We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coul House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coul House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Certificate of Excellence
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is the place to relax and enjoy 'tea sandwiches' with home made shortbread and fudge or afternoon cream tea.Amazing value and consistently excellent.The staff can't do enough for you.I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mofos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    80
    17
    9
    1
See reviews for
143
397
24
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here recently for a course. Loved the open fireplace in reception. Nice bar. My room was small but beautifully furnished. Liked having a tea pot, along with all the ingredients for tea/coffee.hot chocolate. Shower was okay. The food was delicious, lots of choice for cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fair_n_Honest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

My husband took me there for our special day and although it is only about 40 minutes drive from home for us it was well worth for the special offer of Dinner, bed and breakfast. As soon as you enter the hotel it radiates oppulent cosiness with a fire roaring in the hall. We were quickly checked in and were very lucky to get one of the newly renovated rooms. Loved the carpet which was deep pile and so soft. Dinner was great as always, the dining room is so quite and the service and food are excellent. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Don't know what the other rooms are like, but ours (no. 16) was upstairs and newly renovated and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabaidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We visited Coul House Hotel earlier this month for the umteenth time and it continues to get better and better. Stuart and Susannah are working hard to make a visit a great experience - they are working hard to improve hotel facilities/rooms etc. Chris continues to work hard to attend to the needs of every guest and Gary (chef)'s food is an experience to savour.
Despite criticism in earlier reviews, the volume of the music in the dining room was spot on and we just love the homely presence of well behaved dogs. Well worth a visit - the pampering is to be experienced to be believed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geomac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alva, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic lunch here. Homemade bread with our fantastic soup. Fantastic surroundings and beautiful views. The staff were all so polite and very helpful. Last but not least we were allowed to take our dogs in. What a great place.

Y

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carolynlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Visited in January 2014 for an important birthday dinner and was delighted with this hidden gem. The location is lovely, entrance grand and staff very friendly and helpful. On arrival there was plenty of parking. We entered to be welcomed by a beautiful fire surround where we sat to have a drink and look at the menu. It was by far the best meal any of us have had in a very long time. Each course was fantastic. We cant wait to visit again....I hear the afternoon tea is brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here for a Business Course and couldn't have been better looked after. My room was really comfortable and still to be refurbished - I heard the completed rooms are brilliant. The food was excellent & there was a good choice of dishes, beautifully presented. There was always enough but not too much - everything home made, Staff & owners were so welcoming and helpful. Sitting in front of the huge log fire was wonderful. The grounds are lovely, particularly the "Fairies" & "Scaries" in the woods! Would love to come back some day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Contin
17.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
13.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
11.8 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coul House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coul House Hotel

Property: Coul House Hotel
Address: Contin, Contin IV14 9ES, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Contin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coul House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian house built 1821 loving restored to create a warm and comfortable country house hotel. Log fires in each of the public rooms, stunning mountain views and lots of natural light. A unique octagonal shaped restaurant that offers an extensive a la carte menu including several vegetarian options however, it is the service that the staff provide that is the most memorable aspect of ones visit to Coul House genuinely warm, friendly and relaxed. Even your four legged friend is made welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coul House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coul Hotel Strathpeffer
Coul House Hotel Contin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing