We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I'm glad we went in with low expectations!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cromarty Arms Inn

Cromarty Arms Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cromarty
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cromarty Arms Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cromarty
gordonvienna
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I'm glad we went in with low expectations!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We saw a sign advertising the Cromarty Arms Inn and decided that we would go there instead Sutors Creek to see if there was anything else decent in town. We should have probably stuck to our instincts when we went inside as there was zero atmosphere, TVs blaring and the barman (owner?) was definitely more interested in watching the football than running a bar. However, a we were only in for a bowl of soup thought we would give it a chance.

First of all I should point out that the barman was not unfriendly, however neither was he friendly with absolutely zero chat when we went in, left or ordered. Considering there were only another 3 people in the bar I'm sure he could have managed a hello and good bye at least. The best thing about the pub was that they had some of the local ale on tap which was delicious.

The soup of the day was Chicken and Rice, although this was imaginatively titled as there was not a single grain of rice in either my wife's or my soup! The soup was hot, served relatively quickly and came with 2 slices with what I assume was bread from the Cromarty Bakery (which was very nice!).

As soon as we had finished our food we left, as did the other couple in the bar. Had there been an ounce of atmosphere and I'm sure we would have lingered and had another drink but really just wanted to get out!

If you are looking for something to eat in Cromarty then this won't be for you - try the Cromarty Bakery or Sutors Creek instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WOWGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    15
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We enjoyed eating and drinking at the Cromarty Arms Inn. There is a very pleasant and genuine atmosphere to place. Meeting local people at a pub is always a good sign, and there were a few of them there when we visited, including the village drunk. The staff is very friendly and patient.
The food was good and we liked the local beer, from the local Cromarty Brewery Company. It is nice to see the local pub support this young and promising brewery that started operations only in December 2011. We tried the Happy Chappy and the Red Rocker, both were excellent.
I would certainly consider another visit to this establishment when I visit Cromarty.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GolfBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We (4 adults + 3 children) ate here at the end of a lovely week in Cromarty on holiday. The local beer (a pint of Happy Chappy from Cromarty Brewery) was excellent. Our order was taken quickly by the very friendly and helpful waitress. The food was basic but decent pub grub - scampi, fish and chicken with chips and salad. Hot and fresh but not an especially exciting menu.

I would agree with some of the other reviews that the decor could do with a bit of work and the carpet in the pool room was a bit scary but totally disagree with those who questioned the welcome - we felt very much at home.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsPledgefrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed in Cromarty with husband and dog as overnight stay on the way to Thurso from the midlands; Lovely homely comfortable room no ensuite but this was not an issue for overnight stay as shared bathroom was immaculately clean. Lovely food and staff very friendly and welcoming would stay again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Did not stay in the rooms so cannot comment on those. However on two seperate visits to Cromarty over a year have eaten three times and visited four times. It is a decent local pub. no frills. Good selection of drinks. We have always found it freindly. The food, especially the vegetarian options have always been well cooked and tasty. And served very quickly. The beer is good too and on the last visit with local real ale on tap. Although we are not local and the owners do not know us at all we have always been given a freindly greeting on entry and a goodbye on leaving. This is the Scottish family run pub expereince and there is nothing wrong with that!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darkisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I came to Cromarty with some friends only on the off chance as we were heading to Dornoch.
Cromarty itself it a beautiful village and when we seen this pub opposite Hugh millers cottage, we thought if it matched the rest of the village it would be amazing.

However, the inside of the pub looks like an 80's throw back, the décor is terrible, the owners clearly have no taste or no sense of style or they simply don't care. There are big TV's everywhere switched on, which was clearly for the big fat owner to watch as he clearly had no interest in anyone coming and going in his pub and did not engage to us in anyway until we bought something from him, but even then it felt like we were bothering his TV time.

It was fairly empty inside and I would expect the very least a friendly hello, but nothing. So we sat down and looked through the menu, while a noisy child was playing and crying because he wasn't getting his own way which turned out to be the owners grandchild. There was no consideration to the eating customers as the mother read the paper and the owner watched the TV. (pubs are not playgrounds for children)

A very pleasant, polite and helpful young girl, who obviously had more understanding of customer care than the owners did, took our order and brought our soft drinks over, I think her name was Zoe.

The food came out quite quickly which we were pleased about, only because we wished we never ordered and wanted to get out of this noisy outdated uncaring pub.
The food said fresh and home made, home made it was, but it was clearly out a tin, packet or frozen, where the fresh bit was in our meals is anyone's guess. I wasn't expecting 5 star food from a pub, but I did hope for some good pub food.

We eventually found out that the food was made by the owners wife, only because she was now out the kitchen and chasing after the noisy grandchild who was spreading toys all over the place. The owners wife obviously had done her best, but it was obvious she clearly isn't a trained chef in any way.

I had the "local caught fresh fish" after receiving the obviously frozen deep fried fish in batter I didn't know whether or laugh or cry, however, it was ok, but the fresh salad was a joke, my 10 year old daughter could be more creative than what was assembled on my plate.

Needless to say we never finished our very poor meals, and decided to leave this very out dated, uncaring pub.

I'm not leaving my comment out of spite, but in hope that the owners might take note as they have a little gem of a pub which is just being left to waste. I would recommend the owner to do a customer care course of some kind as he clearly is trying to run a pub in an industry he knows nothing about, his wife should do a catering class and his daughter should take the child to the local play area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cromarty hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

bathroom filthy. traces of bodily fluids on toilet lid and cistern. Think it was shared with the owners as there were toiletries and used soap in the bath.The bedcovers felt and smelled as if they hadnt been changed since previous occupants and the spare quilt and cover for the pull out bed smelled of vomit.It was kept in the wardrobe so it stank and there was nowhere to hang your clothes. Breakfast was eaten while the hoovering and disinfecting of the bar went on. Owners made little effort to communicate with us especially the man. We actually felt like an inconvenience to them.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 109charity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromarty
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Cromarty
Royal Hotel Cromarty
#1 of 2 in Cromarty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
13.7 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
21.4 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
14.7 mi away
North Kessock Hotel
North Kessock Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kessock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromarty Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromarty Arms Inn

Property: Cromarty Arms Inn
Address: Church Street, Cromarty IV11 8XA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Cromarty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cromarty
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cromarty Arms Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing