We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good experience”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Thank you for a very welcoming stay at your hotel. The room was very comfortable, food was great and the entertainment put on by Raymond was second to none. We had a very a very enjoyable time and would stay again. The staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much bother for them. Thank you again.


Sheila and Chris

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheilacochrane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thanks so much for leaving us a five star review.
Great to hear you had such a good time and will be back to visit us again.

See you soon,

Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed there on a budget midweek break in early February. The building is fantastic, and the decor is gloriously over-the-top - tartan everywhere, even on the lift-walls! The rooms were good, with comfortable beds and large clean bathrooms, although the lack of wi-fi in the rooms was an issue. The staff were friendly and pleasant. The holiday itself, a coach-trip, was obviously aimed at a much older demographic than myself and my friend, and the evening entertainment really wasn't for us! (Although it was obviously enjoyed by the people at whom it was aimed) The only real gripe was the catering - visiting Scotland, I'd expected to be seved Scottish specialities - beef, salmon etc from named local suppliers. Instead, we were given very generic hotel food, which could have been served anywhere. (Although my friend had a lunch meal ordered from the bar, and said it was of much higher quality) The bar didn't have any Scottish beers, which was very disappointing, and with no pubs in the town we couldn't get away from the 'entertainment' and sample a local brew! But it was a good value-for-money break, in a beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuzWinspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

It sounds like you stayed on one the first weeks we were open for the season. We had a problem with the local beer supplier. We have now changed supplier and are fully stocked with six different local beers.
Hope you’ll be back to sample them soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

A very good value 3 nights Dinner Bed & Breakfast deal (Fri Sat Sun nights) with high quality entertainment each night, aimed at the more mature clientele. Food was first class with a wide choice, room was very clean and comfortable, service was excellent and absolutely nothing was too much trouble for the very polite, pleasant and efficient staff. A wonderful relaxing weekend - many thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianMcAulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thanks so much for a five star review,

Great to hear you such a good weekend.

Hope to see you soon,

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Exceptionally nice and clean old hotel for a decent price. We booked into a double room at the last minute and were impressed with the quality of the room as well as the large and impressive hotel lobby and bar area. The staff was very nice although the cleaners were a bit too eager for us to get out before the 10am check out time. This seemed to be a popular place for tour buses as the hotel was full to capacity with older travellers which made breakfast a bit hectic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adizokanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thanks for your review, Great to hear you the hotel clean and good value for money.
Breakfast can be busy if the hotel is full but it’s good to know you found the staff friendly.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A lovely clean hotel but the best part is the staff, they were all very friendly and helpful. Polite and young! Just come back from a national holidays coach trip, excellent value for money. the hotel could probably do with a big makeover but this did not detract from its charm. The food was very nice and tasty as well. We were there for 3days and each day there was a different entertainer for the night time. Although each one was a very competent musician with a lovely singing voice, for me they were too much the same, with the same songs and patter. Just wish there had been a comedian on or a group to break up the same type of music. This is the only negative thing I can say about this very relaxing break. Oh, one more thing, it was a bath, no shower, but hey ,still had facilities to get clean, what do you want for the price? thank you to all the lovely staff once again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Honest792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Great to hear you enjoyed the food, entertainment and found the Hotel to be great value for money.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff, they do work very hard and really appreciate your positive feedback.
Hope to see you again soon,
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Never again!
Not sure where they got these pictures that are online of the room but I can assure you mine looked nothing like it. In fact, my room was like something from Bates Motel. Filthy, Dusty, Dark, Dingy, Depressing and after 11pm the coldness was unbearable I had to get dressed after the hairy wool blanket from the wardrobe made no difference (maybe if they fixed the giant crack in the single glazed window it would help) Had a light supper after arriving on business, later in the evening. A baked Potato. Bland, Boring, Poor. Not even a dot of garnish on the prawns and the Marie Rose sauce had no taste whatsoever...Very very disappointing stay with no sleep for a massive drive to Inverness all day then Glasgow

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lulugip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay on this occasion, especially after receiving so many other positive reviews on Tripadvisor.
We would have been more than happy to change your room or meal if you had reported your problems to reception.
Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Shearings have got it right! From first class coach transport to providing the highest quality accommodation and services. As ex hoteliers we look for the best and the worst in experiences and our four day, three night, break in Strathpeffer over the weekend of 21st to 24th March ticked all the boxes for the former. The hotel has all the facilities the discerning traveller could want from excellent accommodation to great food and first class staff. Nothing is too much trouble and from the very start and throughout the weekend we were treated to excellent service. The hotel is immaculate and considering the number of people staying over the weekend the rooms and associated areas were spotless. Congratulations to Shearings for a great product but in particular to the staff for a superb effort making our break, and I'm sure that of many that stayed, a great experience.

Mike C

Room Tip: The Standard Rooms are excellent but for that something special get an upgrade for the special exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Great to hear you had such a lovely weekend. All the staff work very hard to try to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay. It’s lovely to receive positive feedback from reviews.
Hope you’ll come back to visit us again soon,
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
421 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
153 reviews
24.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range: £67 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing