We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2011

the best shearings hotel i have stayed in . All the staffs customer service skills were excelent. Location fantastic you can get the service bus to dingwall which is worth a visit and inverness. The village is what it says it has some little walks and not so little walks it is so peacefull.The coach drivers were very good and gave plenty of information about the areas visted.The food was very nice (i do wonder when the menus are the same how the food can be horrible elsewhere) will visit this hotel again .

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jll P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agrantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2011

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt that the hotel was the best you had stayed in with Shearings – it really makes us all proud to get such feedback! We fully agree with your comments about the hotels location and accessibility – there is lots to see and do here. Our aim is excellent customer service throughout our holidays and I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations fully. I hope we will be able to welcome you back here or at another of our hotels in the future

Alastair Grantham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 803 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2011

We travelled as part of a Shearings 5-day holiday break party. The hotel is in a magnificent situation - highlighted by the fact that the ground was snow-covered. The service was first-rate, the food good, and the entertainment was what it said - entertaining. Overall, the short holiday was wonderful value for money, and we enjoyed the whole experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davepowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

SPENT 2 CHRISTMASSES AT HIGHLAND HOTEL AND WILL RETURN IN 20011..Warm, clean, friendlly staff, etertainment could not be faulted, great food and plenty of it ..

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jenifer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

The Highland hotel was great location with many local walks but also a local bus stop was not far from hotel for those who wanted a break from driving, small shopping area, but caters for your needs.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirleyreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Lovely hotel,good food ,nice warm rooms,entertainment ok.Staff were friendly and helpful.Strathpeffer is a bit isolated,but we got the local bus to Inverness which was good.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chunky0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We have just come back from 5 days at the Highland Hotel. Cannot fault it in any way. When we arrived my sister and I had been put in a double room. The young girl on the reception quickly found us a twin room on the ground floor. Considering what we paid - £94 for the whole 5 days!! the food was very acceptable and with plenty of choice. This was served by very pleasant staff who were always polite and smiling. The entertainment was adequate compared to some of the other Shearings Hotels we have visited but it was nice easy listening and everyone seemed to enjoy it. The bar staff were also pleasant and helpful as were the staff on reception - nothing was too much trouble for them. Overall the hotel is a lovely place in a stunning location, very clean - maybe needs a lick of paint here and there. Our holiday was definitely made by one of Shearings best drivers - DENNIS who was so helpful and, considering it was raining a lot last week, never left us to stand in the rain at all as some drivers do!! His main concern is for his passengers.

I recommend this hotel and hopefully if you decide to visit you will have Dennis as your driver. We would love to return sometime but there are so many others to try first.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sueejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay in this Hotel. We went with lots of warm clothing expecting to be cold at this time of year but found the hotel to be lovely and warm. The staff were very friendly and worked very very hard. There was plenty of choice in the restaurant and we again were happy with the meals. There was plenty of literature on hand of where to visit in the area. The only complaint I had was, there was no shower in our room just a bath.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Windsor9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.2 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
416 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
153 reviews
2.4 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
58 reviews
23.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range: £48 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing