We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Babies naming ceremony”
Review of Strathpeffer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathpeffer Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Babies naming ceremony”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was absolutely delighted at the service and venue. The food provided was amazing with everyone who attended commented on how great a selection off food there was and the taste and quality was superb. I would defiantly recommend this hotel to any tourists or as a venue for a special occasion. Couldn't be more happier !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    52
    44
    31
    35
See reviews for
30
85
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Went to this village on a sunday evening hoping to dine at the red poppy restuarant only to find it closed for the day, however we noticed signs outside the Srathpeffer hotel advertising all day food ,so in we went to give it a try. First impressions you get when entering is a very old fashioned hotel but with some more modern upgrades in the bar area where bar food is served.
A very smartly dressed friendly young lady showed us to a table and took our food and drink order and told us the food is cooked from fresh to order and be prepared for aprox 20 min waiting time. The food arrived aprox 30 mins later but to be honest it was worth the wait ,due to the food was excellent in taste and presentation,so well done to the new chef and the young lady who served us. We cant comment on the rooms due to the fact we only stayed for lunch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boa186543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just stayed for a weeks work. Great attitude from staff who will provide early or late meals around work schedule. Their new chef is an obvious coup as the meals were fantastic. Old hotel with owners' renovating as an on-going concern.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rsjohnston68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

well we have had 4 nights BB@EM I can say our stay was very good thanks to meme, douglas and there team the food was excellent and the service first class only problem is the hotel is old and parts are in need of updating our room was huge and comfortable we will stay again on our next trip dave and jose

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Staff freindly and food decent....thats where the jollies end!room was a joke .bed sheets manky and urine stains on matress.a collection of pubic hairs were genorously scattered around room and had bites on body after a shocking nights sleep.would rather sleep in car than room .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hectorbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Strathpeffer hotels

Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My friend and myself stayed in Srathpeffer near the end of March.We popped into this dreary hotel for a drink passing through some ugly decor as we entered the front door.Most unwelcoming and when I asked for a glass of wine the options were a small bottle of some poor quality wine or a glass from a BOX of the cheapest wine I have ever tasted and could not drink.My friend asked for a Tia Maria of which they had none!!It was probably just as well because the selection of drinks behind the bar looked like they had been there for a long time as the hotel did not appear to have many if any guests staying there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TESS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire,Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Our stay in this hotel was a very pleasant surprise. There are some very poor reviews and I would not have chosen to stay here had we not had two dogs. This is the only hotel in the area that welcomes dogs and they certainly did get a welcome from the very friendly staff. The public areas of the hotel are decorated as a Victorian country house. Our room had a much more modern feel with a laminate floor and a tiled bathroom. Our room was very warm and we only found out in the morning that we could open the top windows! There was a generous breakfast bar laid out, with plenty of choice of cereal, fruit juices and fruit, including freshly sliced oranges. My husband enjoyed the cooked breakfast. My only criticism would be that I'd have preferred a mixture of white and brown toast, rather than just white. We would certainly stay here again.
We did not try dinner as the wonderful Red Poppy restaurant is nearby.

Room Tip: We had room number 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MairiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathpeffer
0.1 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
5.8 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathpeffer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathpeffer Hotel

Property: Strathpeffer Hotel
Address: The Square | IV14 9DF, Strathpeffer IV14 9DW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Strathpeffer Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Strathpeffer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathpeffer Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing