We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Short break heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We recently stayed for a short break at the Highland, and cannot praise it enough. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome and to be in the hotel was an experience in itself. The staff were extremely efficient and the service at breakfast and dinner was excellent. All in all the Highland is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in, and we plan to return in future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
“Probably the best hotel we have stayed in”. What can I say except thanks so much for such a lovely compliment and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    305
    84
    41
    21
See reviews for
81
394
46
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just returned from a four night stay here on a National Holiday. The hotel was built over a 100 years ago and retains period features, which we liked. The bedroom was clean and comfortable, the bathroom had been very recently updated and included the best hotel shower I have used.

Throughout, the hotel was extremely clean and a credit to the staff; who, without exception were polite, friendly and helpful.

As the holiday was inexpensive, we thought there may be a compromise with the quality of the food, but we were wrong. The quality and choice were exceptional, served promptly and the fact that we kept the same table throughout our stay was a nice touch.

There are many attractions within easy reach of Strathpeffer, and I would have no hesitation in visiting again or recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HullOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review,
It’s kind of you to give the staff credit for all the hard work they do, glad they looked after you.
It sounds like you stayed in one recently updated rooms, it’s good to know they are making an impression.
Hope to see you soon,
Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel was excellent for a short break. We were made very welcome and the food was good.
The staff were very helpful. The hotel is set on the hill with lovely views and the interior although dated is very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thanks for your review.
Nice to know you felt welcome and enjoyed the food and views.
Hope you’ll be back for a wee break soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carndonagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just home from fantastic break at the highland hotel, food was excellent, staff very professional and helpful, entertainment very good although geared for a more mature clientele well worth a visit to strathpeffer

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretta610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
Great to hear you enjoyed your break.
Hope to see you soon
Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Thank you for a very welcoming stay at your hotel. The room was very comfortable, food was great and the entertainment put on by Raymond was second to none. We had a very a very enjoyable time and would stay again. The staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much bother for them. Thank you again.


Sheila and Chris

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilacochrane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks so much for leaving us a five star review.
Great to hear you had such a good time and will be back to visit us again.

See you soon,

Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed there on a budget midweek break in early February. The building is fantastic, and the decor is gloriously over-the-top - tartan everywhere, even on the lift-walls! The rooms were good, with comfortable beds and large clean bathrooms, although the lack of wi-fi in the rooms was an issue. The staff were friendly and pleasant. The holiday itself, a coach-trip, was obviously aimed at a much older demographic than myself and my friend, and the evening entertainment really wasn't for us! (Although it was obviously enjoyed by the people at whom it was aimed) The only real gripe was the catering - visiting Scotland, I'd expected to be seved Scottish specialities - beef, salmon etc from named local suppliers. Instead, we were given very generic hotel food, which could have been served anywhere. (Although my friend had a lunch meal ordered from the bar, and said it was of much higher quality) The bar didn't have any Scottish beers, which was very disappointing, and with no pubs in the town we couldn't get away from the 'entertainment' and sample a local brew! But it was a good value-for-money break, in a beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzWinspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
It sounds like you stayed on one the first weeks we were open for the season. We had a problem with the local beer supplier. We have now changed supplier and are fully stocked with six different local beers.
Hope you’ll be back to sample them soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cruden Bay (Port Erroll), United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

A very good value 3 nights Dinner Bed & Breakfast deal (Fri Sat Sun nights) with high quality entertainment each night, aimed at the more mature clientele. Food was first class with a wide choice, room was very clean and comfortable, service was excellent and absolutely nothing was too much trouble for the very polite, pleasant and efficient staff. A wonderful relaxing weekend - many thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianMcAulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks so much for a five star review,

Great to hear you such a good weekend.

Hope to see you soon,

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Strathpeffer Hotel
Strathpeffer Hotel
#6 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Property: Bay Highland Hotel
Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing