We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Chalets Caravan and Camping
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A short stay at this site. Secluded and next to the River- people with young children be aware of this!!. Toilet block being upgraded so didn't use as we have our own in the Caravan. downside of this site is the tricky steep entrance, those with long units be aware of this. owners very friendly and accommodating. Suitable site for a stopover when touring this area. We were given a discount on the price because of the toilet block upgrade

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Riverside Chalets Caravan and Camping
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

we spent two weeks at this site after booking well in advance, we took a tunnel tent but the site provides for vans and motorhomes as well as electric hookups for tents, the site itself is situated centrally within easy driving distance of lots of attractions and places to visit. on the site itself, the setting is incredible with the river running next to the site and the mountain as a back drop its stunning. the shower block is basic and regularly cleaned, it does everything it needs too with not a bare wire in sight, there is a playground on site for when the kids get tired of playing by the river and lots of room for them to run around safely on the site itself. What really made this site stand out for us was the staff, they can not do enough to help there guests, with regular visits and a friendly chat always available, they even went the extra mile and arranged a local piper to play for my daughters birthday and there is also other live music from some of the other campers round the communal camp fire. this is probably the best camp site i have stayed at and i would highly, highly recommend it to anyone considering stopping here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crashman492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

we brought the family up from Norfolk for a fortnight. the site is nicely sited for all the local attractions if your willing to drive to them. the site itself is beautifully sited and well maintained with the facilitys cleaned and serviced daily. although the shower block is basic it is functional and provides all you need. the scenery is stunning and the river is lovley. the staff are what really made our stay stand out, they could not do enough to help and any issues they sorted them as soon as possiable, on my daughters birthday they arranged for a local piper to play for us while we had a bbq and fire in the communial area by the river. I would highly recomend this site to anyone its incredable.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank tonesforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stopped at this site last week in our campervan and found it disappointing to say the least. The condition of the showers could only be descibed as derelict and dangerous with open wiring in the ladies shower . The park itself akin to an uncut field with the staff playing on a lawnmower and achieving nothing.At £20 a night I feel that it let down a beautiful village and our tourist industry badly . This review is the first,good or bad , that I have ever posted

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank norman w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We had a wonderful stay in the Isle of Skye Chalet ,which sleeps 4 and has lovely views of the river and mountains.Our stay was very comfortable, the rooms are very clean and we had heaters in bedrooms, an electric fire and comfy 3 piece suite in the lounge area.
The kitchen is well equipped and ideal for self- catering. There was a welcome pack of biscuits, tea bags, coffee, milk and sugar and it was nice to have toilet rolls and cleaning products. The children were delighted to find board games and DVDS ready waiting for them however the weather was so nice they played outdoors all day.
The is a village shop close by and is well stocked and has freezer with ice cream pizzas burgers oven chips etc
Hopefully, next time we go we will stay longer as there is lots to do and see near by.
The owners are very friendly and helpful.
The campsite has a few electric hook ups and is nice and flat for camping. The toilet / shower / laundry block is clean and tidy, but we just had a look as we may consider camping instead of hiring a chalet again there in this summer.
This site will not suit people who want a rowdy clubhouse / play area with fruit machines etc but if you want a nice quiet base to stay and explore this is the place for you.

Room Tip: All the chalets looked great.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7_Scottish_Ladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Riverside Caravan Park, Contin. From the warm and friendly welcome to the clean and spacious chalet (with a wonderfully comfortable bed), I couldn't have asked for more. As the name suggests, a lovely river flows past with a stunning view of the Highlands. Fantastic location in the heart of the highlands - thoroughly enjoyed my visit to Urquhart Castle too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fred24588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed in the Cairngorms (2 bedroom bungalow) on Friday 16th and Saturday 17th November 2012. Total cost for two nights was £76. The owners have recently taken over the site and are refurbishing the chalets. We were a party of three and the 3 bed bungalow wasn't ready yet but they put another bed in the 2 bed chalet for us (which was fine).

I had concerns about whether it would be warm enough, but the owners put extra heaters in each room and the bungalow was nice and cosy. The decor is new and modern and had all the facilities we could want - clean bathroom with hot shower, modern kitchen appliances and satellite tv with DVD.

The electricity is paid for by card but these were provided by the owners and included in the price - much better value than the £29 we were charged for a similar sized house on Skye in June !

We didn't get to meet the owners but the booking was easy and entry to the house arranged over the phone. We liked the welcome pack and the fact that basics were provided eg. the first pint of milk and washing up liquid - all things which are pain to find if you turn up without them. The chalet we were staying in was a the top of the site with a good car park and lots of turning space but consequently I can't say anything about the rest of the site down by the river and we didn't use any of the other facilities eg. toilet block/showers etc.

The location is in the middle of Contin just off the main road so is easy to get to and all destinations are within easy reach. We used Contin as a base to climb some more Munros and within 30-45 minutes you can get to Glen Affric, Glen Cannich, Glen Strathfarrar - we chose to go north to Glen Carron.

The Scottish Highlands are on your doorstep but civilisation in the shape of Contin, Strathpeffer, Conor Bridge and Inverness are all within a short drive.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArchieLeach11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.0 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
783 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#6 of 7 in Strathpeffer
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inver Coille
Inver Coille
#2 of 2 in Invermoriston
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Chalets Caravan and Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Chalets Caravan and Camping

Address: Contin, Strathpeffer IV14 9ES, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Strathpeffer
Price Range: £13 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Chalets and Caravan park situated in the Scottish highland offering various self catering accomodation and Touring caravan , camping options.Ideally situated to explore Loch Ness , Aviemore Isle of Skye and the Highlands , excellent walking and fishing avaiiable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Chalets Caravan And Camping Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing