We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really special accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sydney House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sydney House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Cromarty B&B and Inns
Caithness and Sutherland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really special accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had an exceptionally comfortable stay here in Cromarty. Our host Alastair was mega helpful. The rooms are spacious and really comfy. Breakfast lovely, nothing too much trouble.absolute quality . The garden is lovely if the weather is ok, unfortunately we had rain , but this did not deter our enjoyment. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
57
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I wanted to stay somewhere special, as well as getting value for money. That was exactly what I got at Sydney House. The quality from start to finish was first class. I considered other B&B's but so glad I picked this one. IF you are coming to Cromarty - this is the place to stay. Don't even consider anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeC213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

What can I add to previous reviews? Our experience reinforces what others have said about the quality of the accommodation and service at Sydney House B&B, and the warmth and friendliness we encountered. Breakfast has been mentioned a lot, but it's worth adding that the cooked breakfast is made to your specifications, picked from a list which includes vegetarian options.
The house itself is very beautiful, and decorated and fitted tastefully with a good mix of antique and traditional furniture - and the bed was comfy! We had a view onto the garden from the Sandilands room, and very peaceful it was.
We had a little difficulty with the wifi connection, and Alasdair was very helpful, but it may need a mention to the ISP. A very small niggle which did not affect our enjoyment in the least.

Room Tip: Miller and Sandilands have views over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

From start to finish Shirley made us so very welcome, the B&B had such a lovely family feel with family photos all around, We stayed in the Sandiland room which was beautiful with a nice wee view over the back garden, The rooms were nice and big and very tidy and clean, Our host Shirley was not the usual breakfast Chief (im led to believe that's hubby's job) but what a breakfast there was not a scrap left by any guest, Best B&B i have stayed in to date and i will recommend Sydney House to anyone traveling up to the very beautiful Cromarty. Thanks again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Hard to add to the other reviews. We really enjoyed our stay here. Great host and very enjoyable breakfast.

Rooms were large bright and perfect for us.

Cromarty is really worth a visit, a picturesque village with some lovely walks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A beautiful old house and spacious room with ensuite. Fabulous Scottish breakfast. Friendly helpful host. We would love to go back!
Don't miss the Hugh Miller museum. There are also some most enjoyable walks from the village.
Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 252CDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Really good B&B in a very easy location in the centre of Cromarty. But very quiet.
Room was large and comfortable. The en-suite facilities are spotless and the hot water is - well - hot.
Breakfast is great, and our host couldn't be more welcoming.
Cromarty is worth a visit -full of charm and character and this is a great place to stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pwcrafton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromarty
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Cromarty
Royal Hotel Cromarty
#1 of 2 in Cromarty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
16.9 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
13.8 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
13.7 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
15.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sydney House Bed and Breakfast
Address: High Street, Cromarty IV11 8UZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Cromarty
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cromarty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney House is a traditional Georgian House in historic Cromarty and was built in 1849. Sydney House offers warm, comfortable en-suite rooms. All rooms have a comfortable seating area and include tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers, Wi-Fi access and digital TV's with DVD players. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sydney House Bed And Breakfast Cromarty, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing