We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highland Break”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Lovely Hotel with a lot of character, excellent food with good choice, friendly staff especially our waitress Betty, nothing was too much trouble for her. Room was very basic but spotlessly clean. If you can't survive without modern technology don't come here.The ancient portable tv could only receive 5 channels and wi fi didn't work anywhere in hotel. If you come to visit somewhere so beautiful It's nice to get away from it all. The evening entertainment consists of Bingo and the music caters for the more mature guests. This was a Shearings holiday and was very good value as there were trips to Inverness, Loch Ness, Fort Augustus, The Black Isles stopping off at Cromarty all included in price and Gary our driver was a fountain of knowledge with a very dry wit.

Room Tip: There are more up to date rooms with views which are more expensive but you'll still only get 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank mooms4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thanks for lovely review,
Great to hear you had such a lovely time. I’ll pass on your comments to the staff you mentioned.
Hope to see you soon,
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Went on a shearings holiday, 11 hours journey from Midlands. This hotel was by far the best shearings hotel we have visited. Dark wood panels and tartan carpets and looked like an original Scottish hotel should look. Staff were all lovely. Had a refurbished room with no shower but always plenty of hot water for a relaxing bubble bath. Food was mostly good and waitresses very good.
Walks around hotel were lovely and so was the little town of Strathpeffer. Went on a trip round Loch Ness...nearly 50 mile round trip...just to see trees. Stopped at Fort Augustus to see the locks A long day out to see almost nothing. Paid to go on trip to Ullapool...that was worth the extra £10.
Didnt care much for the entertainment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bakerboy311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks for your review.
Strathpeffer is a lovely little village with some great walks. Glad you enjoyed your stay here and the found the food and service good.
Hope to see you soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

we have just returned home from national coach tour to scotland stayed in the highland hotel.
coach driver eddy was very helpful .room large clean' good views over village'i think we must have had a recently refurbished room.114 staff could not be more helpful.food good plenty chose.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank jacqueline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Great to know you such a lovely holiday.
Room 114 is a lovely room with great views of the valley. Glad you enjoyed staying there and the staff looked after you well.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Have just returned from a 5 day National holiday. We stayed in this hotel 2 years ago, a lot of refurbishment has been done. Staff could not do enough for you. Alex our waiter was brilliant as was our room cleaner (can't remember her name) room 112. Food was very good, plenty of choice including chefs special every day. Room was quite large, beds clean and comfortable. In the bathroom was a wall mounted power shower. Would highly recommend this hotel,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank 24Noel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks for such a lovely review.
Great to hear you such a lovely holiday.

Hope to see you again soon,

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel was nice and the food and service was good. However, the room was very hot due to unable to open window only a few inches and there was no shower in the room and an old tv with only 3 channels, plus only one elevater for the hoter

Room Tip: rooms in the back have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks for your review.

Sorry but in line with most commercial premises we have restrictors on the windows for health and safety reasons. If you had reported only having three channels on the television we would have happily retuned for you. It’s great to hear you food and service good.

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The staff could not be faulted , this I must say from the get go , the Hotel itself is another story ..If disabled give it a miss ..Some room still have rubber hoses that pass for a shower, others have those attatched to tap , but no shower curtains, and you still need to come in the bath , thats if you are able bodied .....The food piping hot and service efficient but that is due to the staff who I have already said cant be faulted..The Hotel itself although in perfect setting needs acomplete makeover of the rooms

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank moogieenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks for your review,
The shower attachments provided in some bathrooms are for washing hair while in the bath. They are not meant to be showers so we do not have shower curtains in these bathrooms. We are regularly upgrading rooms and completed several earlier this year.
We have disabled guests that return to the Hotel on regular basis and are more than happy with the facilities we able to provide. Generally if guests have specific needs they will let us know and we will do our best to best to accommodate them.
Great to hear you found the food piping hot and the staff looked after you well.

Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed at The Highland Hotel for a 5 day break touring the Highlands with Shearings tours. I was a solo traveller and was treated slightly better at this hotel than most hotels do for solo travellers on tours etc. My room was comfortable and spacious the light was adequate the bed tho was a tad too small must have been the smallest size in single beds as I nearly fell out of it more than once...I didn't have a room with a view, and there was a bath and no shower so it really took me much longer to get ready in the mornings, it was all rush. The meals were adequate and well presented nothing to rave about, there was far too many coach parties staying that week and they were really rushed off their feet. The entertainment was fab, I particularly loved Ronnie Shaw who was very talented playing different instruments including the saxophone, clarinet, stratocaster guitar, accordion and keyboards, his songs and instrumental repertoire was excellent with pieces like local hero, Apache, Albertross, Deerstalker, some Michael Buble and John Denver numbers, I bought his CD it doesn't disappoint. There was a really funny comedian called Ronnie Ross he had us all in stitches. The seating was badly arranged in the main lounge, I had a job squeezing past the different tables and chairs to go to the bar. The service was excellent with very polite hard working staff. I loved the typically Scottish wood panelling that was lovely and the regal carpeting. The hotel itself was set in a beautiful area in the pretty village of Strathpeffer, with lots of lovely woodland and gorgeous greenery. The frontal features of the gardens however need updating and would look very beautiful and make the hotel more attractive if this was done, it's an old former manor house and looks wonderful set against the Scottish landscape. Whilst here I toured around Loch Ness, Inverness, Ullapool, The Black Isle, The Cairngorms, The Caledonian canal these places were within easy reach of the hotel location. The scenery on the tour was breathtaking, I would gladly visit again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
5  Thank 983joans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review.
Glad you enjoyed the entertainment and found the staff polite and hardworking.
It’s great to hear you would visit again.
Hope to see you soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
421 reviews
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
830 reviews
24.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
937 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range: £76 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing