We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top coffee, will come again!”
Review of Nanny's

Nanny's
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Shieldaig
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Nanny's ia a small family run cafe situated on the shores of Loch Shieldaig. Food is freshly prepared to order with local produce being used as much as possible, including shell fish caught daily in Loch Torridon. Great coffee, tasty home bakes and a friendly service awaits you.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top coffee, will come again!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stopped for a coffee, a bacon & egg roll, and a slice of cake, the coffee really is better than Costa, and the food was perfect, great atmosphere, beautiful view, and lovely staff, what more could you ask for?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guernseyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    63
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gloucester
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Beautiful crafts”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stopped by this little shop filled with local arts and crafts after having lunch in the Kishorn opposite. There is a good variety of paintings etc though a little expensive for us, but we did pick up some of Nannys Tablet to snack on. yummy!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank manda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“very friendly and welcoming staff”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nipped in whilst on holiday for a freshly made banana milkshake and a sandwich, the staff were lovely and cheerful and the food was very good. The cafe was very clean and airy with some seats outside overlooking the loch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pppapopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were a party of 9 staying in Sheildaig and we loved stopping by this great little loch-side cafe for coffee, tea and cakes. The brownies were the best we've tasted - and that's coming from a group who have eaten a fair few in our time! The coffee was good and strong and the tea is loose leaf and comes in a variety of blends to suit most palettes. The lunch menu looks fab although we only had breakfast there once - hearty, homely and well presented. The staff are super friendly and accommodating and the recent refit is nicely done in a modern country kitchen style. There's also a nice selection of gifts and local art for sale if you're looking for a souvenir. Well worth a visit here and to the pub a few doors down.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Checkendon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“An Oasis for a Hungry Tired Cyclist”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Wow - stumbling across this place after a torrid 25 miles from Applecross was brilliant - a marvellous bacon, brie and cranberry toastie, a cappuccino to beat the hell out of Costa and a welcoming atmosphere - great service and a super location on the edge of the loch. I honestly hope you get enough trade to remain viable. Shieldaig is isolated but on the route of one of the most incredible cycle rides that I have ever experienced. Cyclists - visit Nanny's! You won't regret it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nanny's also viewed

Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
 
Achnasheen, Ross and Cromarty
Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
 
Applecross, Ross and Cromarty
Strathcarron, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Nanny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing