We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired old hotel where customers come second”
Review of Ben Wyvis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tired old hotel where customers come second”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Checked in at 5pm to be told that dinner was fully booked and we would have to eat elsewhere. Next morning left sitting in bar while they relaid tables for breakfast and then forgotten about for 10 minutes until I went in to enquire what was happening. No eggs or tomatoes left at 9.15 although service was until 9.30. "They won't be making any more" Tried to order coffee at 11.30 but "no-one is available to make it". Car blocked in car park by staff cars. When my friend checked in to his room the window had been left open and the television was sitting in a puddle of water. "It will soon dry out". Free WiFi but don't know anyone who could make it work. No battery in television remote. Bar supposed to be open till 11pm but shutters slammed down at 10.25 and told we should go and find the night porter. Why would anyone want to come back. Hotel obviously relies on bus tours for business and the solo holiday maker is perhaps more of a nuisance.

Room Tip: Make sure you avoid room 5. This opens straight off reception and you will be woken by staff arrivin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    154
    121
    92
    78
See reviews for
64
265
31
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This beautiful old building is not the Hilton but has character, quirkiness, history and is just a delight. Built in the 1880's it could use a few little finishes but I just loved staying there. No we didn't have a double bed but twin beds but the room was reasonably large, had a kettle with tea and coffee and biscuits supplied, a hair dryer and was clean. The staff work really hard and are very pleasant. We had dinner and two breakfasts and they were tasty. If you plan on eating your dinner there let the staff know in advance. Good little bar and lovely gardens. During the war this old Dame was used as an infirmary and prison.
WiFi is free and although stated as everywhere, we could only use it in the main areas downstairs.
No AC.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very different. Just take it as it comes. This is an old interesting place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We only stayed here 1 night thank goodness, what a gloomy, dull hotel well past its sell by date this hotel could benefit from a complete overhall especially the windows which were falling to bits. Scalding hot water with a shower which was almost impossible to adjust I was left with the mixer on/off tap in my hand when I tried to turn it off, ended up having very hot water pouring down I had to jump out very quickly before I ended up suffering scalding burns
The breakfast on the other hand was really good good quality bread toasted beautifully excellant tea,coffee, along with a large selection of fruit, cereals and egg, bacon etc
If you are walking up the drive after dark ensure you have a torch as it is pitch black no lighting at all we had to walk very slowly to ensure we stayed on the drive
Pity its so lacking in so many things as the hotel must have been stunning at some point

Room Tip: The wifi in the room was quick and no break up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June201123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Strathpeffer hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a lovely old victorian hotel which has been refurbished to a good standard it offered good value for money The rooms were comfortable, the meals were good catering well for vegetarians. The staff were pleasant and helpful at all times. Strathpeffer is an ideal base for visiting Inverness, Ullapool and areas in between.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have beautiful views of the gardens and hills beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 66Charlie2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a part of a walking holiday in the north, staying here for 3 nights. A nice room with a really nice view of the mountain we were to climb on day 2 of our stay. The staff could not have been more helpful and all seemed eager to ensure we felt looked after. The food was also great with the venison casserole a dish to savour. A great centre for sight seeing also, we really enjoyed our stay and would go back. A sure sign of a job well done.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was our final night of a week long holiday visiting some of the western islands and highlands before driving back to our east coast home, the location was well chosen and offers a real look back in time at Victorian Grandeur, folk with a liking for timeless appreciation will enjoy this hotel, our mountain view room was perfect for gazing across to Ben Wyvis the mountain however that is another story.
We would and probably will use this hotel again, the staff were all very well mannered and welcoming
Why would anybody come to such a location to watch TV yet alone Football - Grampian travel?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinP1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on the way back from Orkney. I had previously stayed in this hotel 6 years ago for 3 nights.

Then it was a little dated, there was a funny smell along part of the first floor corridor, my single room was a bit indifferent and the food was rather poor. In addition, the hotel was plagued with two foreign coach parties and a very noisy wedding on one of the nights which led to very slow service. Although the public rooms looked fine and the gardens were very nice.

This time it was rather different. I got a good single room at the front overlooking Ben Wyvis, well fitted out, wi-fi has been installed and was very good once you'd worked out their system, the food was excellent as was the service. The public rooms are excellent and very spacious. OK some of the staff are from foreign parts, but not all, and all were very polite and attentive. There was no evidence of any problems between them, as implied by an earlier review. At £65 per night dinner B & B, this was very good value. Don't forget this is only a 3 star hotel, not the 5 star it once was. The smell in the corridor had gone too (corridors still a little dated) and there were no coach parties or weddings, although they clearly still do the latter. Most of the other big hotels in this small town had at least one coach with them during my stay.

Big old hotels like this from a previous era do rely these days on coach parties and wedding guests staying for short periods. They tend to have a moderate number of good rooms for 'normal' levels of occupancy and then a whole load of others either near the back or on the upper floors which are more basic and have not been modernised for some time. I have stayed at a similar hotel in Yorkshire several times and being part of a bigger party don't expect too much of the room quality. Room sizes in this hotel vary widely.

If you are a normal visitor and are fortunate to stay there when there are no coach parties or wedding guests, then you will have an enjoyable stay as I did, with good value for money. If you are part of a coach party or a wedding guest, or are unlucky to be there when coaches or weddings are there, then what you get might be a little less than this.

Strathpeffer is a pleasant little spa town, the only one in Scotland, with some interesting spa-era buildings. Not really much to see in the town, only than the Childhood museum (quite good). Also beware that if you choose not to dine in at the Ben Wyvis, there is only one restaurant that opens in the evening, and which is closed on a couple of nights. Whilst the other hotels have inviting menus, and accept non-residents, see the note above about coach parties. The town is a good place to explore Inverness and its environs, the Black Isle, or to take the scenic rail trip from nearby Dingwall to the Kyle of Lochalsh.

Rather saddened to hear that the hotel has put forward plans for developing family lodges in the gardens. This would be a mistake and would spoil one of the hotel's best assets.

However, I enjoyed my stay here and subject to the above comments would happily recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front on the first floor. Ask them how big the room is. Ask them whether any coac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
24.0 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Wyvis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Wyvis Hotel

Property: Ben Wyvis Hotel
Address: On the A834 Dingwall To Contin/Garve Road, Strathpeffer IV14 9DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Wyvis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ben Wyvis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Wyvis Strathpeffer
Hotel Ben Wyvis
Ben Wyvis Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing