We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful location and everything you need”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge with views over Cromarty Firth
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge with views over Cromarty Firth
Fully fitted kitchen with washing machine, dryer, fridge/freezer, coffee maker etc. Bedroom 1
Upstairs double bedroom with fantastic view over water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Lounge with views over Cromarty Firth
Fully fitted kitchen with washing machine, dryer, fridge/freezer, coffee maker etc.
Bedroom 1
Upstairs double bedroom with fantastic view over water
Bedroom 2
Twin bedroom upstairs
Bedroom 3
Downstairs bedroom with fab view over Cromarty Firth
Downstairs bathroom with shower over bath
Dining room/social area
Dining/social area leading to decking
Dining room looking out to decking area
From deck area into dining room
Decking area looking out to the Cromarty Firth
View of Cromarty Firth
Upstairs shower room
Upstairs shower room
Front of house
Front of house
From house looking towards harbour
Sunset at Cromarty
View from house
Front garden
New Years Splash and Dash
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cromarty, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AudreyMay...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely location but did not live up to expectations. We stayd there twice.
Have visited Cromarty on holiday for several years, a wonderful place to relax and explore. As we need accusation suitable for elderly and infirm can be difficult to find accessible property.
On our first visit to found we had to clean and empty bins in the kitchen and remove rug in Dinning room as covered in dog hair. Patio area is not as expected in photographs, very neglected and looked as if it had been that way for some years.
Because we enjoyed location booked for second year. As we need accommodation that is suitable for elderly and infirm can be difficult to find accessible property.
However on entering property was overcome with smell of damp dogs. Large living room rug was damp and stank of damp dog and was covered in dog hairs. Called landlord to discuss and was told they knew about that but had aired it slightly before we arrived. I had to get permission to remove it to the shed then clean the downstairs floors myself. Not a good start to our holiday.
When checking upstairs one of the rooms hadn't been made up. So I again spoke to landlord who said she would get it sorted while we where out. When we got back only one ot the twin beds had been made up and had to hunt for the bedding for the second bed and do it myself.
The patio area was worse than the year before and furnisher was damaged and dangerous, table ends had been snapped off, as hard plastics was very jagged and difficult to sit around.
Kitchen is very well equipped.
Stunning views of the firth but won't be back and have booked alternate accommodation in Cromarty this year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
As with other reviews, I am always happy to receive constructive criticism and comments. However, having received largely very positive comments from every guest since starting my business, I can only imagine that much of the comments given, in your review, were related to my refusal to accept your request for a 3rd booking for August 2016, due to the condition the house was left in after your last visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJTravell...
Herefordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful location and everything you need”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The house has a spectacular location looking out over the firth and only a short walk into Cromarty centre for lovely food at the Royal Hotel or coffee and cakes at the Coupers Creek.

The house is well equipped and furnished with lots of space. The extension at the back is great for relaxing in and dining too. The owner was helpful and the cupboards were full of lots of stor cupboard essentials which was really helpful. The only addition I would make is wifi but I do appreciate it is nice to get way from it all too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Not a character property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2017
Thanks for your lovely review. We now have wifi in the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deejaypee...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Second visit to this lovely holiday home”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We love this house as it is perfect for a holiday home...

It has all the amenities cooker, fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble drier and dishwasher. It has ample room with 3 large bedrooms a large dining area and lovely living room. There is two tvs a dvd player and the only thing lacking is wifi... although sometimes it's good to get away from it all. One toilet has a bath and the other a walk in shower. Very clean and comfy home.

It is situated at the beach with perfect views all day...I'm sure one day I will see a dolphin from the window.. There is a few things to see and do in and around the local area with a museum, a historical dig at the water front and some nice cafes, cheese shop and pub to visit.

You are a small drive from some quaint towns offering different things to see and do. A must is to visit channory point to see the dolphins. Only a 25 min drive to Inverness and willing to take a drive around the water you will find a secluded beach at Nigg.

We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelldool...
Denton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just got back from spending a week here, with my family including 1 child and 2 dogs and we had an absolutely brilliant time, there was everything we needed and more available in the house and the beach right in the doorstep where the dogs got plenty of walks and we even got to see the dolphins and a minkey whale.
I would highly recommend this house to anyone wanting to stay in cromarty

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our home from home”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third visit to Bayview cottage in the picturesque town of Cromarty. The cottage itself is perfect, a real mix of traditional and contemporary. It is so spacious that even with a large group of us we never felt as though we were living on top of one and other. Everything you could possibly need is provided for you. The kids would probably have liked some wifi but it was a welcome break from reality for the adults. The house is a great base for exploring the region. A highlight for everyone was seeing Dolphins leaping at Channonry Point and a wonderful day was spent on our own secluded beach at Nigg. We will definitely be back, there is so much more of this beautiful countryside to explore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The 5 star accommodation
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B705EGjoh...
Cupar
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Back to Bayview!”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We first visited Bayview 2 years ago and enjoyed both the house and the area that we were keen to return. The house lives up to the description given and is comfortable and well equipped with panoramic views across the Cromarty Firth. Ideally situated to explore the Highland with Inverness a short drive away, beautiful beaches at nearby Rosemarkie and Fortrose and interesting places to visit all around.
In Cromarty itself there are a selection of walks through the woods and countryside, an interesting museum and National Trust for Scotland property ( Hugh Miller's Cottage ). For a town its size it has a surprising variety of high quality cafes and restaurants and unique shops such as a Dutch Cheese Shop, pottery, Scandinavian style homeware and an antique shop. There is also a superb bakery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in August 2014

We chose this house because it sounded a really nice place on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. The accommodation was as good as we had hoped and it was great for our dog to have a dog-friendly beach on the other side of the road just yards from the gate. It's easy to get to Inverness by car or bus (the bus stops by the house) and there are plenty of other interesting places to go, especially Dornoch which my wife loved. You even have large cruise liners going by the town and the occasional oil rig being repaired across the firth. There are also the wildlife cruises to enjoy. The neighbouring town of Rosemarkie is lovely too.

As always with Scotland we found it a friendly place, especially the next door neighbours who we often chatted to. The towns are not full of tourists so you can easily get away from the crowds.

My wife would add that the property is large, very clean (thank you, Margaret) and the kitchen was very well equipped. Would we go again? We'd love to at some time. We highly recommend it without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was just a very good holiday
Liked least: Nothing was wrong
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing