We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel for Mini-Moon”
Review of Coul House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coul House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in Coul House Hotel for 3 nights last weekend after our wedding. The hotel is beautiful and set in the most stunning area and the owners Stuart and Susannah couldn't have been lovelier. I very much enjoyed reading the progress reports kept within the hotel guide, I thought it was a lovely touch that made you feel welcomed into this very family orientated environment. The food was incredible and second to none. I ate pig cheek confit, fillet steak and tender lamb amongst others and it was all heaven, washed down with the tastiest Rioja... I just didn't want to leave when it was time to go!! 5***** have to go to all staff who couldn't be more attentive and more on the ball with regards to ensuring that your time spent at Coul House Hotel is perfect and memorable. Thank you all for a lovely experience, we will recommend you and will definitely be back soon for sure sure! Much Love, Iain and Kat Given xxx

Room Tip: It worth going for a room with a view of the mountains... breath-taking every morning.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat_scatty82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
There are newer reviews for Coul House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

I am grateful to the ghastly hotel Ben Wyvis just a few miles away in Strathpeffer for causing me to seek alternative accommodation (see my review), as I found myself staying at what must be the best kept hotel secret in the Dingwall and Inverness region. The initial welcome was typically Scottish, being warm and sincere and it was immediately evident that the proud owners, Stuart and Susannah Macpherson put their very souls into creating the highest possible standard in every aspect of caring for their guests.
Nothing particularly elaborate about the rooms, but they are pristine in their cleanliness and the beds and bedding are of a very high quality. The dining room is comfortable and well furnished and the food that comes from the kitchen would not be out of place in a Michelin star restaurant. Pets are welcome and this adds considerable charm to the hotel. A story that was told by a lady guest referred to her writing to the Coul House to ask if she could bring her dog with her. Seemingly, the reply said that the dog was most welcome and if she promised to behave, the lady was also most welcome. Probably not entirely true, but the general atmosphere at the hotel simply oozed that type of delightful charm.
If you are in the region, a stay at the Coul House is an absolute must and the difficulty will be in finding good reasons to leave.

Room Tip: Blessed if I remember my room number, but I saw 2 of them and both were excellent.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnsangster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The attention to detail in service by all members of staff plus the friendliness of the owners in combination with an excellent dining experience ( Superb menu, well executed food), a beautiful if small country house in a grand setting with glorious views made our short break a truly memorable one. We were able to relax completely in the peace and tranquillity of this special place. We look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: Choose mountain view rooms for the evening sun
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brijan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is the third time I have stayed at this family run hotel. It is a beautiful old country house which is full of character. The food is exquisite and the service warm, friendly and sincere.

I have no hesitation in recommending the Coul House Hotel. It is without doubt the best hotel around the Dingwall area.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clark70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for one night only on our way to Wester Ross. On arrival we were quickly settled into our room which had been freshly decorated and had a modern, lovely bathroom. The room overlooking the garden, was interesting being positioned as it was above the octaganol dining room - not you average rectangular room.
We enjoyed a delicious dinner and breakfast - both with imaginative menus.
There were log fires burning in the bar and the hall in the evening and fresh flowers on the dining room tables. The gardens are extensive. The daffodils just over and the rhododendrons not out but I imagine that in a few weeks they will be spectacular. No busy road or airplane noise here. Very peaceful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grimentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

What can I say, just a wonderful welcoming hotel with owners and staff who care about the experience and service! My first trip as a widower with the kids 8/10 and was a little apprehensive but Chris and the girls made us feel at home and helped me and them relax in the elegant dining room rather than me fretting about behaviour (too much). Food is way more than a cut above what you would imagine in a smaller country hotel and more than satisfied the wannabe Gourmet in me while feeding my kids whatever they wanted and how they wanted it. (A special mention to the ice cream based Parisian wonder of a dessert, which I've forgotten the name off, just adult dessert perfection, all booze and intense flavour). Plenty of room for kids to explore safely without needing too much supervision, a freedom which they loved. Have fallen in love with the area with Dornochs Bahama esk beach and Dunrobin castle two highlight recommended by Chris. We're saving up for another visit soon. Well done!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at Coul House Hotel as part of a trip around Scotland and it was the best place we stayed by far. We were welcomed by Stuart, the owner, who was very attentive. The room was spotlessly clean and the whole hotel had a welcoming air about it. The staff were fabulous, especially the bar manager. Nothing was too much trouble and he was very knowledgeable about wine and whisky. The food was simply delicious and we were waited on hand and foot.The owners were passionate about the place - it felt like home the whole time we were there. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faeriequeen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Contin
1.6 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
783 reviews
16.9 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
380 reviews
17.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 35 in Inverness
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
57 reviews
11.8 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 35 in Inverness
646 reviews
15.2 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#10 of 35 in Inverness
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coul House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coul House Hotel

Address: Contin, Contin IV14 9ES, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Contin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Price Range: £141 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coul House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian house built 1821 loving restored to create a warm and comfortable country house hotel. Log fires in each of the public rooms, stunning mountain views and lots of natural light. A unique octagonal shaped restaurant that offers an extensive a la carte menu including several vegetarian options however, it is the service that the staff provide that is the most memorable aspect of ones visit to Coul House genuinely warm, friendly and relaxed. Even your four legged friend is made welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coul House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coul Hotel Strathpeffer
Coul House Hotel Contin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing