We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class, THE Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Glenmorangie House
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Native Scot touring with two American friends. This was the BEST stop of our trip without question.
Truly outstanding friendly and professional staff. David, our "factotum" gave us the warmest welcome and catered to our every need.
Served afternoon tea and dinner with introductions to whiskies, closed our rooms for bed while we had a superb dinner and made sure our after dinner lounge had a lovely fire roaring.
Breakfast served by Janet and Maggie who handled our reservations and made sure everything was to our satisfaction, and Manager Robert, all introduced themselves. This level of service and appropriately warm professional friendliness is outstanding.
Thank you all for giving guests to this magnificent part of the world a memorable stopover.

Room Tip: I'd take the tip to avoid Strathearn suite as it is above staff rooms. Voices, even polite and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamesa0330NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Friendly service, relaxed atmosphere & beautiful surroundings. The tasting dinner was just fabulous, with each course better than the last. Such a peaceful escape from a busy life. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights here recently for the Whisky Tasting Experience. The whole weekend went smoothly and was perfect: Flight from Gatwick > Inverness, pick up at Inverness by Billy in his Mercedes People Carrier, greeted at the house and shown bedroom, then straight into the lounge to relax for afternoon Tea. (Billy is a real character, being a local knows the area well).

Dave assisted by Ronnie hosted the 1st evening whisky tasting. Some of it was carried out blindfold in order that we could put our sense of smell to the test, followed by getting our taste buds to wake up etc. etc. My wife had not tasted whisky before but she identified more things than me, plus liked the idea of various types of chocolate to accompany the different whiskies.

Think I may have a problem at home now and will have to lock my favourite Glenmoranie away.

The dinner that evening was excellent followed by coffee in the lounge with a roaring log fire and one or two 'nightcaps' of Nectar D'or.

Distillery visit the next day was very informative and again more tasting combined with chocolate. Return to the house for lunch before having a couple of hours break to walk along the beach to the famous Cadboll Stone before returning for Clay Pigeon shooting. We had never held a shotgun before, but David was patient and schooled us very well and a good time was had by all.

Back for afternoon tea and a whisky tasting quiz, based on what we should have learned the previous evening. All good fun and a bit of a laugh. After this we had a presentation on the Signet Whisky and yet again a wee dram to taste. Time to change for dinner (smart dress) ahead of the evening entertainment at the Ceilidh.

Superb meal, great entertainment with the piper dancers, violinists, singer and participating in the dancing if you wanted to.

Breakfasts were excellent with a varied choice. Every member of staff was attentive and friendly and were there to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Would I go back, yes, to take friends so they could experience it. But would have to save up a little first as it is expensive, but as the saying gores, you only get what you pay for!!.

Room Tip: I would suggest the bedrooms in the house rather than the cottages, especially the Morayshire Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teenager65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were lucky enough to stay in the well appointed Morayshire Suite. Beautiful decor, stunning view and the whole house was breathtaking.
The food was delicious, I do not usually eat much fish, Glenmorangie House fish was like no other. Very, very good cuisine. The hosts were all lovely and chatty and it was nice to be staying somewhere with everyone being on first name terms,
The other guests were an absolute hoot and we had an impromptu Ceilidh and more drams.
This is an excellent place to stay and I cannot wait to go back again.
Thank you so much for a marvellous and memorable stay at this magnificent house.

Room Tip: Try all of the fish dishes even if like me you are not a big fish eater. Delicious, If possible as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Perhaps we were just unlucky to have chosen the wrong date to visit this "Michelin hotel" or perhaps our expectation was too high when we saw those beautiful photos and read those splendid descriptions on its website, our stay was quite disappointing.

The weather was bad. It was very cloudy and windy, but the most intolerable was that the wind came with lots of soil because the farmland nearby had just turned the soil to prepare for planting. Because of this reason, we were unavoidably covered with soil whenever we went outside.

We stayed in the cottages as we wanted to have more privacy but it turned out to be a bad decision because we needed to fight against the strong winds that came with soil every time when we went to main house for pre-dinner tasting, dinner and breakfast. What gave us a nightmare was the limited hot water supply! That night my brother took a quick shower for around 10 mins and we were completely run out of hot water supply for the whole night. The hotel staff first asked me to wait for 30 mins as he claimed that their system would have the whole container of water heated within 20 mins. Given the fact that there was already 20 mins time gap between my brother's shower and my first attempt, I tried to wait for 20 mins longer as I believed the equipment of a "Michelin hotel" should be of top standard. At that time, it was already after 11:40 pm. The result was unfortunately frustrating. There was still no sign of hot water coming out from the taps. Although the hotel staff eventually let me to use the bathroom of an empty cottage, I still needed to face the strong winds with lots of soil and suffered from inadequate sleep (unable to sleep until after 1:30 am).

The food and beverage are up to standard. That made us feel better. But the complimentary bottle of whisky was in fact far less than the one showed on the website - just 2 to 3 sips for each persons.

For 370 GBP per room, there is definitely a delink between what we had expected and what we got at the end. We definitely would have better experience if we had chosen any other five-star hotels - at least we would have adequate supply of hot water for shower or even bath.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amkcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending one night at the magical Glenmorangie House in December 2013. Even though we were there for little over 24 hours, it felt as if we had been away for days. If the magical location atop a clliff and spectacular five course meal wasn't enough, the hospitality and bespoke service from the staff . We weren't sure what to expect as we arrived at Inverness Airport, but we were met by our amazing driver Billy who collected us and drove us back to the lodge. His knowledge of the region and general conviviality put us at complete ease - he even shouted us a round at the local pub later that day! We arrived to an otherwise empty house and were told we would have it all to ourselves for the night. My husband enjoyed a selection of Glenmorangie's finest whiskeys (many on the house) while I relaxed in our incredible room with sea views, and an enormous and luxurious marble bathroom! Front of house David was the perfect host, attentive without being overbearing. Chefs David and Pete were also incredibly personable and willing to share trade secrets! We enjoyed an impeccable five course meal - fresh scallops, beautiful mallard and traditional Scottish fare. The next morning we were greeted with another five star breakfast, and the staff even gave us a haggis to take home and cook at my husband's request! The little things are what makes Glenmorangie so special - the amazing library of books and National Geographics, the room full of Hunter gumboots and Barbour jackets at your disposal for beach walks, even bacon sandwiches for lunch! Highly recommend as a remote and ultra romantic destination.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Visited here on a Monday evening with my partner in October.

The service and food was amazing, as to be expected with an establishment of this nature.

Pre-dinner drinks in the drawing room where we met the guests staying there, all of which spoke incredibly highly of the level of service and amenities. We then went through to the dining room and enjoyed a well executed and creative meal with each course descibed in detail. The conversation flowed between the guests and we felt very relaxed.

All in all it was an enjoyable evening and would definitely recommend. Well done to David ( still waiting for my parsley ;) ), John and all the staff at Glenmorangie house.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tain
7.2 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
13.2 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
945 reviews
21.7 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
12.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
430 reviews
6.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Tain
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenmorangie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenmorangie House

Address: Cadboll, Fearn, Tain IV20 1XP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Tain
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tain
Price Range: £235 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenmorangie House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the unspoilt shores of the Dornoch Firth and nestled amongst the ruins of an old castle this 17th century house is both luxurious and intimate. With everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel, but with the warmth and personality of a country house party, this really is a special place to come and experience the rugged beauty of the highlands.Take a walk along the beach, play a round of golf, visit our distillery and then head back to the house to enjoy award winning food sourced from our own kitchen garden, a surrounding farm or the sea; a quick 200 yard dash down a tree lined path.Glenmorangie House holds the prestigious Michelin Hotel Guide single ‘Red House’ symbol – one of only nine in Scotland. It has also been awarded two Red Rosettes for its food from the AA hotel inspection service and three Red Stars and a red rocking chair for its exceptional accommodation and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Glenmorangie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenmorangie House Hotel Tain
The Glenmorangie House Tain, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing