We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good value holiday”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2013

we have just returned from a 5 day coach holiday with Shearings. It was worth the journey for the beautiful scenery made even better by the mostly good weather. The food was very good and our waitress Betty was brilliant - service with a smile and cheery word every meal time.
Our room was very big and there was plenty of room for another chest of drawers which would have been useful as there seemed a shortage of storage space for clothes. Our bedroom was very warm and we didnt need the hot water bottles we had taken,but the public areas of the hotel seemed very cold - yes I know it was november and scotland is cold but you don't expect it that cold INSIDE. The hotel looked like it could do with a bit of tlc - scratched paint etc but it was all very clean. The cleanliness, service and food are what takes this up to very good

Room Tip: we paid extra for a room with a view but it was right above the car park so we could hear the early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ienjoymyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thanks for taking time to leave your review.
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the food.
I will pass on your kind comments to Betty.
Sorry about the lounge been a bit cold. We had a problems with the heating system that are now rectified. Hope it didn’t cause you too much inconvenience.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have returned from a 5 day coach break with Sherings. What a great holiday, we have no complaints whatsoever. Total value for money, good food, friendly and helpful staff, spotlessly clean room, good entertainment. Even the traffic problem which caused us to be very late arriving was soon forgotten after the very warm welcome we received. A big thank you to all. X

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanieWanie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Fantastic to hear you had a great holiday.
We work really hard to try to ensure you have a good time and enjoy your stay with us. It’s lovely to receive this kind of feedback.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

just got back from a weekend at the hotel, our 13 year old autistic son really enjoyed himself, peter who waited on us went out his way to cater for our ours sons needs, the hotel was clean, and warm, staff was friendly, the only downfall was no entertainment on saturday, entertainment was sunday night but difficult to enjoy yourself when you got a early start in the morning to head home, overall will def be returning again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Great to hear your son had a really good time with us and you found the staff friendly. I’ll pass on kind comments to Peter.
We don’t have entertainment on Saturdays in the summer because the pipe band plays in the village square. We have Saturday entertainment back on now for the winter period.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We arrived at 9.00pm after a long coach journey. The restaurant was ready for our late arrival and we had a lovely meal. All the meals were of a similar high quality. The staff were helpful, professional and friendly throughout our stay. Drinks were reasonably priced for a hotel and the wine list was good.
We upgraded our room to Standard plus which was worth the additional cost and provided a well sized room with modern decoration and flat screen TV.
Entertainment on Friday and Monday was traditional singers which matched well with the surroundings. There was no entertainment on the Saturday which was a little disappointing.
Strathpeffer is an interesting town with enough to fill a day exploring. The location is very good for exploring Northern Scotland.
Overall great value, very good location, a traditional hotel with a truly warm Scottish welcome. Thank you everyone at the Strathpeffer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunseekersBMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Strathpeffer is great location form exploring the North of Scotland. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay here, enjoyed the food and found then staff helpful and friendly.
Thanks for taking the time to write review. Your feedback is appreciated.
Hope you'll come and join us again soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just back from a weekend away with family members. Hotel is indeed great value for money. Decor etc a bit in need of some tlc., but can't fault the food, cleanliness or staff, especially in the dining room.. Could have had some entertainment on Saturday night, but "Mr Ross" on Friday was a good all round entertainer. Obviously geared for coach parties mainly, it is your tartan experience, but that's no bad thing really. Lots of reading/ relaxing/space to chill out and relax or read a book etc.
Ian, Linda Maureen & Murray

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write your review.
Great to hear you found your weekend to be great value for money. Ronnie Ross is very popular on Friday night and receives lots of praise. Glad you also made use of the quiet lounges. The Macrae lounge is a great space to relax and unwind.
Hope you’ll spend another weekend with us soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 day coach trip to this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel having never stayed in a Bay Hotel before. My single room was great- on floor 3 with lovely views overlooking the village. I expected it to be much smaller than it was. The room was very spacious. Tea and coffee were provided and the room was warm and cosy with a comfy mattress. Lovely to soak in the bath too with lashings of lovely hot water.
The decor if the public rooms is great. Wooden panels on the walls and lots if tartan. This added to truly Scottish atmosphere to the hotel. The food was of a high quality and the vegetarian options very tasty. My waitress was very courteous and efficient.
The evening entertainment on Friday and Sunday was very good. Pity there wasn't any on Saturday night though.
I loved this hotel and if other Bay hotels are like this one I can recommend them. Can't wait to visit another one in the near future.
Thank you the Highland for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunsparkle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

It’s lovely to hear you had fantastic stay with us.
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. It’s great to hear you’ll be trying out another of our hotels soon.
Look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

It seems to me that some people on Trip Advisor will moan at anything. This hotel is perfectly comfortable. With Shearings, it's not 5*, but you certainly get FAR more than what you pay for.
Our room is spotlessly clean, bright, lovely view, high ceilings & spacious with plenty of room for clothes. Staff are friendly & pleasant. We didn't expect the Ritz for what Shearings charge, but so far are v happy. Our Standard Room is very comfortable. The entrance lounge, bar & main staircase are decorated in a lovely tartan carpet & traditional wooden panelling. I can't believe folk who have complained on here that there is 'too much tartan". This is a Scottish hotel, you Moaning Minnies. Staff very helpful at check-in. So far so good & we are very much looking forward to our stay. For the record, Shearings food, in our experience is not bland. There is choice & the quality has always been good. If you want to pay £150/n+£100 for dinner then you might expect more, but at these prices you can't go wrong. My suggestion? Stop moaning & enjoy a comfy stay in lovely surroundings!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fluteandvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

You’ve left us our 6th five star review in a row. This kind of feedback is truly appreciated by myself and all the staff. The staff work very hard to try to ensure everyone enjoys their stay and it’s nice to know you’ve had a great time.
It’s kind of you to state that you found the Hotel to be excellent value for money. We do try hard to provide great value and I’m glad you found this to be the case.
I hope you’ll return to join us soon. Thanks again for your feedback.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
409 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
58 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
149 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range: £67 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing