We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

just got back from a weekend at the hotel, our 13 year old autistic son really enjoyed himself, peter who waited on us went out his way to cater for our ours sons needs, the hotel was clean, and warm, staff was friendly, the only downfall was no entertainment on saturday, entertainment was sunday night but difficult to enjoy yourself when you got a early start in the morning to head home, overall will def be returning again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Great to hear your son had a really good time with us and you found the staff friendly. I’ll pass on kind comments to Peter.
We don’t have entertainment on Saturdays in the summer because the pipe band plays in the village square. We have Saturday entertainment back on now for the winter period.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    325
    87
    43
    22
See reviews for
89
422
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We arrived at 9.00pm after a long coach journey. The restaurant was ready for our late arrival and we had a lovely meal. All the meals were of a similar high quality. The staff were helpful, professional and friendly throughout our stay. Drinks were reasonably priced for a hotel and the wine list was good.
We upgraded our room to Standard plus which was worth the additional cost and provided a well sized room with modern decoration and flat screen TV.
Entertainment on Friday and Monday was traditional singers which matched well with the surroundings. There was no entertainment on the Saturday which was a little disappointing.
Strathpeffer is an interesting town with enough to fill a day exploring. The location is very good for exploring Northern Scotland.
Overall great value, very good location, a traditional hotel with a truly warm Scottish welcome. Thank you everyone at the Strathpeffer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunseekersBMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Strathpeffer is great location form exploring the North of Scotland. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay here, enjoyed the food and found then staff helpful and friendly.
Thanks for taking the time to write review. Your feedback is appreciated.
Hope you'll come and join us again soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just back from a weekend away with family members. Hotel is indeed great value for money. Decor etc a bit in need of some tlc., but can't fault the food, cleanliness or staff, especially in the dining room.. Could have had some entertainment on Saturday night, but "Mr Ross" on Friday was a good all round entertainer. Obviously geared for coach parties mainly, it is your tartan experience, but that's no bad thing really. Lots of reading/ relaxing/space to chill out and relax or read a book etc.
Ian, Linda Maureen & Murray

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review.
Great to hear you found your weekend to be great value for money. Ronnie Ross is very popular on Friday night and receives lots of praise. Glad you also made use of the quiet lounges. The Macrae lounge is a great space to relax and unwind.
Hope you’ll spend another weekend with us soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 day coach trip to this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel having never stayed in a Bay Hotel before. My single room was great- on floor 3 with lovely views overlooking the village. I expected it to be much smaller than it was. The room was very spacious. Tea and coffee were provided and the room was warm and cosy with a comfy mattress. Lovely to soak in the bath too with lashings of lovely hot water.
The decor if the public rooms is great. Wooden panels on the walls and lots if tartan. This added to truly Scottish atmosphere to the hotel. The food was of a high quality and the vegetarian options very tasty. My waitress was very courteous and efficient.
The evening entertainment on Friday and Sunday was very good. Pity there wasn't any on Saturday night though.
I loved this hotel and if other Bay hotels are like this one I can recommend them. Can't wait to visit another one in the near future.
Thank you the Highland for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsparkle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
It’s lovely to hear you had fantastic stay with us.
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. It’s great to hear you’ll be trying out another of our hotels soon.
Look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

It seems to me that some people on Trip Advisor will moan at anything. This hotel is perfectly comfortable. With Shearings, it's not 5*, but you certainly get FAR more than what you pay for.
Our room is spotlessly clean, bright, lovely view, high ceilings & spacious with plenty of room for clothes. Staff are friendly & pleasant. We didn't expect the Ritz for what Shearings charge, but so far are v happy. Our Standard Room is very comfortable. The entrance lounge, bar & main staircase are decorated in a lovely tartan carpet & traditional wooden panelling. I can't believe folk who have complained on here that there is 'too much tartan". This is a Scottish hotel, you Moaning Minnies. Staff very helpful at check-in. So far so good & we are very much looking forward to our stay. For the record, Shearings food, in our experience is not bland. There is choice & the quality has always been good. If you want to pay £150/n+£100 for dinner then you might expect more, but at these prices you can't go wrong. My suggestion? Stop moaning & enjoy a comfy stay in lovely surroundings!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fluteandvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
You’ve left us our 6th five star review in a row. This kind of feedback is truly appreciated by myself and all the staff. The staff work very hard to try to ensure everyone enjoys their stay and it’s nice to know you’ve had a great time.
It’s kind of you to state that you found the Hotel to be excellent value for money. We do try hard to provide great value and I’m glad you found this to be the case.
I hope you’ll return to join us soon. Thanks again for your feedback.
Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Just got back from a 5 day break in Strathpeffer. We had stayed there a few years ago. And we were not dissapointed. The food was excellent as was the cleanliness of the Hotel. The staff went out of their way to cater for my special needs.(Thank You). The entertainment was good, dispite there only being a few people they tried thier best to create a happy atmosphere. The waiting on staff were friendly and efficient.
Well what can I say about the drivers Gary and Wayne? They were very entertaining with thier stories, and very knowledgable about the area, pointing out all the places of interest. We will be coming back.

Room Tip: For a small fee.We asked for a scenic view room and we were not dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
You’ve left us a five star review and tell us you’ll be back. It’s always lovely to hear we’ve done our job properly and you’ve enjoyed your holiday.
I will pass on your kind comments to the staff and drivers.
Looking forward to seeing you soon.
Thanks for your kind review
Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtonhill, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed as part of a large party for a dancing weekend at the Spa Pavillion. We decided to upgrade to a Premier Room based on the previous reviews on Tripadvisor. The room was exactly as advertised with a modern oak four poster bed in a spacious well decorated room with a large seating area and complimentary chocolates, fruit and bottled water on arrival. The bathroom was well appointed with a bath and separate shower cubicle with good water pressure. Towels were also very fluffy and good quality. Our room was kept spotlessly clean every day and the views from the room were beautiful.

Meals were very good standard for the price paid and drinks were not overly expensive either.

If you're looking for a relaxing stay in a hotel with loads of olde worlde character you'll have to look very hard to find a better option.

One final point, we saw in all of the other standard of rooms with us being in a large party. The Superior rooms are also spacious but in need of modernisation. There are showers over the baths and as long as you're happy with primrose yellow or other coloured bathroom suites you'll be fine. The TVs we saw in the Superior rooms were tiny portables that had seen better days. The TV in the Premier room is a modern flat screen.

Standard rooms are a real step down from the Superior rooms with no views to speak of as most are overlooking the carpark. They also have the problem of getting woken up by buses starting up and running their engines at crack of dawn. Also there's no shower and if you want a shower you have to ask at reception for one of those rubber hose contraptions that stick onto your bath taps.

We'll definitely stay here again but only if a Premier Room is available as the modest extra cost is well worth it if you're not working to a tight budget.

Room Tip: Opt for a Premier Room if you want a really relaxing stay in a well appointed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rush2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our premier rooms. We are constantly upgrading the hotel and our premier rooms are some that have completed in the last few years.
It nice you state that you found your stay relaxing and found the hotel full of olde worlde character. I believe the original oak panelling and tartan carpets give the hotel a lovely unique atmosphere.
It’s appreciated that you took the time to write your review and hope you’ll return to join us again soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
578 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
146 reviews
2.4 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
56 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Property: Bay Highland Hotel
Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing