We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting better all the time!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel Cromarty
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cromarty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We have stayed at this hotel for many years and were delighted when Jenny ( the new owner) took over.
She has revitalised the Hotel and the rooms and food get better all the time.
The Staff are friendly and helpful and take their lead from Jenny.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djmHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal-Hotel-Cromarty, Owner at Royal Hotel Cromarty, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

Dear djmHuddersfield
Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Royal. We are working hard to upgrade and improve the hotel, and your positive comments are very much appreciated.
Kind regards
Jenny Henderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2011

Just back from a very relaxing break at the Royal Hotel in Cromarty. We had stayed 3 years ago & it was very dated & rather run-down - but what a transformation!! The new owner has obviously done a huge amount of work - and what a lovely job she's making. By coincidence, we stayed in the same room we'd stayed in on our last visit & I wouldn't believe it was the same room - new bathroom, curtains, bed, carpet etc - very tasteful. We ate in the lounge bar & had the best steak I've ever had. Staff were lovely too. We've already booked our next trip!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal-Hotel-Cromarty, Owner at Royal Hotel Cromarty, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

Thank you so much for your review, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Royal. We are working very hard to upgrade and improve the hotel and it is great to get such positive feedback from guests. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.
Kind regards
Jenny Henderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

lovely setting overlooking the Cromarty Firth and the harbour but food was very poor. dont waste your money. Frozen prawns were overcooked and tasteless. Scampi also overcooked and served with soggy chips. Condiments served in sachets says it all.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
3  Thank ApplecrossTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal-Hotel-Cromarty, Owner at Royal Hotel Cromarty, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

I am truly sorry you did not enjoy your meal. Our prawns are delivered fresh from the harbour and are usually very well received so I am sorry you did not enjoy them. Our chips are handmade from local potatoes and again, are usually much enjoyed so again, I am sorry your chips were not up to standard. We use condiment sachets to reduce waste but we have now started to serve selected condiments in dishes.

It is a shame you did not raise these issues with a member of staff in order to give us the opportunity to rectify any problems. We work very hard to please our customers and I am disappointed we did not achieve this for you.

Regards,

Jenny Henderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We arrived for 2 night stay and greeted like family and immediately given access to room even although we were 3 hours early (had also been given a choice and descriptions of the rooms at time of booking). Very good first impression of the Lounge had us anticipating nice room and were not disappointed. Room was huge, bright , very clean and comfortable with the most amazing view over the water. Food was excellent - all fresh and cooked to perfection (I am more than a bit picky and not easily pleased) Saturday evening was busy and everyone was passing their compliments to the chef and those who were also guests at the hotel quick to let us know that we had made a good choice. There was a fantastic ambience in this hotel and we will definitely re-visit and recommend without any hesitation whatsoever. Well done Jenny & team.

Room Tip: Great base for Cromarty centre and beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MACKELLAR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

This hotel is in an excellent postion in Cromarty. We stayed for one night for bed and breakfast. We didn't have dinner here so can't comment on that. The breakfast was fantastic and Flora the lady serving us is a real gem.

Our rooms were nice and spacious, as previous reviews have indicated the place seems to have been updated. Some reviewers seem bothered by the fact that the decor is not olde fishing village type. We liked the contemporary look so that's just a matter of each individuals taste. We experienced the closed reception situation referred to earlier, but it didn't worry us unduly.

My gripe would be the cold. As you enter the hotel there is a lovely lounge area with a prepared open fire but it was never lit, this ruled it out as an area for sitting which is a shame. The alternative is to sit in the new dining room (not comfy seats) or in the public bar. Our rooms were freezing upon arrival at 4pm ish, it would have been a nice touch if they, at least, had been warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wright2idea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Quick business trip to Cromarty, we were very well looked after, food was lovely and had a wide range of choice. The renovated rooms are what you would expect in a 5* London Hotel, beautifully and sympathetically restored to modern standards. Will be booking future trips there!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timyoung82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Having visited this place every year for years it was a complete and welcome surprise to this year realise that new management, resident in town, have undertaken a massive upgrade of the somewhat dated place of yesteryear. The renovation isn't yet complete but when it is this will be one lovely seaside hotel. The food is already lovely by the way, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromarty
6.2 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
395 reviews
8.8 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
920 reviews
9.3 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Tain
218 reviews
13.8 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
609 reviews
21.2 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Cromarty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Cromarty

Address: Marine Terrace, Cromarty IV11 8YN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Cromarty
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cromarty
Price Range: £117 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royal Hotel Cromarty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromarty Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel Cromarty Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing