We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Craigvar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craigvar
Ranked #1 of 9 Strathpeffer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

From the opening of the front door and being greeted by Margaret we felt at home and this welcome stayed with us. Our front room over looking the square was impeccably it had everything you wanted. This was one of the best rooms I have ever stay in on par with some top London hotels. The breakfast menu was excellent also car parking right outside the door. Over all a first class stay THANK YOU MARGARET.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAWBEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

I agree with all the previous positive reviews. We really enjoyed our stay at Craigvar. Our room was impeccably clean and tastefully furnished. Our hosts were welcoming and friendly, not at all intrusive and produced and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marybe21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed for one night in the Georgian B&B. The room was quite big and furnished with period furnitures. Very comfortable bed and we slept really well.

Nice greeting upon arrival, a tray of tea and cake, information about things to see & do, where to eat. Parking right in front of the Building.

Great home cooked breakfast the next morning, everything a great B&B should be.

Again very good information on where to go next, what is of interest in the area. We love this, it makes your holiday so much more interesting.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernweh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Bathrobes, sweet sherry and a fantastic bathroom in both rooms booked by my family. Apart from supporting Ross County, the owners could not do enough. Wedding guests, who were staying in other hotels in Strathpeffer, could not believe what Craigvar offered. Most had said, along with my family, that they would not hesitate to book the Craigvar. Breakfast menu was excellent and covered all tastes. Will definately return to this Guest House.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at Craigvar for a wedding. We stayed in the blue room. The owners couldn't be nicer. They add their personal touches to the room including sherry. Room and bathroom was lovely and clean. Breakfast menu offered a great selection. Breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked and my husband said the black pudding was the best he had ever tasted. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I cannot recommend highly enough this wonderful bolt hole in Strathpeffer, marks out of 10 would be 20!! The bedroom, bathroom and facilities are excellent. Margaret has decorated the house with love and it shows with beautiful touches everywhere.
What a joy to stay here. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balance4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We spent one night in this property and our welcome was wonderful. We couldn't have asked for more - Margaret even served us a tray of tea in her beautiful sitting room when we arrived. Our accomodation was described as a "twin room" it was more than that it was a suite. The bedroom was situated on a corner very light and airy with beatiful rooms, we also had a dressing room and a fabulous full sized shower room leading off of it. Breakfast was of a high standard - would recommend unreservedly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.1 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
602 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
410 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
772 reviews
16.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigvar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigvar

Address: Craigvar The Square, Strathpeffer IV14 9DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Strathpeffer
Price Range: £98 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craigvar is a distinctive house offering luxury accommodation and wonderful food and is in the centre of Strathpeffer, an outstanding conservation village in the Highlands of Scotland. It was built in 1839 and has been offering hospitality more or less continuously ever since. Resident host Margaret Scott aims to give all guests a comfortable, enjoyable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Craigvar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigvar Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing