We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best B & B i've been to”
Review of Craigvar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craigvar
Ranked #1 of 9 Strathpeffer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2009

I've stayed in a few B & B's but this is leagues above the rest. Margaret is a very kind and welcoming host and the rooms are lovely and cosy and warm (a good thing as it was -7c most of the time we were there).
You can come and go as you please but make sure you are in for the breakfast! 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redrazors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2008

From Margaret's warm welcome to her lovely breakfast, the stay at Craigvar was enjoyable. The Blue Room was spacious, spotless and very comfortable. Lots of little details (like sherry and biscuits in the room) helped to make it exceptional. Strathpeffer is a darling village and would make a good (and peaceful) base for traveling around the Inverness area. Our only wish is that we could have been there longer.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIZZ0U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2006

This is a beautiful B&B with a lovely owner in a great location. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner, and she had put some lovely little touches in the room to make it feel like home.

Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girl_from_the_Burgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2006

we stayed in the blue room, we especially liked the victorian bath - one complaint though - carpet in the bathroom is never a good idea, its just asking to get soaked.

breakfast was good and the hosts were polite and kind.

excellent area, right on the square, beautiful to walk around.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2005

Right across from the square in the historic Victorian spa town of Strathpeffer, you cannot beat the location. Our room was huge: a separate dressing area, huge bathroom and sitting area, along with two twin beds. There were free snacks (fruit, crisps) and complimentary sherry in the room. Beautifully maintained. A delicious breakfast. For the price it is downright luxurious. An added bonus: Saturday night in the summer the local pipe band and Highland dancers perform right outside the front door! It is perfect and not to be missed.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TorontoView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2005

I have travelled far and wide, this is the best ever. Friendly, informative owners, reasonable rates, spacious luxury rooms and a fine breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Verydissapointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank annegainlecaplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigvar, Owner at Craigvar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.1 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
810 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#7 of 7 in Strathpeffer
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
787 reviews
0 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
421 reviews
0 mi away
Holly Lodge & Cottage
Holly Lodge & Cottage
#2 of 9 in Strathpeffer
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigvar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigvar

Address: Craigvar The Square, Strathpeffer IV14 9DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Strathpeffer
Price Range: £96 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craigvar is a distinctive house offering luxury accommodation and wonderful food and is in the centre of Strathpeffer, an outstanding conservation village in the Highlands of Scotland. It was built in 1839 and has been offering hospitality more or less continuously ever since. Resident host Margaret Scott aims to give all guests a comfortable, enjoyable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Craigvar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigvar Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing