We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional hotel”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Traditional hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just returned from 4 night stay in this lovely and traditional hotel.Room was clean with tea and coffee making facilities. Old telly so not digital yet. Bathroom a bit dated but plenty of hot water. Need to take shower gel with you as only soap provided. Free Wifi in lobby. The food and choice was good as was the service. In all a very good stay.

Room Tip: 143 was a quiet room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrow2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review.
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you soon
Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    315
    86
    42
    22
See reviews for
84
409
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We booked with Shearing for a 4 night break at Strathpeffer, what a great time we had, we enjoyed every minute, great reception, great staff, from the driver to the cleaner and everyone who works for Shearings, Hotels and Holidays, top notch.
The journey was a long BUT when I thought I'm not driving it got even better lol, loved the journey relaxed in an air conditioned coach while the sun was shinning very bright that WEEK, Driver were brilliant especially Tony who was our main driver for the week and tour guide, he certainly knew what he was talking about great bloke, ( if you read this Tony, THANK YOU ). The hotel was great, I loved the tartan and the oak paneling, the bed room was very comfortable and sparkling clean with tea and coffee laid on, when we arrived the meal was pipping hot and ready to serve, the staff were full of smiles for us and very polite, the food was so nice I wanted to ask for seconds lol but I have to watch my figure lol.
The tours that we were on throughout the week brilliant, absolutely loved it, we went all over the place sightseeing and visiting.
The little village was very beautiful and clean, not a lot to do but that's not why we went in the first place,there's walks, a few shops that were open til 10 pm ish and no rushing round, there's some really good walks to around the village and some very interesting history, so if your not sure, I say go and give it a chance you'll love it, we did, DEFINATELY 10/10.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.
Tony is away at another Hotel this week but I’ll pass on your comments as soon as he gets back.
Thanks for mentioning how much you enjoyed the Hotel. The staff work really hard and this kind of feedback is appreciated.
Hope you’ll join us again soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Lovely Hotel with a lot of character, excellent food with good choice, friendly staff especially our waitress Betty, nothing was too much trouble for her. Room was very basic but spotlessly clean. If you can't survive without modern technology don't come here.The ancient portable tv could only receive 5 channels and wi fi didn't work anywhere in hotel. If you come to visit somewhere so beautiful It's nice to get away from it all. The evening entertainment consists of Bingo and the music caters for the more mature guests. This was a Shearings holiday and was very good value as there were trips to Inverness, Loch Ness, Fort Augustus, The Black Isles stopping off at Cromarty all included in price and Gary our driver was a fountain of knowledge with a very dry wit.

Room Tip: There are more up to date rooms with views which are more expensive but you'll still only get 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mooms4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thanks for lovely review,
Great to hear you had such a lovely time. I’ll pass on your comments to the staff you mentioned.
Hope to see you soon,
Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Went on a shearings holiday, 11 hours journey from Midlands. This hotel was by far the best shearings hotel we have visited. Dark wood panels and tartan carpets and looked like an original Scottish hotel should look. Staff were all lovely. Had a refurbished room with no shower but always plenty of hot water for a relaxing bubble bath. Food was mostly good and waitresses very good.
Walks around hotel were lovely and so was the little town of Strathpeffer. Went on a trip round Loch Ness...nearly 50 mile round trip...just to see trees. Stopped at Fort Augustus to see the locks A long day out to see almost nothing. Paid to go on trip to Ullapool...that was worth the extra £10.
Didnt care much for the entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakerboy311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks for your review.
Strathpeffer is a lovely little village with some great walks. Glad you enjoyed your stay here and the found the food and service good.
Hope to see you soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

we have just returned home from national coach tour to scotland stayed in the highland hotel.
coach driver eddy was very helpful .room large clean' good views over village'i think we must have had a recently refurbished room.114 staff could not be more helpful.food good plenty chose.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacqueline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Great to know you such a lovely holiday.
Room 114 is a lovely room with great views of the valley. Glad you enjoyed staying there and the staff looked after you well.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Have just returned from a 5 day National holiday. We stayed in this hotel 2 years ago, a lot of refurbishment has been done. Staff could not do enough for you. Alex our waiter was brilliant as was our room cleaner (can't remember her name) room 112. Food was very good, plenty of choice including chefs special every day. Room was quite large, beds clean and comfortable. In the bathroom was a wall mounted power shower. Would highly recommend this hotel,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 24Noel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks for such a lovely review.
Great to hear you such a lovely holiday.

Hope to see you again soon,

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel was nice and the food and service was good. However, the room was very hot due to unable to open window only a few inches and there was no shower in the room and an old tv with only 3 channels, plus only one elevater for the hoter

Room Tip: rooms in the back have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks for your review.

Sorry but in line with most commercial premises we have restrictors on the windows for health and safety reasons. If you had reported only having three channels on the television we would have happily retuned for you. It’s great to hear you food and service good.

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
560 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
128 reviews
2.4 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
53 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Property: Bay Highland Hotel
Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing