We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carnegie Lodge Hotel

Carnegie Lodge Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carnegie Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tain
Knowsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The rooms were clean and the restaurant served delicious food so I would definately recommend eaating there. The staff were very friendly especially Robert. The hotel is sitauted in what seemed like the middle of a housing estate however it was very quiet at night. The town centre is about a 5 minute drive away although there is not very much to do there. Perfect for a queit relaxing one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    19
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
30
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Good hotel run by very friendly people. The room was warm and spacious, and we both slept very well as it is a quiet location. The food - both evening meal and breakfast were excellent. Even though it is located slightly out of the town, locals seemed to make the effort to go for a meal, which is very confidence-inspiring. I'd use it again on my way up to the north of Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands
Level Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I had a 3 course lunch at this hotel recently. The food was good - deep fried prawns, seafood tagliatelle & chocolate mouse. The service was very good and the atmospere was pleasant. I would recommend this hotel for food & I'm really picky!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank madones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Large group of us stated recently and although quite a basic hotel, it was very clean and the staff were excellent.
The food in the evening was really good and plenty of it too.
Desserts were fab and you could see them before choosing from the trolley. Very good all round and highly recommend. A good little bar too.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great base for exploring the north. Friendly staff with a good service. You won't go hungry here! Easily situated for walking into Tain or setting off in a vehicle.Wonderful views all around the area.

Room Tip: Just tell the staff your equirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just spent 3 nights and 4 days at Carnegie Lodge Hotel with its friendly staff, excellant choice of menu. Bedrooms were clean and tidy with a few more little extras not normally found in the average hotel, all to make you feel at home. Food was well presented and excellant and plenty of it on your plate, staff was very attentive to all your needs. Dining room had a panoramic view of the Dornoch Firth, very pleasant. Booked again for 2015, looking forward to it.

Room Tip: As my son is disabled I was given room next to exit but all rooms are ground floor so any would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have recently spent an enjoyable three nights at the Carnegie Lodge Tain.
This hotel ticks all the boxes.The food was of a very high standard served by the smartly dressed and friendly staff. The owners Derek and Heather Wynne couldn't have been been kinder we received a very warm welcome on our arrival even being offered food and refreshments despite the late hour. When Derek discovered I played golf he offered me a game at his course The Royal Dornoch Golf Club which I gladly accepted.
The rooms and hotel are very clean the scenery beautiful but above all the friendlyness of the of the staff and owners did it for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tain
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
0.7 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
8.1 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
16.5 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnegie Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnegie Lodge Hotel

Property: Carnegie Lodge Hotel
Address: 6 Viewfield Road, Tain IV19 1NR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Tain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tain
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Carnegie Hotel Tain
Carnegie Lodge Hotel Tain, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing