We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stop for lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coul House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coul House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Certificate of Excellence
Alva, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great stop for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic lunch here. Homemade bread with our fantastic soup. Fantastic surroundings and beautiful views. The staff were all so polite and very helpful. Last but not least we were allowed to take our dogs in. What a great place.

Y

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carolynlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    78
    17
    9
    1
See reviews for
142
389
24
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Visited in January 2014 for an important birthday dinner and was delighted with this hidden gem. The location is lovely, entrance grand and staff very friendly and helpful. On arrival there was plenty of parking. We entered to be welcomed by a beautiful fire surround where we sat to have a drink and look at the menu. It was by far the best meal any of us have had in a very long time. Each course was fantastic. We cant wait to visit again....I hear the afternoon tea is brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here for a Business Course and couldn't have been better looked after. My room was really comfortable and still to be refurbished - I heard the completed rooms are brilliant. The food was excellent & there was a good choice of dishes, beautifully presented. There was always enough but not too much - everything home made, Staff & owners were so welcoming and helpful. Sitting in front of the huge log fire was wonderful. The grounds are lovely, particularly the "Fairies" & "Scaries" in the woods! Would love to come back some day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I had the pleasure of staying here for the second time and it was just as wonderful as before. The owners and all of the staff were friendly, attentive and welcoming. The house and the grounds are spectacular and, although the bathroom was a little dated, everything was spotlessly clean with copious amounts of hot water! Gloriously comfortable bed. The food was great - everything made from scratch, fresh often local ingredients and beautifully put together. fabulous!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaeD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

A very warm welcome, comfortable throughout with a beautiful seating area around a log fire, fabulous home made food and a total willingness to adapt dishes due to dietary requirements and friendly, attentive staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jockybrunier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

The people, the rooms and the grounds made this a very memorable visit and the food was tremendous. This is an authentic, welcoming, family run hotel that delivers high quality service in a warm atmosphere. Their new bridal suite is amazing!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosebugler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hotel is a hidden gem. It is in an outstanding location, but within easy reach of Inverness. As soon as we arrived with our 9 year old Labrador, he knew he was welcome and so did we!
The staff are some of the most professional and yet relaxed and friendly in any hotel we have ever stayed in. Every little detail is attended to with care and yet they have time to chat and so willing to give information and to find things out for us.
The public rooms are spacious and comfortable and our dog relaxed with us in front of blazing log fires after long walks in the delightful countryside.
The bedroom we stayed in was excellently appointed with more pillows than we have ever had before and the most comfortable hotel bed ever.
The bar is superbly stocked with a huge variety of wines and whiskies, more than we could try in a week's stay!
As for the restaurant...we shall be returning there without a doubt. The chefs are fantastic. We dined in for 6 of our 7 nights' stay and ate a different meal each time. The quality and presentation of the food is second to none - the chefs deserve awards and exceed many well-known names in the food business. The quantity of food is just right too, so that one doesn't feel either empty nor overfull. I rarely eat a three course meal but here, the desserts are unmissable. The chefs make all their own ice cream. Away with the usual hotel choice of vanilla, strawberry or chocolate and instead choose from pineapple and almond, brandy, mango sorbet, raspberry sorbet, iced fig parfait to name only a few. Breakfasts too are beautifully varied and presented and the Eggs Benedict (or Poacher's Breakfast as it is called there) is just the best I have ever had.
All in all, congratulations to Stuart and Susannah for so obviously enjoying looking after your guests. We plan and hope to see you again next year.

Room Tip: As far as we could see, all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globalgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Contin
17.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
13.7 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
11.8 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#6 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coul House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coul House Hotel

Property: Coul House Hotel
Address: Contin, Contin IV14 9ES, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Contin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coul House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian house built 1821 loving restored to create a warm and comfortable country house hotel. Log fires in each of the public rooms, stunning mountain views and lots of natural light. A unique octagonal shaped restaurant that offers an extensive a la carte menu including several vegetarian options however, it is the service that the staff provide that is the most memorable aspect of ones visit to Coul House genuinely warm, friendly and relaxed. Even your four legged friend is made welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Coul House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coul Hotel Strathpeffer
Coul House Hotel Contin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing