We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B & B on our trip”
Review of Craigvar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craigvar
Ranked #1 of 9 Strathpeffer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best B & B on our trip”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I cannot recommend highly enough this wonderful bolt hole in Strathpeffer, marks out of 10 would be 20!! The bedroom, bathroom and facilities are excellent. Margaret has decorated the house with love and it shows with beautiful touches everywhere.
What a joy to stay here. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balance4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
66
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HAVANT
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We spent one night in this property and our welcome was wonderful. We couldn't have asked for more - Margaret even served us a tray of tea in her beautiful sitting room when we arrived. Our accomodation was described as a "twin room" it was more than that it was a suite. The bedroom was situated on a corner very light and airy with beatiful rooms, we also had a dressing room and a fabulous full sized shower room leading off of it. Breakfast was of a high standard - would recommend unreservedly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We spent one night in Strathpeffer on our tour of the Highlands and Margaret was true delight! Her B&B right in the middle of Strathpeffer is beautifully maintained, the room was extremely spacious and very tastefully decorated, and the bathroom was HUGE! Margaret is a lovely host and is full of great recommendations (her recommendation of Cafe India in Dingwall was a hit!). Parking on location is a big plus too. The breakfast was wonderful. Wonderfully firm beds and fabulous sheets! We highly recommend Craigvar.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuhltschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Margaret runs a really nice B&B here. Craigvar is a beautiful house, very cosy and warm. The room is very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. We were lucky to stay here, there was a late cancellation and we managed to book the same day. Could not have been any better! Just a shame about the restaurant next door, Red Poppy, could be so much better... but anyway, this is for another review. Craigvar: 5 Stars! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xiribita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outer London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Only stayed one night; wish I had booked for longer. Beautifully decorated and maintained Georgian home. I stayed in the Beige Room. Sweet sherry supplied on dressing table.. which was a welcome surprise!! Friendly and welcoming owner who gave great advice re where to find a place to eat. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and presented... everything about Craigvar is just excellent and I can't recommend it highly enough. Beautiful spa town with lots of interesting things to do and see in the area... only 40 mins from Inverness airport and also excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singleparentfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The best B and B you could get from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you are welcomed and nothing is to much trouble. We stayed in the blue room the bathroom was large and roomy the bed was comfortable.The shortbread finger with the coffee in the morning was a nice touch. When we asked about a place to eat that evening the phoned the restuarant next door to book us a table. The menu for breakfast is to been seen with a selection of fine food from a, full Scotish breakfast to fish from hagis and black pudding all cooked to your order. Will be back . Thanks again for making it a great stay

Room Tip: stayed in blue room would stay in again
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

A really great place to stay with an exceptionally clean and spacious room and friendly and helpful staff. Margaret greeted us by name when we arrived and even offered to help carry our luggage.

We have no hesitation in recommending this B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing place to stay. Centrally located for easy walking to explore the town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bills_pix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.1 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
5.8 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigvar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigvar

Property: Craigvar
Address: Craigvar The Square, Strathpeffer IV14 9DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craigvar is a distinctive house offering luxury accommodation and wonderful food and is in the centre of Strathpeffer, an outstanding conservation village in the Highlands of Scotland. It was built in 1839 and has been offering hospitality more or less continuously ever since. Resident host Margaret Scott aims to give all guests a comfortable, enjoyable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Craigvar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigvar Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing