We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID”
Review of Ben Wyvis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Bray-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“AVOID”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our classic car rally around the highlands had selected this hotel for a 2 night stay for some 140 participants and they must now deeply regret that decision. The hotel was dirty, shabby, out of date and with a staff (some of whom barely spoke English) inept and poorly trained.
The food was of the school dinners type, totally devoid of flair and culinary skills and it was no surprise to have a waiter lean over me to serve my neighbour, rather than take the trouble to walk round.
The service at dinner was decidedly shoddy and reminded me of a Polish truck stop.
A complaint to the lady Manager requesting an alternative room, such as the rather smart double room shown on their website, was to no avail, as I was told that they had only refurbished 3 rooms and they were already occupied. I showed her the 3 photographs I had taken in my room and she expressed surprise, shock and concern. One photo shows the filth in the corner of my bathroom. Another shows the dirty shelf on which I was expected to put my toothbrush and toiletries and the final photo shows the electrical connection of the room telephone and the wine gum of a previous guest. I told her that her establishment made me ashamed to be a Scot, as foreign tourists would judge my country on this dreadful hotel.
To spend a further night in this filthy and sub standard hostelry was not acceptable, so together with 3 friends, we moved 2 miles down the road to the wonderful Coul House Hotel in Contin, where the proud owners Stuart & Susannah Macpherson run a small hotel to immaculate standards, with cuisine that would not be out of place in a Michelin star restaurant. The change was almost emotional and once again, I was proud to be a Scot.

Room Tip: I really could not say, other than to avoid room numbers 1 and 2 which were vile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsangster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    154
    121
    92
    78
See reviews for
64
265
31
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Attended a wedding at this hotel on Saturday. Being in the hotel industry I understand that there are complications and delays but this was ridiculous! There was a certain beer that wasn't even in stock running out two days previously, there was one man on the bar for a while then another two appeared. Service was extremely slow and they were going into the back room to pour the gins which I was weary about. They completely ran out of peroni before 8:30. 5 minutes later there was no ice. So everyone was getting warm drinks as they were using warm flat coke and lemonade large bottles. Towards the end of the night one of the boys behind the bar was becoming quite rude to the customers and advising them where the queue for the bar was (could have been done in a much better manner) . My problem is not with the bar staff apart from that one situation. My problem is with management, the hotel knew about this wedding, there was no where near enough stock ready for it. Massive lack of organisation on the hotels part as many of the guests were disappointed with the service. I understand that there are many functions on through the week but people book events so that the hotel is prepared. Thankfully the bride and groom had a great day and didn't have to approach the bar.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Experienced H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Strathpeffer hotels

Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A striking Victorian hotel in a lovely surrounding. Had a spacious front facing room which was clean and comfortable. The TV needs updated but other than that its all good. The choice for both dinner and breakfast is good and the quality of food is excellent. The service is spot on and all of the staff are very polite and friendly. Very good value for money and i would highly recommend a visit. Ideal base to climb Ben Wyvis and visit Rogie Falls.

Room Tip: Request a spacious front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent 2 days at the Ben Wyvis and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel is very old with all of the old world charm that you would expect of a hotel echoing the Victorian style. The dining rooms and sitting rooms are beautifully and elegantly furnished and you can easily sense that you have gone back in time to a scene from an old Agatha Christie film set.

Now, the reason for the long description above is so that you have no illusions about the rooms, They are clean, tidy and functional, but they are not modern. The rooms are not as spacious as most modern hotels and the plumbing and shower facilities are of a much old style. However, for the pleasure of staying in hotel that allows one to escape reality to a wonderful by-gone era, forget the size of the room and enjoy the total experience.

Room Tip: A lot of the floors, particularly the corridors, are not level. If you find yourself bumping off t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stayzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

went with a friend to the Motown Glitz weekend and we had a super time dancing the night away, the food was 1st class with a good choice of menu for dinner, also breakfast was good with Stornoway black pudding on the menu. Our room was large with a double and a single bed
and all the usual facilities. We were well looked after and would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel.

Room Tip: rooms at the front have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bicardiStornoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

In early April 6 of us stayed at the hotel, the rooms were spacious and clean and the meals failry decent. Overall we had a good stay however the service was erratic and often poor. We quickly noticed that some members of staff (I dont wish to be sexist but it was the male members of staff) were hard workers and efficient whilst other were much less so. I was clear to us that there was a lack of good organistation and management which was a pitty because there is a lot of potentail in this hotel and if the service is lacking it will never be achieved.

Room Tip: Romms to the front are best, we were lucky as the view from our front room was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baxt304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My wife and i have just returned from a two day break at Ben Wyvis and we have to thank all the staff for a very enjoyable stay. We could not fault the hotel in any way from the time we arrived until the time we left all members of staff went the extra mile to please .Our room was very cosy clean and comfortable meals were first class and expertly served we would certainly like to return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyholidays48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
24.0 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Wyvis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Wyvis Hotel

Property: Ben Wyvis Hotel
Address: On the A834 Dingwall To Contin/Garve Road, Strathpeffer IV14 9DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Wyvis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ben Wyvis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Wyvis Strathpeffer
Hotel Ben Wyvis
Ben Wyvis Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing