We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff make this place”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Booked a last minute break with Shearings for 7 nights at the highland Hotel, Strathpeffer, the hotel public rooms were very pleasant, rooms a little tired I had a single which was a wee but small but can't complain as I got a good deal.

The staff really make this place and special mention must go to Michael and Victoria in the bar, always friendly and efficient and Marius in the restaurant.

I was on the half board package and must say that the breakfasts and the dinners were excellent so well done to the kitchen staff as well.

This was an ideal base for exploring the highlands with fabulous drives to Braemar, Ballater and Balmoral, John O'Groats, Gairloch, Ullapool and Isle of Skye all within easy reach and of course Loch Ness on your doorstep. Strathpeffer itself is also a very pleasant wee town with two excellent coffee shops!

Evening entertainment was fun as well.

All in all a great week, excellent value for money and yes I will be doing more trips with Shearings!

Room Tip: Go for an upgraded room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonahIreland_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thanks for your lovely review.
It’s really kind of you mention the staff, they work really hard and it’s kind of you to take the time to mention them. I will pass on your comments.
Glad you had such a nice holiday.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 803 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Booked this hotel as part of a trip through Shearings, was a late deal as as I am a single traveller. Arrived rather late as had problems with traffic and the weather, even though it was getting on for 9pm the hotel manager greeted us on the bus bus and explained what was what and we all still got an evening meal was so worth the wait.
Was allocated the same dining room table for the duration of our stay in the hotel and the staff in there were amazing totally kept up to pace with everyone in there, I was lucky enough to have the same waitress nearly all the time, nothing was too much for her to deal with, a big thank you to Claudia.
The hotel has a great Scottish interior, fantastic staircase, was amazed to see it. I had a room on the 3rd floor at the back, the view wasn't the best but I can not and will not complain about it. The room was very big for a single I thought, had its own ensuite with a shower, I couldn't ask for more in a room.
Overall the staff in the hotel were great nothing seemed to be a problem for them even when I did the silly thing of locking my key in the room oops!! Even had all the luggage collected off the bus and taken to our rooms and collected for our return trip. I look forward to staying in this hotel again in the very near future.

Room Tip: Front room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarlFox81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thanks for lovely review.
Great to hear you had such an enjoyable holiday.
Thanks for taking the time to mention the staff, it’s really nice to know their hard work has paid off and you’ve enjoyed good service.
P.s Don’t worry about the key. It happens every day.
See you soon,
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We arrived at the Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer unexpectedly on Monday 11th August 2014 after being unable to reach the Bay Hotel Gairloch due to the road being impassable by flooding. We were treated to a very warm welcome by the manager and the receptionist who made every effort to secure us accommodation within the hotel. We were immediately impressed by the pleasant surroundings, decor and easy access for disabled guests. The food was of excellent quality and served efficiently even though the hotel was full to capacity and nothing was too much trouble for any of the dining room staff. All the public areas were clean and well maintained and the room we occupied was spacious, comfortable, clean and airy. I certainly recommend this hotel and we would certainly stay there again. Thank you to all the management and staff at the Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

We did end up fully booked on the 11th Aug but it’s great we were able to help you out.
Glad you enjoyed your unexpected stay here. Nice of you to mention you found the food excellent and the Hotel nice and clean.
It’s lovely to know that even though you hadn’t planned to stay here you would return and recommend us to your friends.
Hope to see you soon.
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The value at Shearings is very good. Location is fantastic and rooms are spacious and comfortable. Service is excellent. Laura was very helpful on reception and Uvis our waiter was superb. The entertainer Ronnie Ross is the best in Scotland in my opinion and I've been to most of the Shearings hotels in Scotland. It was worth the money just to see him. Hope we can go again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PabloMatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thanks for your lovely review.
Great to hear you had such a good time.
I’ll pass on your Comments to Uvis, Laura and Ronnie.
Looking forward to seeing you soon,
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were traveling around Scotland with my friend and were staying in this hotel for 2 nights. The reception staff (sorry, don't know that young boys name) was really nice - we arrived late evening at 6 Aug, were tired after 7 hours of non-stop drive, and hungry. Kitchen wasn't working at that time, but the receptionist was so nice, and made some sandwiches for us! That's what we really like. The staff can't be better. And its the real value of this hotel. Sorry, can't say it about our room. We paid nearly £190 for 2 nights in double room, but it wasn't worth £20 per night! The floor was old and squeaky, we could hear people upstairs walking in their room; we had to listen what our next room neighbours are talking; our bathroom was horrible with that rubber thing to connect hot and cold water taps to mix water. Will try to avoid places like this in future...

Room Tip: Check your bathroom first and ask with normal shower one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Remi2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

Summer is very busy time year us. The price you paid for the room offers a very good value for money considering it was for two people for two nights including breakfast. If you had contacted reception we would have been happy to offer you a change of room or a full refund. When our guests stay 2 nights in a room without contacting reception with any complaints we assume they are happy with the standard of accommodation. This is the case with the majority our Tripadvisor reviews.
The hoses supplied in the bathroom are for hair washing whilst using the bath. They are not designed to be showers or advertised as such.
On a positive note it’s great to the staff looked after you well and made you sandwiches to ensure you didn’t go hungry. We are happy to go out of our way to help, hopefully if you stay again you will make us aware of any problems at the time to give us a chance to resolve them.

Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

First time at the Highland Hotel Strathpefferr definitely won't be the last, beautiful scenery perfect place to stay, we visited the Moray firth dolphins, Loch Ness everywhere is just beautiful.
Nice clean very Scottish Hotel our waiter Uvis in the dining room was excellent nothing was too much trouble. Can't wait to visit again

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thanks for your lovely review.
Great to hear you enjoyed your holiday and you’ll be back. I’ll pass on your comments to Uvis.

See you soon,

Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was a coach trip and from the point of arrival it was evident it would be o.k.
1. Bags collected from coach AND taken to room.

2. A brush up and wash and down to a decent meal with good waiting staff.

3. Efficient staff, although after the first encounter things seem to go slightly to pot.
It appeared that not enough staff were on duty to ensure a smooth flow of order taking, to
delivery of courses.. On one occasion was waiting 20 minutes to place order..

4. Disappointed with bedroom, tv was from the ark, not digital, radio at bedside temperamental. bathroom was just that, no shower, hand basin and bath. Good side was there was plenty of hot water. TOP MARKS

5. Room was adequate, window rattled when closed. Excellent cleaner whoever the lady / gent was.. Top marks to them.

6. Window view not up to much, BUT from the outside it looked as if it had been transported from the Adams Family on TV.

7. This is the first time I have used Shearings and , apart from our driver , I am not unduly impressed with them.

Room Tip: Request a roomin the front if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you taking the time to leave your review.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here. I will look into your comments with my team and review as required.
Hope you’ll be back soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
416 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
153 reviews
2.4 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
58 reviews
23.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range: £48 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing