (sumptuous but I agree the music needs to be a little louder it is too quiet). The food was delicious and so we continued to dine there. Daily specials and an interesting menu. The roaring log fires warmth of all the staff make this one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I was given a two night stay for my birthday and was delighted with every aspect of my time there. The hotel is lovely, staff great, hospitality generous, food fabulous and geography stunning. An absolute winner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife recently stayed at The Coul House Hotel and were both overwhelmed by the friendliness and warmth of all the staff. Susanne (owner) made time to speak to all her guests regularly and Chris (General Manager) very knowledgeable about local places of interest in and around Contin. Kirsten who worked in the dining room was very attentive and excellent silver service to all guests. Food excellent, rooms spotless. Would definitely make a return visit.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jimrt59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Second time here with friends.Again enjoyed a lovely 2 day stay in a very comfortable and relaxed Coul House.Warm welcome and super friendly but professional service throughout.From Susannah the owner and GM Chris to all the restaurant girls,this is such a pleasurable place to be.Beautiful high ceiling end dining room,cosy,comfortable bar with lovely old chairs and roaring log fire.Perfect for pre dinner drink or post prandial malt from extensive whiskey menu.Dinner on both nights was superb.Broad,imaginative menu,quality food beautifully presented.Great value wine list.
Mountain view rooms look on down garden to snow covered peaks of Strathconon.
Lounge and large reception lounge with big roaring log fire are also so comfortable.
Regular sightings of Red Kite and wonderful surrounding hills,valleys and lochs that typify the beauty of Highland Scotland.
Owner run by justifiably proud Macphersons and their committed team.

Room Tip: Worth going for a mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill1493301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We Stayed at Coul House for 2 nights in February whilst touring the highlands. Upon arriving at Coul House after driving up the half mile country lane your immediately struck by the beauty of the building. Susannah the owner was on reception and couldn't have been more welcoming after our long drive. We were shown around the lounge, bar and dining room then shown to our room. We originally booked a garden view room however chose to upgrade to a mountain view upon arrival and were glad we did. Fantastic views from the first floor across the lawn to the mountains in the distance, small but well equipped bathroom and a tastefully decorated bedroom with seating by the window.

We had a couple of drinks before dinner and chatted away to the friendly staff, both the bar and the drawing room were beautiful, had great views and there were loads of books and magazines to read.

We dined in the restaurant on the first night, the octagonal dining room is beautiful, the service first class, they have a varied and well balanced wine list and the food was very good and the only slight niggle was you could hear a pin drop, maybe cranking the music up a notch would have solved this.

We ate breakfast at Coul house both days, they had a fantastic buffet with seasonal fruit, yogurts, cereals and fruit juices. Your then supplied with a menu of different cooked breakfasts, everything from the gamekeepers (traditional full Scottish), Poachers (Eggs Benedict), Gardeners (Vegetarian) to traditional Scottish options like Porridge and Smoked Haddock. This combined with good coffee and toast to order make it quite possibly the best breakfast offering you could ask for.

We walked the grounds after breakfast on the first morning, there's a monstrous Giant Secoya along with some other native trees and i'd imagine in the summertime the gardens would be a fantastic place to relax.

On the second night we had a few drinks in the bar. The roaring open fire, fantastic selections of malt whisky and relaxed atmosphere make Coul House a fantastic highland retreat.

If your after somewhere you'll feel welcome, in beautiful country surroundings with great food and drink you can't go far wrong.




Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sy1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Contin
17.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
555 reviews
1.0 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
53 reviews
14.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
759 reviews
16.9 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
361 reviews
14.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coul House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coul House Hotel

Property: Coul House Hotel
Address: Contin, Contin IV14 9ES, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Contin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coul House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian house built 1821 loving restored to create a warm and comfortable country house hotel. Log fires in each of the public rooms, stunning mountain views and lots of natural light. A unique octagonal shaped restaurant that offers an extensive a la carte menu including several vegetarian options however, it is the service that the staff provide that is the most memorable aspect of ones visit to Coul House genuinely warm, friendly and relaxed. Even your four legged friend is made welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coul House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coul Hotel Strathpeffer
Coul House Hotel Contin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing