We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and not so good!”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

All staff very friendly. Meals were to a good standard and we were well served by Alex. Reception rooms pleasant but dining room and main lounge rather stuffy and too warm in the evenings! Tried to open a window in TV Lounge without success.
Entertainment: Enjoyed the Wednesday evening music by Ronnie Ross but we avoided the 2 nights of bingo!
Bedroom: 3rd floor 305. Very hot on arrival. Managed to turn off main radiator but the bathroom was boiling hot with no control. Duty Manager got a tool to turn it off. The shower head was very small and I just got soapy when the water flow stopped - twice!! Suspect cause - poor pressure high demand on system. Bathroom strip light u/s. New strip after 2 requests to change it. Bed very soft.
Room in need of redecoration work in one ceiling / wall corner. Window area very dirty.
A hotel with character but needs some refurbishment and paintwork inside and out.
Strathpeffer a lovely village with good walks and places to visit in the immediate area - made up somewhat for the below par room standard.

Room Tip: Lower floor probably best to avoid water pressure flow problem and use of the small lift.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnM57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thanks for your recent review,

We run a continual cycle of refurbishment for bedrooms and bathrooms. We completed some of the rooms on the 3rd floor earlier this year. We hope to complete other 3rd floor rooms early next year.
We ensure heating is on in all our guest rooms prior to arrival to give you the option to turn down if find the room too warm. The ground floor windows are restricted for security reasons but a member of staff would have been happy to open the tv lounge window on request.
We would have been happy to try and offer you a different room if you had contacted us at reception.
I’m glad you found the staff friendly and enjoyed your meals and the Village.

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
There are newer reviews for Bay Highland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Flawless service from experienced staff, a magnificent building, a spacious, spotlessly clean room, the most comfortable bed I have slept in for a long time, fine food in a lovely Dining Room. My wife's need for dairy-free food was dealt with in the most courteous way - nothing was too much trouble for our waitress. I could go on in more depth, but suffice it to say that my wife and I were extremely impressed by this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 219 was our room. Newly decorated, and with a modernised en-suite.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review.
Most of the staff have been here for a very long time and it’s great to know their experience shines through. I will pass on your comments to the dining room and housekeeping teams.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Congratulations to all the staff. This hotel provides the comforts of home even it is a little dated,but it is what it is a old hotel nicely cleaned up.The rooms where clean and a good size the food and staff were excellent every meal had a great choice.The only downside was the stairs being 3 flights to reach the first floor and the lift which had a mind of its own.All in all a very pleasant stay ,Travelled with SHEARINGS long journey but a very pleasant break.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a view over the village
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Glad to hear you had a pleasant break.

Will pass on your kind comments to all the Staff and Chef.

Thanks for the review.

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from staying at this hotel, we were on a National Holidays coach tour. For the money we paid the hotel was very acceptable, it is a bit dated and rooms could do with modernisation, such as a larger flat screen TV, but the rooms were comfortable and clean. The bathroom was clean and looked as if it had quite recently been renovated, thankfully no noises from next door were heard (see previous review). All the staff we came across were very friendly and helpful, the meals were quite adequate, not huge but sufficient and a good choice, although sometimes the vegetarian meals were interesting!.Yes the entertainment is geared to the older clientèle but that's what the majority of them are - older. We paid for a room upgrade, which was not for a renovated room but for a "scenic" view, the room was very large and light and definitely had a great view of the countryside. Our coach also pulled up to the back of the hotel but as that is where the road is that's what it had to be, there is no road wide enough for the coach to pull up to the front door. All in all a very enjoyable Highland stay, and if in the area again would use this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 113 is very big and light and has great country views. It is immediately above the lounge and...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review.

Great to hear you would visit us again if you were in the area.

Hope to see you soon,

Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Please read all of my review for the complete picture.

We decided at short notice to book a short break away and on this occasion took a coach tour which included 4 nights stay on a half board basis at this hotel.

On arrival the coach pulls up to the less glamorous side of the building so you immediately start to question the pictures you have seen in the brochure but please be assured it looks exactly as per the pictures if, unlike us, you were to arrive through the village.

The assistant manager came out to the coach and gave us the welcome talk and directions for checking in, luggage and evening meal - all of which went as smoothly as he described.

So to the room - we had paid the small upgrade charge to have one of the more recently modernised standard rooms and it was pleasant, nothing outstanding but had all the basics which you would expect in a room - wardrobe, small table with kettle and drinks making bits, bedside tables and lamps, desk with hairdryer and mirror above it, tv (although the picture is not great and rather snowy due to location) double bed and ensuite bathroom. The first disappointing thing was that this was the type of room we would have expected as standard without having to pay any upgrade cost!! The second and more disappointing aspect to the room was the bathrooms sound proofing or lack of it - we could go into detail about the bathroom habits of the people in the room next door as we heard every detail of them but we are sure you get the idea!! The final disappointing thing about the room was the door - a good inch gap at the bottom ensured light came into the room all night and as the door is not a highly modern one with sealing strips around it the light and noise come in to the room all around the door - now in fairness to the hotel they cannot help the fact that the guests are noisy and show a lack of consideration to other people staying there but they could help by doing some simple things like draught excluder strips on the bedroom doors to cut down the noise.

The food - there is a good choice at breakfast and evening meal. Breakfast lacks a scottish identity if you don't want the kippers, no tattie scones, lorne sausage, black pudding or haggis make it on to the breakfast plate but I guess thats more to do with cost which is sad. The evening meals are slightly on the bland, safe side but then as the average age of their clients seemed to be in the 70s thats not so surprising.

The staff - this is the highlight of the hotel. All of the staff which we had dealings with were well presented, friendly, helpful and smiling.

The entertainment - this again is tailored more towards the average customer of this hotel who as I said appears to be in their 70s.

The general standard of decoration around the upper floors of the hotel is in need of some attention as it is looking a little grubby and worn.

All in all we had a pleasant time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottishTourist01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your in depth review. Myself and the hotel team will look into all the points raised.

Great to hear you found the staff well presented and smiling.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A great experience after a bad time at an earlier hotel. I have a diet problem and nothing was too much trouble for the kitchen staff. All my food was hot and well presented. Kristene and Gvidas were excellent and looked after me and were first class. After staying at Tarbet which was awful it was a pleasant surprise. The room was large and had a wonderful view of the village. The only complaint could be that as usual in a Bay hotel you could hear the entertainment in the rooms as there never seems to be a door to the room where the music is. But that is just me.

Room Tip: 311 was great. High up with wonderful view of the village
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coffdrop60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Glad we were able to take care of your special diet and Kristine and Gvidas looked after you well.
Thanks for a lovely review
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We booked this on the Bay Hotels website. What a great weekend. The food is really good and the entertainment is fabulous! If you wander down to the town square (50 yards) the Strathpeffer pipe band entertain the tourists for donations, this is followed by country dancing. If you like football Ross County play 3 miles away in Dingwall. If you like your malt Whisky then Glen Ord, Dalmore and Glenmorangie are close by! Check it out

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EwanMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Brilliant to hear you had a great weekend.
The pipe band and Highland dancers are on every Saturday night in the summer months, glad you enjoyed them.
Thanks for the review.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#6 of 7 in Strathpeffer
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
403 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
147 reviews
2.4 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
57 reviews
7.8 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range: £69 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing