We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, wonderful rooms, breakfast and lovely managment and staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Golf View House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golf View House
Ranked #1 of 17 Tain B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, wonderful rooms, breakfast and lovely managment and staff.”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had a lovely stay here about 2 weeks ago. The guesthouse is a fine period house set in lovely gardens with a view over the coast. The lounge and breakfast rooms were beautiful, as was our bedroom. Very friendly and helpful owners.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredcouple_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill M, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a positive review - very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
105
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was our 7th stay at Golf View House, Bill and Sue were again the perfect hosts.
The bedroom was extremely comfortable and well decorated. The breakfasts are of a high standard and they set you up well for golf.
The two black labs keep you amused and Sydney is a great golf ball finder.
See you next year! SJB

Room Tip: Room 4 and 5 are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Contented49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill M, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Doesn't time fly!! Thank you for your review. Enjoyed our trips to Tain and Royal Dornoch and especially the Oyster Catcher. Hopefully see you both next year for some wine tasting etc....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is my 2nd stay at Golf View while on business over the past 2-3 years and will definitely be back. Accommodation is ideal, the views fantastic and the ever helpful Bill & Sue make this the best B&B I've stayed at. The choice for breakfast is great and with the town centre literally 5 minutes walk away, you can stroll into town easily. Hopefully I'll will be back up in the area soon.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank StevieDScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdmcd, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Great to see you at Golf View again and many thanks for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Thanks to Bill & Sue, for a wonderful 5 day stay. The sea view room was wonderfull, with stunning views over the sea and golf course. The food was fantastic. The quality and consistency really is of the highest standard. I would recommend everybody to try it.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdmcd, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Golf View from June 14 thru 18, 2013. This was our 10th trip to Scotland for golf. This is the first time we have stayed in Tain. The Golf View is top notch, Bill and Sue are terrific hosts. Sue makes and unbelievable cook to order breakfast that is simply superb. We had a room on the front of the house with a million dollar view of the Dornoch firth and the Tain Golf course. It was an easy 10 minute walk to downtown Tain for our evening meal with plenty of choices of good food at a reasonable price.

The room was spacious, well appointed and the bathroom was huge. Everything in the house was spotless clean. This is our new favorite place to stay in the Highlands. We will be back, soon I hope. Thanks Bil and Sue for a wonderful 5 day stay.

Randy & Debra Kern
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twins87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdmcd, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thanks for a lovely review. Trust you both got home safely and look forward to seeing you again in the future - Happy Golf!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shetland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We rode our bikes up the drive to the house. A beautiful place with stunning views. Bill greeted us as weary travellers and took us in for the night. This place is just one of thise things that you have to do in life to appreciate what makes the difference between quality and the rest. Superb rooms. Every detail taken care of in a thoughtful way. A breakfast menu that makes everyone else's look decidedly shabby. I was expecting the price for the night to be horrendous, but was more than pleasantly surprised. For once a place where true quality didn't make you pay through the nose.

This isn't just a night at a guest house, it is an experience.

Room Tip: There won't be any room in this place that is less than top notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evrynameistaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billdmcd, Owner at Golf View House, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you both for a great review. Hope the journey back home was dry and the legs weren't too sore. Pop in and see us next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Bill and Sue run a very friendly B&B with a full menu for breakfast. As we stayed 5 days it was fun to choose each day. The ambience is relaxed, the rooms high quality, And the proximity to Tain and surrounds have us the perfect holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tain
0.4 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dunbius Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Shandwick House
Shandwick House
#6 of 17 in Tain
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View House

Property: Golf View House
Address: 13 Knockbreck Road, Tain IV19 1BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Tain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Tain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf View House is a Michelin accredited Guesthouse B&B located in Tain in the Scottish Highlands about 40 mins North of Inverness. We offer 5 comfortable en-suite rooms, a spacious dining room and guest lounge with sea views. Situated in a secluded location on the outskirts of the town we have a large private parking area for our guests and the town centre is a short 3 minute walk where a there are a number of restaurants and bars. Tain, Dornoch, Golspie and Brora Golf Courses are easy driving distance as are Dalmore, Balblair & Glenmorangie Distilleries. Also of interest are Tain Through Time Museum, Dunrobin Castle and the Salmon Leap at the Falls of Shin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Golf View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View House Tain, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing