We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Glenmorangie House
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We were lucky enough to have a one night stay at the Glenmorangie House. We had a wonderful time in this cozy B&B. We arrived early enough to take a stroll down to the coast before dinner. The formal dinner schedule begins with pre-dinner drinks followed by dinner service and finishes with tea/coffee/drinks after the meal. The food and the service were exceptional. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was large and updated. We had breakfast in the morning before heading out and breakfast service was also excellent. Parking was also available.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2011

I booked the themed whisky weekend they run periodically throughout the year as a special treat for my husband's birthday, as he is quite a big whisky fan. From start to finish, we loved every minute of it. Rather than an impersonal hotel, from the moment we arrived, we felt like guests at a private country residence, but with excellent, professional, knowledgeable and friendly service at all times. Our room was beautiful with a modern marble bathroom and four poster bed, desk, armchairs and everything you would possibly require. A rather impressive boot room is at the disposal of the guests so if you require, you may use some wellingtons and a wax jacket to go off and explore the grounds and private beach, which we did and found it peaceful and beautiful.
When it was time for our evening meal we all met in the drawing room for pre-dinner drinks and canapes, giving everybody the opportunity to meet as a group (as I said it was more like a private house) before being led through to the dining area for what was one of the best meals I've had (I have eaten in most of the Michelin starred restaurants in London), so appreciate good food. Although we went as a couple, an American lady who had a penchant for whisky had been working in Germany and had flown in for the weekend and she commented that she felt totally at ease and comfortable on the weekend and was not made to feel at all out of place as a lone traveller, in fact it was the ideal situation. Breakfast the next day was excellent, then the hotel provided a private coach to take us to the Glenmorangie distillery, where we had a guided tour, before being given a tutoring session on the best way to enjoy and drink whisky (along with lots of different samples). You then have the opportunity to make any purchases you may wish from their extensive collection of very rare whiskies, then it is back for the hotel for sandwiches and soup - again delicious, not that we needed another meal but to soak up the whisky from the morning was probably a good idea! Prior to dinner it was blind tasting before what can only be described as one of the most enjoyable evenings we have spent. It may as well have been New Years Eve as we had pipers, highland dancers, a toast to the haggis and the most wonderful meal once again on one long table. At breakfast the next day, I knew that we would at some point return, it had been so relaxing and enjoyable and more that anything, it was quite a unique situation to find yourself in at a hotel. I will point out at this stage, I am not and never have been a whisky fan, but did try a couple at some of the tasting sessions and even in spite of my not enjoying whisky, I had a thoroughly wonderful time. I will probably return for just a regular weekend in the future as we have already done the visit to the distillery, etc., but I can only imagine we will receive the same excellent service.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BDC-CityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This hotel does not disappoint from the pictures on the website. It is picturesque, set in a beautiful (quiet) location with the sea and private beach one side, and fields the other - where we were offered clay pigeon shooting. The bedrooms had obviously been recently refurbished to a very high standard - great power shower. The food was faultless even if it did leave us rolling home to bed - which was luckily just a flight of stairs away, where a dram awaited us if wanted.

We would definitely come back for another special occasion/weekend away and have recommended widely as a perfect spot to see the beautiful highlands.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelpartout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This was the second stop on a birthday trip for my husband and the one which probably exceeded the most expectations. Glenmorangie House is not far from the main distillery but is a peaceful country house surrounded by barley fields on a gorgeous piece of coast in the northern highlands. The house was fully occupied when we were there but the layout is sprawling and the position of our room offered quite a bit of privacy. They provide Hunter wellington boots and custom-made quilted coats to walk around the property in which was a nice touch. Dinner began with pre-meal canapes and of course a suggestion of whisky in the morning room, followed by a delicious 4 course meal (best on our trip!) paired with wines or whiskeys of our choosing, some of which are not at all widely available off the property. The meals are communal style but we had a great conversation and stayed up in the fireplace room until nearly 2am. If you are a lover of food and whisky or just want a romantic, quiet weekend away, I highly recommend this place! Its nearly a 4 hour drive from Edinburgh but only about 45 minutes from Inverness so offers lots to see on the drives inbetween. Just a suggestion to make sure you book a distillery tour if interested as it is not on the same property despite the name! Also alcohol is not included in the packaged price so be aware when booking

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rlsnyc04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

The standard far exceeded our expectations as did the food and staff knowledge and expertise. We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived at this beautiful house.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeasonedWetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The Glenmorangie house certainly lives up to expectation! The most suprising feature of the accomodation is the stunning surrounding areas - you can walk onto low rising cliffs and a beach within minutes of the accomodation.

We were provided delicious caramel shortbread for afternoon tea.

In the evening all guests eat together so your enjoyment may be impacted by the other guests staying at the same time as you. With that said the food was lovely and the drinks reasonably priced.

The staff were most helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynAlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We arrived here on the 7th day of our 13-day driving trip around Scotland. We loved this peninsula. Something magical about it. The thing I like about Scotland is no one is in a hurry to throw away old things or old ways just because they're old. There are Pictish relics to discover here. This peninsula is a place where you travel on single track roads, through blooming fields of rapeseed, all the while overlooking the water not far away. Just makes you feel good being there. When we pulled up to the Glenmorangie House for the first time, we were thrilled to find it was in such a superb location. The manager and staff were very friendly and made us feel at home. We enjoyed a walk down to the beach, and explored the walled gardens, and marvelled at the abandoned castle on the premises. Dining was elegant, yet casual. It was nice being able to socialize with other guests as we enjoyed canapes, dinner, and drinks. They bring people together on purpose and it's always an interesting and enjoyable time. We only spent one night here and moved on to see more of Scotland over the next 6 days, but this is one of the best, most memorable, places we stayed on the entire trip. It ties with the Ullinish Country Lodge on Skye for superb hosts and staff, service, comfort, dining, and location.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tain
7.2 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
6.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Tain
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
395 reviews
21.7 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
609 reviews
8.9 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenmorangie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenmorangie House

Address: Cadboll, Fearn, Tain IV20 1XP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Tain
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tain
Price Range: £257 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenmorangie House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the unspoilt shores of the Dornoch Firth and nestled amongst the ruins of an old castle this 17th century house is both luxurious and intimate. With everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel, but with the warmth and personality of a country house party, this really is a special place to come and experience the rugged beauty of the highlands.Take a walk along the beach, play a round of golf, visit our distillery and then head back to the house to enjoy award winning food sourced from our own kitchen garden, a surrounding farm or the sea; a quick 200 yard dash down a tree lined path.Glenmorangie House holds the prestigious Michelin Hotel Guide single ‘Red House’ symbol – one of only nine in Scotland. It has also been awarded two Red Rosettes for its food from the AA hotel inspection service and three Red Stars and a red rocking chair for its exceptional accommodation and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Glenmorangie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenmorangie House Hotel Tain
The Glenmorangie House Tain, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing