We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coul House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel(Strathpeffer)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strathpeffer Hotel(Strathpeffer)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mackay's Hotel(Strathpeffer)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ben Wyvis Hotel(Strathpeffer)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Dower House(Muir of Ord)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (847)
Filter reviews
847 results
Traveller rating
723
92
22
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
723
92
22
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsowners and staffbeautiful hoteldining roomstuart and susannahbeautiful groundsmountain viewlog firerogie fallsrelaxing staypublic rooms arefirst classsuperb foodsconeshalf milewarm welcomereception areabreakfast and dinner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
429 - 434 of 847 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have just returned from an excellent 2 night stay at this superb Country House. The location, facilities and staff made this experience truly special.
Stuart and Susannah are rightfully proud of their establishment and this is reflected with their staff also. Nothing was too much trouble and their Chief Garry's food produced some of the best meals I have had.
This coupled with the beautiful scenery and walks that are on the doorstep made for an amazing short break. e will be back again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Fantastic staff, great food, tiny room, old bathroom. Overrun with dogs - yes should have checked but in this day and age who wants to sleep in a bedroom previously occupied by a dog. We counted 6 while we were staying including 2 belonging to the owners. Sorry just not acceptable for the cost of staying here. I like dogs but don't want to live with them. So many people have asthma and allergies nowadays we were really surprised and yes the presence of so many furry friends did affect me.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Jsquarededin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

What a gem of a place, everything and more than you would expect in a superb country house hotel. The owners and staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Quality shines through. Great little touches, olives and mixed nuts with your drink order, and quite possibly the best olives I have ever tasted! We ate in the dining room (sumptuous but I agree the music needs to be a little louder it is too quiet). The food was delicious and so we continued to dine there. Daily specials and an interesting menu. The roaring log fires warmth of all the staff make this one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I was given a two night stay for my birthday and was delighted with every aspect of my time there. The hotel is lovely, staff great, hospitality generous, food fabulous and geography stunning. An absolute winner.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Me and my wife recently stayed at The Coul House Hotel and were both overwhelmed by the friendliness and warmth of all the staff. Susanne (owner) made time to speak to all her guests regularly and Chris (General Manager) very knowledgeable about local places of interest in and around Contin. Kirsten who worked in the dining room was very attentive and excellent silver service to all guests. Food excellent, rooms spotless. Would definitely make a return visit.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jimrt59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews