We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Glenmorangie House
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tain
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
353 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Superior.”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Staying in a hotel as if it was your own manor house.
Very attendful and friendly staff. Cosy and tastefully decorated lounges. We stayed in the backyard
cottage suites that are spacious and also tastefully decorated. Perfect bathroom.
Free caraf of the excellent house whiskey. Just the tv set was rather minuscule given the distance
to the sofa. The screen should be at least double in size.
Delicious dinner and breakfast.
Not cheap but worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
35
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Tucked away in a very tranquil setting not too far from the Glenmorangie Distillery in Tain. The meals we had were fantastic - service and quality of the food and beverage spare no detail and are second to none (even the homemade jams and blood sausage with breakfast the next morning were memorable). David made us feel like royalty! We stayed in the cottages behind the main house, which was nice and private (fantastic shower and water pressure). We went on quaint walks along the water towards the village - beautiful. The drams of Glenmorangie Original 10 year scotch didn't hurt either! Overall, a very memorable stay: It's worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SebastienMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

From the wonderful staff to the beautiful rooms and grounds of Glenmorangie! Completely over the top! The bagpiper before dinner, Scott's Address to a Haggis and letting us try his bagpipes! The cuisine was excellent and the views breathtaking! The history of the castle and the Glenmorangie logo and whiskey! But the staff, the staff of guys and gals who are so gracious, welcoming and knowledgeable. I can only hope to get back there one day!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inlovewithTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Peter, Martin, all the girls and lads working there, I have no words how to thank for the experience.
We're on the distillery trail for 7 days troughout the Scotland. Stayed 1 night at the Glenmorangie house after being invited for Signet tasting. The rooms, you just feel like a king, and the smell of whisky just takes you back on the time travel. The out of this world presentation, warm welcome, guys serving the drings, making cocktails and staying awake with us for whole night, and having so much fun, while enjoying the friendship, extraordinary hospitality and one of the best malts in the world...
I can recommend you to take the golf clubs at the entrance and try some golf at 2 am after few bottles of Glenmorangie... priceless

All in all, a real once in a lifetime experience

Room Tip: All the rooms are so royal chick... but ask to stay at the House not the rooms outside the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kreso C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My son and I visited from the US, and from the moment we were welcomed at the "front door" by Martin and Peter to our departure the following morning we could not have asked for anything more.

Our cottages were perfect, and from the evening meal to our departing breakfast it was truly an outstanding experience.

One could not find any complaints, indeed "the icing on the cake" of our short trip to Scotland and Glenmorangie house.
Thank you,
Roger and Andrew Holt.
Virginia,US.

Room Tip: Any room in the hotel or the ajoining cottages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kingti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We recently stayed here for two nights and it was a great experience. The staff are excellent and very well informed about the Glenmorangie products.
Rooms are large and spacious and its a really quiet "get away from it all" location.
The dining experince is also highly recommended which is done on a communal "dinner party" basis. It makes for an interesting evening usually although conversation can be a little difficult if some of the guests don't have much English.
Overall though a great experince for any Scotch Whisky lovers which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We were lucky enough to have a one night stay at the Glenmorangie House. We had a wonderful time in this cozy B&B. We arrived early enough to take a stroll down to the coast before dinner. The formal dinner schedule begins with pre-dinner drinks followed by dinner service and finishes with tea/coffee/drinks after the meal. The food and the service were exceptional. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was large and updated. We had breakfast in the morning before heading out and breakfast service was also excellent. Parking was also available.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tain
7.2 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
6.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
191 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
357 reviews
9.0 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
760 reviews
8.8 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenmorangie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenmorangie House

Property: The Glenmorangie House
Address: Cadboll, Fearn, Tain IV20 1XP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Tain
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenmorangie House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the unspoilt shores of the Dornoch Firth and nestled amongst the ruins of an old castle this 17th century house is both luxurious and intimate. With everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel, but with the warmth and personality of a country house party, this really is a special place to come and experience the rugged beauty of the highlands.Take a walk along the beach, play a round of golf, visit our distillery and then head back to the house to enjoy award winning food sourced from our own kitchen garden, a surrounding farm or the sea; a quick 200 yard dash down a tree lined path.Glenmorangie House holds the prestigious Michelin Hotel Guide single ‘Red House’ symbol – one of only nine in Scotland. It has also been awarded two Red Rosettes for its food from the AA hotel inspection service and three Red Stars and a red rocking chair for its exceptional accommodation and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Glenmorangie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenmorangie House Hotel Tain
The Glenmorangie House Tain, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing