We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utmost Quality”
Review of Golf View House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golf View House
Ranked #1 of 15 Tain B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shetland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Utmost Quality”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We rode our bikes up the drive to the house. A beautiful place with stunning views. Bill greeted us as weary travellers and took us in for the night. This place is just one of thise things that you have to do in life to appreciate what makes the difference between quality and the rest. Superb rooms. Every detail taken care of in a thoughtful way. A breakfast menu that makes everyone else's look decidedly shabby. I was expecting the price for the night to be horrendous, but was more than pleasantly surprised. For once a place where true quality didn't make you pay through the nose.

This isn't just a night at a guest house, it is an experience.

Room Tip: There won't be any room in this place that is less than top notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evrynameistaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdmcd, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you both for a great review. Hope the journey back home was dry and the legs weren't too sore. Pop in and see us next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
107
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Bill and Sue run a very friendly B&B with a full menu for breakfast. As we stayed 5 days it was fun to choose each day. The ambience is relaxed, the rooms high quality, And the proximity to Tain and surrounds have us the perfect holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed at Golf View for one night on a flying visit to Tain, cant recommend this B&B highly enough, Bill and Sue great hosts and there property is a credit to them in what can be a thankless occupation at times, very high standard of rooms and decor through out and first class food, if you go for the full on breakfast make sure you are a hearty eater as its quite a portion and not for the faint hearted.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHAPELTOWN, SHEFFIELD
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Golf View House is the only place my husband and I would consider staying at whilst visiting Tain. We arrange our visits according to room availability at the Golf View House, and were very pleased to learn recently that it is now open most of the year round.

We have therefore just spent a most enjoyable 3 days in my home town of Tain, visiting friends and the old familiar places around the town and surrounding area.

Bill and Sue are exceptional hosts, very friendly and welcoming, the rooms are beautiful, and the breakfasts are wonderful.

Anyone wishing to visit Tain should enquire first at the Golf View House for availability.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAROLE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdmcd, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Lovely to see you both again and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay once again. Look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bottom of a mountain Scotland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed here twice a few years ago! Sorry to have never left a review. This is a lovely place and you are made to feel very welcome. Both times we had a large beautiful decorated room at the front of the house with a very comfortable bed and an amazing bathroom. Breakfasts are excellent. I would highly recommend to anyone. The only reason we haven't been back is because we moved only a few miles away. If you are looking for a place to stay in Tain then you've found it don't hesitate to book

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
216 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I recently spent almost five months staying at the Golf View House. I could have not asked for a better place to stay. Sue and Bill are great hosts and did everything they could to make me comfortable during my stay. I was working in the area from Monday to Friday. I would show up on Monday and my room was prepared exactly the way I liked it. The room was spacious, the bathroom was huge and had a great rain shower, and the bed very comfortable. And my favorite part, it was so quiet there. There was a wide selection for breakfast and enough food where you won't go hungry. If you're going to stay in the area make sure you stay at the Golf View House, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the big room in front of the house. The bathroom is huge. Rain shower and heated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdmcd, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thanks for a great review - a bit strange not having you around! Hopefully see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We recently stayed here two nights whilst attending a family funeral. Our host Sue was both charming and helpful. the property is a lovely well kept former Manse house in a terrific position looking out over the Dornoch Firth and only a few minutes walk into the town of Tain.
During our stay we hired 3 rooms in total. All rooms were kept and presented in a very clean manner...Our room number 2 was a twin bedded room,a good size room both bright decor with seating and a lovely large shower room attatched, though I guess if you are tall you may find the single beds rather small, that said they were comfy. Our friends stayed in Room number 4, although this room again nice with ensuite shower they felt it was rather dark with overbearing decor and a large double four poster bed...again though very comfy. My Son stayed in room 3, another large double room with bright decor and large comfy double bed and ensuite shower. We had the opportunity to view room 5, in my opinion the best of the lot, large double bed, bright decor and a view from two windows both on differant aspect.
During our stay Sue made us most welcome, we used the large guests lounge and she was glad to supply wine glasses so we could and enjoy a bottle or two pre evening meal. For the meal we took the 5 minute walk to the Royal Hotel, excellant food and service at a good price only spoiled by their billing system ( a figure on a scarp of paper!!)
Breakfast at Golf View again first class, selection of cereal, Fruit Compot which was a must then a lovely full scottish cooked to order.....dont be in a hurry as it is cooked to order but just sit and savour the views from the dining room.
We were all very satisfied with our stay, the only complaint was that one day we returned at about 1630 to a very cold house as the heating did not come on till 1700. I am sure if Sue had been around then she may have given the heat a boost somewhat sooner.
Although November when we stayed the large garden would be great to laze around in during warmer times just taking in the amazing views.

Room Tip: Double room number 5 is without doubt the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulTroon_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tain
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
0.8 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
357 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Glenmorangie House
5.1 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View House

Property: Golf View House
Address: 13 Knockbreck Road, Tain IV19 1BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Tain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Tain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf View House is a Michelin accredited Guesthouse B&B located in Tain in the Scottish Highlands about 40 mins North of Inverness. We offer 5 comfortable en-suite rooms, a spacious dining room and guest lounge with sea views. Situated in a secluded location on the outskirts of the town we have a large private parking area for our guests and the town centre is a short 3 minute walk where a there are a number of restaurants and bars. Tain, Dornoch, Golspie and Brora Golf Courses are easy driving distance as are Dalmore, Balblair & Glenmorangie Distilleries. Also of interest are Tain Through Time Museum, Dunrobin Castle and the Salmon Leap at the Falls of Shin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Golf View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View House Tain, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing