We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some work”
Review of Mackay's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mackay's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Needs some work”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel is rather strange (spread across a number of buildings, all of which need some refurbishment). Check-in was chaotic (they seemed to have lost our room key), and the rooms could definitely have been cleaner and warmer (I'm not sure how well the heating would deal with a cold Scottish winter!). I also woke up the next morning with a couple of suspicious bites on the back of my legs.

There's no mobile signal and no internet connection available, so be prepared to be cut off from the world!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    131
    77
    62
    53
See reviews for
60
171
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Nice village, manageress superb, room 12 great, has a bath, a must for me. Has a lift so no trawling heavy cases. Food average. WiFi. Friendly. Pub next door, convenience store opposite. Will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebesttaxilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of an Urquhart's coach trip. The hotel has some connection with the company. The setting and the staff are fine but there is room for improvement. Some people didn't like the fact that they had to go outside in the rain to reach the bar and other facilities. The worst thing was the constantly scalding hot water. As coach parties often include a number of elderly and disabled people, it is only a matter of time before someone gets burnt. No proper shower in our room, just a rubber thing with bits of plastic falling off. Now even the scummiest of third world hotels usually manages to provide a proper shower. The walls were thin and the remote for the TV was not working.

We were all crammed into a corner of the dining room, while a large conservatory area was left empty. Presumably this was for the convenience of the waiting staff. It became uncomfortably hot and stuffy as well as being noisy and cramped. The food was adequate, we never went hungry.

The bars and lounges could be excellent if they were properly furnished and decorated, but at the moment they are uncomfortable and unwelcoming.

However, the spa and swimming pool were excellent, and the gym was very well equipt. There were showers and one of them worked properly.

This place is quite adequate for a coach trip as you only spend a few nights there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mecanopsis118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Strathpeffer hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for Runrig's 40th and were very disappointed. We were in the main building Room was small, single beds were small in width,Television did not work, the shower was a rubber hose that you attached to the taps. If anyone else was using water the pressure dropped so much you were left with a soapy head with no way of rinsing. In the end I used the plastic cup to rinse. Second morning I tried the leisure centre and the shower almost scalded me because there was no thermostatic control on the shower.
Breakfast was VERY average. Did not try lunch or evening meal as it seemed very boring. Bar closed at 11pm ! what a chance missed all those happy Runrig fans desperate on some sustenance after 3 hours jumping up and down in a field.
The hotel needs updating BIG STYLE.

Room Tip: Check the shower out before accepting the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hearthammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Thankfull was staying here for work so just needed somewhere to sleep. Stayed in the 'spa' section of hotel but whole place was very dated, complaints included a worse than useless shower, wafer thin walls, tiny wall mounted tv and wifi that never connected.... Didn't dare try the restaurant for evening meal!

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Very disappointing stay in Mackays hotel last weekend, Hotel was full of guests going to a RunRig Concert on the Saturday night so all looking for a good weekend away, and the Hotel could have really made the most of the opportunity, but both nights they closed the bar at 11pm even for residents.

The breakfast was poor, and the evening meal so uninspiring that we didn't even try it !

The facilities were basic, I cant remember the last time I saw a rubber shower which fitted to the taps of the bath!!, the quilt cover was a dirty cream so didn't even brighten up quite a drab room, which for some reason had a buzzing noise all night !! had a TV in the room which didn't work, so all in all very disappointing

Room Tip: if you want a good room, choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Managed to get a last minute midweek break. Stayed in the Travel lodge part of the hotel. Was given a family room. Nice large modern en suite room. Beds were the comfiest I have ever encountered out of all the hotels I have ever stayed in. Manageress was professional in all the dealings I had with her, as were her staff. Everything about the hotel and leisure suite was explained on arrival. Dinner and breakfast were more than adequate, not 5* but then nor is the hotel or the prices. I would stay here again for a mid week break.

Room Tip: Travel lodge annex part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryandMerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.1 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strathpeffer Hotel
Strathpeffer Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Achilty Hotel
Achilty Hotel
#2 of 2 in Contin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackay's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackay's Hotel

Property: Mackay's Hotel
Address: The Square, Strathpeffer IV14 9DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackay's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mackay's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackays Hotel Strathpeffer
Mackay's Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing