We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A ray of sunshine”

RedPoppy Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: RedPoppy Restaurant is an elegant restaurant situated on the main street in Strathpeffer. Featuring a varied evening menu with exciting dishes full of flavour, there is something for everyone. The evening menu changes regularly. RedPoppy Restaurant also offers a light lunch menu featuring the ever popular RedPoppy Club sandwich as well as customer favourites chicken fillets with sweet & sour sauce and macaroni with garlic bread. RedPoppy Restaurant will seat between 50 and 60 guests and is a light, airy space with amazing paintings by local artist Nicola Macdonell.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A ray of sunshine”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A very clean and what seemed a popular restaurant with the locals. Food was outstanding and reasonably priced.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    73
    21
    12
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Well prepared food”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We liked the in town location so we could walk to the restaurant from Craigvar Guest House. Staff was good, food was well prepared.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 2boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Popped in for lunch and were pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious and freshly prepared. No sense of a microwave here. My son wanted to go back every day of our holiday.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottishgirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ullapool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our first visit ,very enpressed!. We were greated my Cherel. She was a true professional she had a warm welcome we had excellent customer service during our visit. the other staff were friendly and helpful.The dedor was a refreshing change from the usual dated scotland restraurants. I had the sea bream followed by the ruhubarb eton mess .Both very good . Richard had the lamb shank he gave it 10 out of 10. This meat was of the best quality and cooked by the chef to perfection. We live in Ullapool and will be visiting again very soon. visited 10.05.2

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gillycole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A bad day?”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We took friends out for lunch on 6th May and were very disappointed. We ordered 3 baked potatoes and 1 club sandwich. Staff were friendly enough and the place was not overly busy. We waited more than 30 minutes and had to check that our order had not been forgotten. We could not understand the reason for the delay since the food order was simple. When it came, the baked potatoes were hardly warm and the presentation of fillings and side salad was rather more basic than we have come to expect from many places where we have had light lunches.

We registered our disappointment and, in fairness to them, they deducted two of the potatoes from the bill, which we did appreciate. That said, we would rather have had better quality, especially since we had friends as our guests.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Putharjhora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RedPoppy Restaurant also viewed

Dingwall, Ross and Cromarty
Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty
 
Contin, Ross and Cromarty
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Evanton, Ross and Cromarty
Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to RedPoppy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing