We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful long weekend in a truly fascinating place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sydney House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Cromarty B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful long weekend in a truly fascinating place”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

By far the best B&B in Cromarty. Just ask the locals.

This was our third visit to Cromarty and we stayed with our 9 year old daughter in the Miller Room which was just perfect, very comfortable and beautifully appointed. Alasdair was a fantastic host, very accommodating and a great source of tips and recommendations. He makes a fabulous breakfast too.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We liked The Miller Room very much, especially the original window shutters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 277LJM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
60
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

A friend and I stayed in Sydney House whilst we visited Cromarty to see the wild dolphins. The Guest house is in a great location, very quiet and safe. Alasdair the owner welcomed us and showed us around, he was a perfect gent, very polite. We stayed in the twin room "Suter", it was very clean and spacious, the beds were comfortable and the ensuite superb with shampoo and shower gels and fresh soft towels. You had a choice of breakfast which Alasdair cooked to perfection. Well worth the visit if your staying in Cromarty or even further afield, make the trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 365Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisons-Laffitte
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed one night in august at Sydney House B&B. The room was big, cosy and clean, with a beautiful view on the garden. Alasdair is a charming host and he took good care of us. We appreciated the breakfast, especially his speciality : the fruit pudding.
The beach of Cromarty is very nice, and you can have a long evening walk around the village.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a beautiful old house, the perfect place to stay in this lovely old town. Spacious room, great breakfast and very friendly host. We loved Cromarty which has a lot of history/places to visit, a super pottery, cheese shop and great walks along the cliffs. A special B and B in a very special place. Definitely hope to return.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My husband and I stayed from 15-18 July 2013 in the Sandilands room and it was gorgeous. Sydney B&B is a beautiful house and Alasdair was very warm and welcoming - a perfect host as previous comments have mentioned. We had a lovely stay, terrific breakfast and would definitely recommend it. The village was lovely to walk around in, everyone was very friendly and we had an amazing boat trip with ecoventures accompanied by a pod of dolphins - truly magical!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed in Cromarty for one night in April. We were in the Miller room which was beautiful. Lovely antique furniture, Comfy big bed, very bright and airy with huge original shutters which kept things cosy at night.

Alasdair was really welcoming and made us a great breakfast in the morning. Cromarty itself is lovely and we were lucky enough to get up to the top of the cliffs to make the most of the sunny afternoon.

Great value for the quality of accomodation, service and breakfast.

Thanks Alasdair!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Even though there was Bank Holiday in Britain and we had problems to find an adequate B&B, we were lucky in the end and found this lovely B&B to be vacant. We stayed there for two nights and did not regret it!
Alasdair is a perfect host who does everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms are very cosy, spacious, clean, with charming decoration. We felt like coming home every night. The full Scottish breakfast we were served was very tasty and rich, with a great variety of cereals and yoghurt, as well as porridge, included!
Even though Sidney House is located next to the road, it is very quiet there and the beds were also very comfortable!
Don't miss the dolphin watch tours by speed boat and a visit in the close-by tea-room "The Pantry"!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FEKRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromarty
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Cromarty
Royal Hotel Cromarty
#1 of 2 in Cromarty
211 reviews
13.7 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
518 reviews
15.6 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
731 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
335 reviews
21.3 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sydney House Bed and Breakfast
Address: High Street, Cromarty IV11 8UZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Cromarty
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cromarty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney House is a traditional Georgian House in historic Cromarty and was built in 1849. Sydney House offers warm, comfortable en-suite rooms. All rooms have a comfortable seating area and include tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers, Wi-Fi access and digital TV's with DVD players. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sydney House Bed And Breakfast Cromarty, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing