We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two day break”
Review of Ben Wyvis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Two day break”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My wife and i have just returned from a two day break at Ben Wyvis and we have to thank all the staff for a very enjoyable stay. We could not fault the hotel in any way from the time we arrived until the time we left all members of staff went the extra mile to please .Our room was very cosy clean and comfortable meals were first class and expertly served we would certainly like to return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyholidays48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    154
    121
    92
    78
See reviews for
64
265
31
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for the music weekend break last weekend and it was excellent. The hotel itself maybe a bit tired but was spotlessly clean. The staff were all very hard working and could not do enough for you. The food was five star quality really first class. The guy doing the Johnny Cash tribute and Tom Scott who did the Neil Diamond tribute were excellent and kept an appreciative crowd going. A special mention to Bill from Turriff who made our weekend with his amazing dancing. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCollings, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear John M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for our team. I have passed your comment on to the team. I appreciate your comment regarding the hotel being tired, I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be spotlessly clean.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the entertainment and we hope to welcome you back to the Ben Wyvis very soon.

Best Wishes,

Margaret Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This was our third short break at this hotel and by far the best. We stayed for two nights for a conference - the facilities are excellent. We had lovely food at every meal and for refreshment breaks and the staff were amazing. They certainly made the break, lovely and polite, happy welcoming manner and so helpful! We cannot impress how important staff are and the difference they can make to a stay. We will definitely be recommending the hotel as it looks better than ever following a recent spruce up and the staff made our stay. They were a real credit to the owners.
Well done!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samthemanguiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCollings, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Samthemanguiness,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave feedback for our team. As always, I have passed your comment on to the team who were thrilled be your kind words. The team works hard to offer the best service to all of our guests and kind comments such as yours further encourage them.

We hope to welcome you back to the Ben Wyvis very soon.

Best Wishes,

Margaret Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting relatives in the Highlands. Our room was quite small and a little dated but nice and warm, the furniture needed upgrading and the TV was more the size of a PC monitor. The bathroom, again was dated but there was plenty of hot water to fill the bath. Our room was at the front of the hotel and had lovely views of Strathpeffer and the mountains. The hotel is very old so I suppose one has to expect this, however, the dining room, 'ballroom' and residents toilets, were very grand.

Our break included breakfast and evening meal and the food could not be faulted, our breakfast was cooked to order, except for the last morning when the hotel had a coach party in, (they had left before we had our breakfast), when it was buffet style, but it was still very good. We really looked forward to our 3 course evening meal and it never failed to delight. The serving staff were lovely especially the waitresses Bertu and Dorca.

One downside is the music that was played when we had dinner in the evening, although not loud it was very modern and inappropriate for the occasion, more like 'club' music, believe me, we are no prudes when it comes to music and can rip a dance floor up with the latest songs but the music didn't mesh with the elegant setting over dinner.

Our stay included a Rod Stewart tribute night, which was very good but a shame that there were not many residents so the audience was a little thin on the ground but we enjoyed ourselves and had a few dances :)

All in all we would go back, everyone was very warm and welcoming, the receptionist was lovely (local Scottish lass - didn't catch her name), we had many chats with her, the staff were warm and the food amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walki_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCollings, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Walki_1,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comment for our team. I have passed your comments on to the team who were delighted to hear your feedback, especially Berta, Dorka and Gemma (Scottish lass on reception).

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I take on board your comments regarding the size of the TVs and general tiredness of some areas of the hotel. The Ben Wyvis is a fantastic old building which takes a lot of care, our team are working hard to maintain and restore the beauty and character of the hotel. Regarding your comments on the music choice in the dining areas, I completely agree and this is an areas we are currently investing in.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ben Wyvis hotel very soon.

Best Wishes,

Margaret Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Quaint historic hotel that was once a Victorian grand old lady, now 128 years old. High ceilings in the rooms and approximately 20 ft ceiling in the main downstairs area. Some of the floors creak, some have sagged but the atmosphere is great. The effort to maintain this place must be huge but a visit is well worth it as long as modern sleek gloss is not your preference in accommodation.
The plumbing is quaint and different; the room clean and tidy and comfortable.
We were on a tour and stayed 2 nights. Dinner on the first night was superb and possibly the best in-house meal we have had so far.
Breakfast was a little chaotic as nobody seemed to monitor what was happening and they would run out of eggs or toast and more would not be ordered until someone finally noticed the queues waiting at the bain-maries.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the front with a view. If not get out a walk the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCollings, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Oldngrey,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for our team. I am very proud to work in such a wonderful old building with so much character and history. You are right, the maintenance is huge. We have a very hard working and skilled maintenance person who works tirelessly and sympathetically to keep the Victorian building in all its glory.

I have passed your comments on to our team, the kitchen team were delighted by the recognition and our restaurant team have promised to work hard to improve the service they offer. Constructive feedback, such as yours helps to highlight areas of possible improvement.

I hope you enjoyed your tour of Britain and this has inspired you to return one day.

Kind Regards,

Margaret Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aboyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

we stayed 3 nights at the Ben Wyvis for a music weekend which I must add the band "GLITZ" from Aberdeen were excellent.also support from IAN RUSSEL .
Our rooms were very comfortable ,very clean and warm. hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming cannot do enough for you. the food was very good as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5apots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCollings, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear 5apots,

I am delighted to read your feedback from your recent stay, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. As always, I have passed your comments on to our team, who were also delighted be your kind words.

From the success of our spring entertainment evening we are hoping to host more in the autumn, these will be advertised on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ben Wyvis Hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,

Margaret Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night with a tour. When we reached our assigned room at 6 PM the bedclothes were on the floor and it looked like someone was already occupying it. They told us there were NO other double rooms. We had to move to a twin bed room until after dinner while they cleaned our assigned room. No apology either. The hotel is old, creaky and rundown and service in the dining room is slow too. I would not return.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MoreTravelFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCollings, General Manager at Ben Wyvis Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear MoreTravelFun,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for our team. I am sorry to hear that the service you received was not to our usual standard. I have passed your comment on to the team on duty during your stay. Out team are always eager to hear feedback and improve the service they offer.

I appreciate the hotel is tired in some areas, our team are working tirelessly to improve these and keep the Victorian building in good shape whilst being sympathetic to the age and character of the hotel.

I hope that in the future to change your mind and return to the Ben Wyvis to allow us to restore your faith in the service we strive to offer all of our guests.

Kind Regards,

Margaret Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Strathpeffer hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
24.0 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Wyvis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Wyvis Hotel

Property: Ben Wyvis Hotel
Address: On the A834 Dingwall To Contin/Garve Road, Strathpeffer IV14 9DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Wyvis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ben Wyvis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Wyvis Strathpeffer
Hotel Ben Wyvis
Ben Wyvis Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing