We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cromarty Arms Inn

Cromarty Arms Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cromarty
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cromarty Arms Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cromarty
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Pub”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Staying in area. We had some crab which was delicious, obviously caught recently and locally. We were offered lobster, equally fresh. I wish now we had taken some away. The beer, Happy Chappy from local micro brewery was excellent. The owners, staff and family were very friendly. We recommend a visit.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    16
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
8
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We went to the Cromarty Arms because we had done the touristy bit in that area. It was close to a lot of sites. My son had a steak done to perfection. He is a gormet cook, as a hobby, and he thought it was done to perfection. I had the scampi and enjoyed it, but what did I love? The friendly banter with the barmaid/ owner. It was fun. The pub was very quiet, but nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacobitelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We were a bit apprehensive about visiting this pub due to the wide range of reviews it has been given. We like to make up our own minds anyway.
We arrived before 6pm and there was quite a few locals already there. Several of them left with carry-out meals. It's always a good sign when local people eat in pubs like this. The bar is spacious with loads of decent sized tables throughout. No trouble finding a seat here. There are more outside too if you prefer. Everything was lovely and clean. They had a locally brewed Real Ale called Happy Chappie. I drank it all night. A very decent brew. The total for our two drinks was 55p cheaper than .at the only other pub in the village, The Royal Hotel. Price isn't everything, I know. Unless we particularly wanted to impress a VIP, we'd choose the Cromarty Arms most of the time.
We were pleased to see "Mince & Tatties" on the Specials board. The owners wife told me that they sell lots of it. There is a lot to be said for a decent plate of Mince & Tatties. I fancied Fish & Chips and got a superb locally caught haddock done in a crisp beer batter. Exactly how is should be. LIz had the Half Chicken. She was unable to finish it and was pleasantly surprised when she was offered a doggie-bag because "it would be a shame to waste it".. We need more establishments to adopt the same policy.
The owner noticed a flickering light near our table and came across and changed it. "We can't have you sitting in a disco", he said.
One big TV showing a football game at one end of the bar, whilst another one at the far end was showing normal TV programmes you'd watch at home. Everybody is happy.
We'll certainly be back to the Cromarty Arms.. The entire village is wonderful. I promise you'll love it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard_mechen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonvienna
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We saw a sign advertising the Cromarty Arms Inn and decided that we would go there instead Sutors Creek to see if there was anything else decent in town. We should have probably stuck to our instincts when we went inside as there was zero atmosphere, TVs blaring and the barman (owner?) was definitely more interested in watching the football than running a bar. However, a we were only in for a bowl of soup thought we would give it a chance.

First of all I should point out that the barman was not unfriendly, however neither was he friendly with absolutely zero chat when we went in, left or ordered. Considering there were only another 3 people in the bar I'm sure he could have managed a hello and good bye at least. The best thing about the pub was that they had some of the local ale on tap which was delicious.

The soup of the day was Chicken and Rice, although this was imaginatively titled as there was not a single grain of rice in either my wife's or my soup! The soup was hot, served relatively quickly and came with 2 slices with what I assume was bread from the Cromarty Bakery (which was very nice!).

As soon as we had finished our food we left, as did the other couple in the bar. Had there been an ounce of atmosphere and I'm sure we would have lingered and had another drink but really just wanted to get out!

If you are looking for something to eat in Cromarty then this won't be for you - try the Cromarty Bakery or Sutors Creek instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WOWGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cromarty hotels

Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We enjoyed eating and drinking at the Cromarty Arms Inn. There is a very pleasant and genuine atmosphere to place. Meeting local people at a pub is always a good sign, and there were a few of them there when we visited, including the village drunk. The staff is very friendly and patient.
The food was good and we liked the local beer, from the local Cromarty Brewery Company. It is nice to see the local pub support this young and promising brewery that started operations only in December 2011. We tried the Happy Chappy and the Red Rocker, both were excellent.
I would certainly consider another visit to this establishment when I visit Cromarty.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GolfBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We (4 adults + 3 children) ate here at the end of a lovely week in Cromarty on holiday. The local beer (a pint of Happy Chappy from Cromarty Brewery) was excellent. Our order was taken quickly by the very friendly and helpful waitress. The food was basic but decent pub grub - scampi, fish and chicken with chips and salad. Hot and fresh but not an especially exciting menu.

I would agree with some of the other reviews that the decor could do with a bit of work and the carpet in the pool room was a bit scary but totally disagree with those who questioned the welcome - we felt very much at home.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsPledgefrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed in Cromarty with husband and dog as overnight stay on the way to Thurso from the midlands; Lovely homely comfortable room no ensuite but this was not an issue for overnight stay as shared bathroom was immaculately clean. Lovely food and staff very friendly and welcoming would stay again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromarty
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Cromarty
Royal Hotel Cromarty
#1 of 2 in Cromarty
211 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
335 reviews
21.4 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
731 reviews
14.7 mi away
North Kessock Hotel
North Kessock Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kessock
196 reviews
15.7 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromarty Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromarty Arms Inn

Property: Cromarty Arms Inn
Address: Church Street, Cromarty IV11 8XA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Cromarty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cromarty
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cromarty Arms Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing