We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carnegie Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$446
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dornoch Hotel(Dornoch)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
107
21
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
21
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat wee hotelfamily friendsmenu is extensivesteak and merlot pietroutrooms are comfortabledornoch firthscottish hospitalityfirst classbirthday partynothing too much troublea real gembar areasecond to nonethank you very muchlittle toucheslast weekend
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2010

A lovely family run hotel. Set in a lovely countryside with a great view from the dining room. The food is excellent with a good variety, breakfast was a really belly buster. Nothing is to much trouble for Heather and Derek all you have to do is ask, also told us of some great paces to vist in the surrounding area. The rooms are comfortable with everything that you need and with being in the countryside it is very quiet,its nice to hear the birds singing in the morning.Many many thanks the Cogan family.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amiddleton10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We arrived to the Carnegie Lodge Hotel much latter than expected one night after a long drive/36 holes from Cruden Bay. We were short on rest and couldn't find a restaurant open; as almost all dinning establishments close before 10pm. We were greeted with open arms by Derek the owner. He went as far as awakening from his slumber to re-open the kitchen and prepared a wonderful meal from scratch for me and my father. I live in Pinehurst, North Carolina and have very high expectations in regards to golf lodging. The Carngie Lodge exceeded those expectations on every level. On every future journey to Royal Dornoch the only hotel for me and my family/friends will be the Carnegie Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donaldrossgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Spent 3 nights (30 Jul-01 Aug) - very relaxing and enjoyable.
Derek, Heather and their staff can't do enough for their guests - genuinely friendly and welcoming.
Breakfast is awesome, dinner menu has a tremendous variety and shows real flair

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdchisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Touring with friends from New Zealand, we stayed at Carnegie Lodge in Tain. Excellent quiet location, super food and service. Rooms not huge but perfectly comfortable, with little extras like fruit and mineral water. The proprietor, Derek Wynne, and his wife Heather are perfect hosts.

A visit to nearby Glenmorangie Distillery is also well worthwhile.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaineinedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Stopped off here for dinner on a Sunday evening. The staff (both in the bar and the dining room) were among the most friendly and helpful we've had the pleasure of being served by . The menu choice was fantastic with several daily specials on offer too. Tasty food, generous portions and all very reasonably priced. We will defintely return to the Carnegie Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fyrishsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews