We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We took the High Road”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

After the long and winding road to the Scottish Highlands we arrived at Strathpeffer on a Shearings holiday.
The quiet Victorian spa town is a treat to behold and the Highland Hotel stands overlooking the square. Our room was typical of a Bay Hotel, much needed refurbishment necessary. The decor was drab and very outdated, large damp patches in the bathroom, windows very hard to open. Having said that, the room was cleaned daily and towels and tea and coffee making items replenished.
The dining room is large once again in need of a coat of paint. Meals were average with good breakfasts. Evening meal 3 courses, chefs special each evening with Haggis, liver and onions, beef lasagne, and pasta Carbonara as example. The puddings were a treat with proper custard.
The staff are very pleasant and helpful.
Entertainment each evening which appealed to the more mature members of our party was average. There is a TV lounge and a quiet room to sit and have a drink and a chat away from the entertainment.
Outside a veranda with seating also nice to sit with after dinner coffee. Beware the midges.
There are lots of planned walks around Strathpeffer. It is possible to walk to Dingwall, we did it. A mention about the cafe/restaurant situated in the old station, great food all freshly prepared and served by extremely friendly staff.
This hotel is a gem, needs some TLC.

Room Tip: There are refurbished rooms at a cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your review.
We do have a refurbishment programme in place for bedrooms and bathrooms but with 136 rooms it takes a while to get through them all. We did complete several sections in 2013 and 2014. Hope you will return to try one of new refurbished rooms soon.
Glad you enjoyed the Victorian village.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Would recomend this hotel , it is in a lovely setting , it is a bit dated in the bedrooms, but you can not have everything, the rest of the hotel is Scottish decadence at its best. All the staff are so helpful and nothing is to much trouble, we did have a problem with our first room but it was resolved quickly, the only down side was the food ,in the reataurant , but as we didn't complain at the time it would be unfair to go in to more detail, we were with a shearings coach trip and half board was included . We had several bar meals purchased by our selves in the hotel and they were lovely, Will definitely be returning to this hotel in future

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jll P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your review,
Glad to hear we managed to resolve the problem with your room quickly and you enjoyed your stay.
Great to hear you will be returning in the future.
Look forward to seeing you.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

we were holidaying with Shearings and stayed at the Highland Hotel, Strathpeffer. Cannot thank the staff enough for their professionalism!! From first point of contact collecting our room keys to on our day of leaving. The Hotel is set in beautiful, quiet surroundings. Our first evening was an uncomfortable evening due to only having one pillow each and no air-con. Next morning my husband and I asked at reception if we could have an extra pillow each and if possible a fan placed into our bedroom. On returning from our day out we found we had been given extra pillows and a fan placed in our room!! You would not get this service anywhere else!! Our waiter, was polish but very friendly and very efficient!! All in all we cannot recommend this hotel enough to anyone visiting the Highlands. Keep up the fantastic work!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan2167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for such a lovely.
Great to hear you had such a lovely time. Will pass on your comments to all the staff.
Hope to see you soon,
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Comfortable hotel, travelled with a group of 32. Staff very welcoming and excellent service in the dining room. Food was good as long as you are not looking for gourmet meals, selection ok with vegetarian option. Entertainment in the evening was not to everyone's taste but ok.
The lift is basic and slow, so if you are on the third floor be prepared to walk up or wait for some time.
This was a privately organised holiday and the booking process was easy with no problem changing numbers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lornadundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Great to hear you found the staff welcoming and received excellent service in the dining room.
Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Visited this hotel on a self drive basis from 30th May to 2nd of June, and enjoyed every minute
of our stay. Have been to this hotel several times before, and always found staff so helpful and cheery, same this visit , nothing too much trouble for them.
A good selection of food at meal times, something to suit all tastes, if not must be very hard to please.
Entertainment good Ronnie Ross on Friday still his old cheery self and pleasant to listen to.
The hotel itself is needing some TLC, but if money has to be put into this then the cost will have to go up for visitors so quite happy with the way it is.
Room was clean, good bed, slept well, nice white towels and changed if you wished, the domestic
staff a great "bunch" Claudia a little ray of sunshine.
For the price we paid, a great bargain.
Alastair the manager is running a good ship, keep it up, will be back.
Rose and Alastair

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chalkyglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thanks so much for your lovely comments.
Great to hear you returned to enjoy another holiday.
Looking forward to seeing you soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We went for lunch and found the decor very dull and 70s. Dining sets cluttered the main room- far too busy and congested.
Had fish but couldn't eat it as it hadn't been filleted and was full of bones. Staff pleasant and happy to swap meal for something else but wouldn't recommend eating here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your bar meal on this occasion.
We have regular returning guests for bar meals and the Fish and Chips is one of the most popular dishes. We do our best to ensure all bones are removed from the fish however on odd occasions bones may be found. I believe this to be the case in most restaurants.
Glad to hear you found the staff pleasant and we were able to replace your meal for you.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

All staff very friendly. Meals were to a good standard and we were well served by Alex. Reception rooms pleasant but dining room and main lounge rather stuffy and too warm in the evenings! Tried to open a window in TV Lounge without success.
Entertainment: Enjoyed the Wednesday evening music by Ronnie Ross but we avoided the 2 nights of bingo!
Bedroom: 3rd floor 305. Very hot on arrival. Managed to turn off main radiator but the bathroom was boiling hot with no control. Duty Manager got a tool to turn it off. The shower head was very small and I just got soapy when the water flow stopped - twice!! Suspect cause - poor pressure high demand on system. Bathroom strip light u/s. New strip after 2 requests to change it. Bed very soft.
Room in need of redecoration work in one ceiling / wall corner. Window area very dirty.
A hotel with character but needs some refurbishment and paintwork inside and out.
Strathpeffer a lovely village with good walks and places to visit in the immediate area - made up somewhat for the below par room standard.

Room Tip: Lower floor probably best to avoid water pressure flow problem and use of the small lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnM57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thanks for your recent review,

We run a continual cycle of refurbishment for bedrooms and bathrooms. We completed some of the rooms on the 3rd floor earlier this year. We hope to complete other 3rd floor rooms early next year.
We ensure heating is on in all our guest rooms prior to arrival to give you the option to turn down if find the room too warm. The ground floor windows are restricted for security reasons but a member of staff would have been happy to open the tv lounge window on request.
We would have been happy to try and offer you a different room if you had contacted us at reception.
I’m glad you found the staff friendly and enjoyed your meals and the Village.

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
410 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
149 reviews
2.4 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
58 reviews
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range: £67 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing