We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget Starbucks, get your morning coffee here”

Royal Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Cromarty
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Forget Starbucks, get your morning coffee here”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stopped for a coffee whilst waiting for the ferry and it was fantastic. Served in an individual cafetiere and tasted wonderful. You can also admire the view across Cromarty Firth whilst you drink it. Don't be put off by the outside, inside it is very comfortable and well furnished.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RJ15T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    30
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness Scotish Highlands
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch in Cromarty”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Visited The Royal Hotel this week for the first time in some years. Lunch is served in the Lounge Bar, which has rather Spartan surroundings, but dinner is served in the Conservatory, which overlooks the waterfront and, in a summer evening, is beautiful.

Lunch food was excellent, although a bit pricey for a 'Pub Lunch' . However, I think the same menu and prices apply to dinner, with the addition of some 'specials'.

Service was excellent and friendly (although we were only 1 of 2 tables which seemed to be occupied). I think dinner on a fine evening would be quite lovely, and worth the drive from Inverness. Will try this out during the month of June!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Highland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, amazing views and friendly staff”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Had lunch outside while enjoying the views across the Cromarty Firth. Lunch menu was varied and portions plentiful with home made chunky chips very welcoming. Dishes were prompt, very flavoursome and left us feeling satisfied, many thanks to the chef and serving staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mal108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ignore the one bad review”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean tables, great food, a good pint. And a few days ago someone gave it a bad review. Hum. Much has changes or...
Go there - the venison was especially good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pwcrafton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sorry we are not locals!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

During our Visit to Cromarty, We thought a drink overlooking the Harbour would be a nice way to pass some time.

Think again, the bar staff was surly, no greeting, and more time seemed to be concentrated on the locals rather than tourists.

The outside tables , well the staff seemed not to want to clean them , we sat amongst dirty glasses, despite asking for them to be taken away.

It was our one let down of our visit to Cromarty!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Cromarty, Ross and Cromarty
Cromarty, Ross and Cromarty
 
Cromarty, Ross and Cromarty
Cromarty, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Royal Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing