We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, quiet hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carnegie Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tain
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Very friendly, quiet hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Good hotel run by very friendly people. The room was warm and spacious, and we both slept very well as it is a quiet location. The food - both evening meal and breakfast were excellent. Even though it is located slightly out of the town, locals seemed to make the effort to go for a meal, which is very confidence-inspiring. I'd use it again on my way up to the north of Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    21
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
32
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Highlands
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I had a 3 course lunch at this hotel recently. The food was good - deep fried prawns, seafood tagliatelle & chocolate mouse. The service was very good and the atmospere was pleasant. I would recommend this hotel for food & I'm really picky!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank madones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Large group of us stated recently and although quite a basic hotel, it was very clean and the staff were excellent.
The food in the evening was really good and plenty of it too.
Desserts were fab and you could see them before choosing from the trolley. Very good all round and highly recommend. A good little bar too.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great base for exploring the north. Friendly staff with a good service. You won't go hungry here! Easily situated for walking into Tain or setting off in a vehicle.Wonderful views all around the area.

Room Tip: Just tell the staff your equirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just spent 3 nights and 4 days at Carnegie Lodge Hotel with its friendly staff, excellant choice of menu. Bedrooms were clean and tidy with a few more little extras not normally found in the average hotel, all to make you feel at home. Food was well presented and excellant and plenty of it on your plate, staff was very attentive to all your needs. Dining room had a panoramic view of the Dornoch Firth, very pleasant. Booked again for 2015, looking forward to it.

Room Tip: As my son is disabled I was given room next to exit but all rooms are ground floor so any would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have recently spent an enjoyable three nights at the Carnegie Lodge Tain.
This hotel ticks all the boxes.The food was of a very high standard served by the smartly dressed and friendly staff. The owners Derek and Heather Wynne couldn't have been been kinder we received a very warm welcome on our arrival even being offered food and refreshments despite the late hour. When Derek discovered I played golf he offered me a game at his course The Royal Dornoch Golf Club which I gladly accepted.
The rooms and hotel are very clean the scenery beautiful but above all the friendlyness of the of the staff and owners did it for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtonhill, Scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for one night in April 2014 and were booked in quickly and shown to our room. The decor and floorcovering in the room was in need of a freshen up but the facilities were fine and the bed was comfortable. The soundproofing was virtually non-existent as we could hear the people in the next room debating if they would dine early or watch the Antiques Roadshow first!

If you're dining in the evening make sure you bring a big appetite as the portions are huge. The menu is extensive with plenty of choice for all tastes. The view over the Dornoch Firth from the dining room is beautiful.

Not realising the portion sizes, we decided to have starters and we've never seen such a huge serving of pate in a restaurant before. The complimentary sorbet before the main course was a nice touch. We both opted for roast chicken and got half a chicken each on a huge bed of skirlie. There was so much we couldn't finish it. Overall the meals were excellent value for money and would have still been so if the portions were smaller.

Breakfast was very nice too and the coffee was excellent.

If the bedroom had been updated I would have no hesitation in giving Carnegie Lodge Hotel a 5 star rating.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rush2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tain
0.7 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
357 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Glenmorangie House
5.4 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnegie Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnegie Lodge Hotel

Property: Carnegie Lodge Hotel
Address: 6 Viewfield Road, Tain IV19 1NR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Tain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tain
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Carnegie Hotel Tain
Carnegie Lodge Hotel Tain, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing