We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay for miles.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sydney House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Cromarty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best place to stay for miles.”
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

A gem of a scottish town full of history with a great B & B. Our hosts were lovely, helpful and informative and cook brilliant porridge. Large airy room with good views. It's everything a good B&B should be. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
68
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Saw the reviews on Tripadvisor and gave it a go. What a result. Very good value with beautiful rooms. We were pleased to see Alasdair was into recycling as much as we are. He also cooks a fantastic breakfast which really set us up for the day. Will try to get in next time we are up in Cromarty to see the Dolphins.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bathwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

For various reasons our review is a little late as we stayed at Sydney House in June last year, but we wanted to pass on our experience. Alasdair welcomed us very warmly when we arrived on a chilly summers day and we were immediately warmed by our reception and the atmosphere of Sydney House. We stayed in the Miller room which was very comfortable and looked out over both the front street (not busy) and the back garden. The building drips history as does the area around the building. Located in the centre of Cromarty it was an easy walk to anywhere in Cromarty, with plenty of options for eating and exploring. Breakfast at Sydney House is a treat and thoroughly enjoyable. Alasdaire was very helpful with any questions we had and was a wonderful host. We dined at the hotel nearby and the pizzeria, also not far away and enjoyed both.

Room Tip: The Miller room is spacious, comfortable and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

A beautiful and spacious room (Miller) with windows front and back, a sofa for relaxation and quality furnishings; the shower room is stylish and well equipped. The breakfast was excellent and the general ambiance warm and welcoming. Alasdair, the host was friendly and informative. On-street parking was convenient and safe and the village is a delight. Altogether an experience to treasure and one which we would recommend unreservedly.

Room Tip: Miller was the most attractive, spacious and practical room we stayed in during our trip to Scotland...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GigiShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is a great BB and I was only sorry to only have one night in Cromarty on a cycle tour of North of Scotland. Rooms are a great size and really comfortable and a very good breakfast and it has the added bonus of being in Cromarty - what a special place - loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed just one night in this B & B on our trip around the North-Western Highlands of Scotland and were really impressed. The room was huge and luxurious and the owner Alasdair was very welcoming. The breakfast was very good and it was excellent value for money. Would definitely recommend it to others.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 161sunshine161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed two nights at Sydney House, Cromarty, and could easily have stayed longer. The house is elegant and comfortable, a real family house yet properly adapted for visitors, and the breakfasts were superb. Alasdair was very friendly and on hand to help with anything we needed. They are a Cromarty family born and bred, and Alasdair gave us helpful advice about walks and history and local info. I'd recommend Sydney House to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromarty
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Cromarty
Royal Hotel Cromarty
#1 of 2 in Cromarty
224 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
356 reviews
15.3 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Factor's House
The Factor's House
#1 of 4 in Cromarty
108 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bistro & Rooms by the Sea at Caledonian House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sydney House Bed and Breakfast
Address: High Street, Cromarty IV11 8UZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Cromarty
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cromarty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney House is a traditional Georgian House in historic Cromarty and was built in 1849. Sydney House offers warm, comfortable en-suite rooms. All rooms have a comfortable seating area and include tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers, Wi-Fi access and digital TV's with DVD players. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sydney House Bed And Breakfast Cromarty, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing