We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious lunch!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel Cromarty
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cromarty
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

On a day trip out to Cromarty stopped here for a quick lunch. Menu had plenty of choice. local produce and seafood. Had the daily special of langoustine platter beautiful fresh seafood simply delicious. Handmade proper chips very tasty. Children's menu good choice and generous portions. Staff welcoming and friendly. Good place to eat. Loved the open fire!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karmac27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    56
    26
    12
    10
See reviews for
59
94
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have just toured Scotland and stayed in a variety of accommodation, B and B and hotels. We were disappointed with the accommodation at the Royal Hotel and do not think it is value for money. The hotel itself is 'shabby' and 'old' although the lounge bar area is OK . The owner does say in the information that work is continually being done to update the property. We paid £135 for a night's stay in a double room / en suite and a view out of the front of the hotel onto the sea ( noisy and very brightly lit oil rig in front!) . For that price we did expect a bit better. For instance, pillows were poor quality, there was a tea making facility but a poor selection and very little milk - in plastic containers. No biscuits etc. There were two small sachets of body wash in the bathroom and two small soaps. The breakfast consisted of small packets of cereal, orange juice, a menu of cooked breakfast if we prefrered - but looking at what other people received , it did not tempt us. The only good thing was a fantastic evening meal.
This hotel was the worst on our travels - sorry to say - and not worth £135 per night!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 792PressJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Is 80 pounds much for dinner for three adults? I don't think so. Tasty, well served, good wine.I could have had a little more lobster, but it was enough. We were seated in the winter garden, well out of the wind, Inside it was rather "hot". The wine was well chilled, though. Rather in the winter garden at the sun fall side in the afternoon, than anywhere else. The view of the bay of Cromarty and the different oil rigs were interesting. The food will drag my back, not the oil rigs ;-)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Inge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Another stay at the Royal Hotel for our family holiday. The warm welcome, food on offer & comfortable, clean rooms means this hotel punches well above its weight. Most of the food in the restaurant comes from the sea outside the door or the owner's family farm 5 miles away so this makes for a delicious meal with the freshest produce. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caspod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have been visiting this area and this hotel for many years and our stay in early June was the best ever!
The Royal's proprietor, Jenny, is so warm and welcoming and her staff take their lead from her. She has improved the rooms and décor enormously and we found the meals excellent.
Why not come and visit this idyllic part of the world and stay at the Royal? You would be made very welcome!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djmHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stumbled upon this wee gem whilst out for a ride on the bike. Cullen skink for a starter was extremely tasty and well seasoned and very tasty wholemeal bread from Cromarty Bakery (the best bakers in the highlands). Main courses were fish and chips, cooked very well, nice fresh fish and Roast sirloin with trimmings which was served well and was very well cooked. For dessert we had Rhubarb and rice tart which is a speciality of the Danish chef which I enjoyed but hubby said the rhubarb could have been a bit more sharp, but that was only a minor issue. All in all, a very nice meal in a very nice setting with very pleasant staff, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rj&lj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at The Royal for a second time, I was impressed the first time, and even more so this time. We were made to feel very welcome by the staff and especially the owner, to whom nothing seemed a problem. The food was probably our highlight, a good menu that wasn't too fussy but still took us both a bit of deciding on what we were going to have, Venison proved to be a good choice. Our room had recently been decorated and done so nicely, but the view from the bed in the morning will take some beating from any hotel. As said at the top, we were both very impressed, it was only one night we were there for but will definitely be back. Thank you to all the staff at The Royal, Graeme and Charlotte.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graeme9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromarty
6.2 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
357 reviews
8.5 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
772 reviews
8.7 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
306 reviews
13.7 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Cromarty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Cromarty

Property: Royal Hotel Cromarty
Address: Marine Terrace, Cromarty IV11 8YN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Cromarty
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cromarty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Royal Hotel Cromarty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromarty Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel Cromarty Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing