We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in Tain!”
Review of Ross Villa B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ross Villa B&B
Ranked #4 of 15 Tain B&B and Inns
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
“Best place in Tain!”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Very beatiful place ! Lovey house, it just makes you feel like home. Big, cozy and very clean rooms. If i will ever travel again to Scotland this would be the place to stay in :).

Room Tip: All rooms are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoleta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
34
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed at Ross Villa for one night during our motorbike tour of Scotland, to say that this Bed and Breakfast was the simply best is no understatement.
The house and garden are absolutely immaculate, the beds very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. We also had a safe place to park the bike.
The hosts Ian and Rae were very friendly and made us feel very welcome.
Of all the places we stayed on our trip this one stood out for value for money for such excellent surroundings and service. We paid £55 for a very large room which had a double and a single bed and included breakfast.
If you are considering touring up the east side of Scotland to John o' groats this would make an excellent stop over as it is approximately 90 miles to John o' groats.
Tain is quite a small town and we didn't see any pubs as we wandered around. We went to the Shandwick Inn which is on the A9 about four to five miles before you get to Tain and we had a lovely meal here, the portions are not for the faint hearted but if you can save some room for the more than ample deserts as my husband assures me that they are excellent.
If you are travelling in this vacinity you will not find better accomodation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham-Janice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This was an excellent place to stop. Very well appointed and exceptionally clean. The rooms were very comfortable. The shower is legendary, warm and powerful which is quite a novelty for a B&B I have found!
Tain has limited restaurants but what there is a sufficient. Ross Villa is tucked away off the main road so it is very quiet and safe for parking, bikes in our case, but a 5 min walk to the town centre.
Overall, thoroughly recommended as it is superb quality and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RShobrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Wonderful bed and breakfast in a beautiful house within lovely garden grounds. Ray and Ian are very welcoming and friendly hosts, and we would definitely have no hesitation in going back again ourselves or recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaunters_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Ray and Ian made us so welcome - they are fabulous hosts and their home is fantastic (If only I could have a gorgeous home like they have). First class quality beds and bathrooms, breakfast is superb, the whole experience is 5 star+. We've been back two years running and we hope to return again this year in the autumn.

Room Tip: None - all rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ButtonBikeTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Can't fault the place. Nice new building with all amenities you would expect.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevenmfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
250 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Ray and Ian could not have been more welcoming and attentive to our needs. The 3 of us stayed in two of their rooms and enjoyed an excellent breakfast. If in the area again, I would book this for sure. Wonderfully quiet location with lovely view out the back,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globaljoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tain
0.5 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Glenmorangie House
0.7 mi away
Springfield Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ross Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Villa B&B

Property: Ross Villa B&B
Address: Ross Villa Knockbreck Road, Tain IV19 1BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Tain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Tain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ross Villa is a STB 4* recently built property in the Royal Burgh of Tain. The accommodation is spacious and includes one double room and one twin/triple room with TV, complimentary tray, towels & toiletries. The house is situated overlooking the Dornoch Firth towards the Sutherland hills in an extremely quiet location. Private gardens surround the property which is only 5 mins walking time from the town centre. Private car parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ross Villa B&B Tain, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing