We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out...!!”

Balblair Distillery
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Tain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great day out...!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I would recommend a day out at Balblair Distillery, well presented tour offering an educational historical background with modern Improvements. Refreshments are an added bonus.....!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank malxster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is something quite special about Balblair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

There are things quite special about a visit to Balblair. My wife and I visited in September prompted by the knowledge that it was a location for the film “The Angels’ Share” and having seen its picturesque setting. There were five of us on the guided tour, (we two and three Norwegians on a weekend whisky trek). Our guide Allison Ridell was a delight and a fount of knowledge, complemented by the expertise of Mike Ross one of the distillers.

The video presentation was very informative but the highlights were the tour to the very heart of the distillery and the very location of the shoot where Robbie (Paul Brannigan) and friends pull it off in the Angels’ Share and the whisky tasting which gave us the opportunity to try four single malts. On our advice, and having tasted the Vintage 97 that we returned with to Wales three Belgium friends visited in October and described Balblair as the best of the distilleries that they visited. What a beautiful setting, lovely staff and a great product.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLenaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddington, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb and caring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Visited in October and really enjoyed it. We were the only people on the tour but they were still more than happy to take us around. We even got to put the date onto some fresh barrels! My grandfather can't walk very quickly but it was no problem for them to take it slow so he could see it all. The shop in fantastic and the fact they have a photo of all the employees on one tiny stretch of wall just goes to show how small scale and tight knit the workers are. Very friendly and even better to think you are on a film set when your there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack H W R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Visited last week whilst on our annual whisky tour. A great tour, fantastic tasting room and fun interactive video presentation. A good tasting experience and a knowledgeable friendly guide. A really good experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not so well-known, but interesting nonetheless”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

A newcomer to the world of whisky tours, despite its more than 200-year history. Lucked out to have a private tour just for us, and the scenery is quite spectacular. It was clear that they were new to this, since distillery workers were looking a bit suspiciously at us - can't blame them though. Anyhow, the tour was quite good, liked their approach to photography, they won't bust you like at some other. Had a taste of 1997 and 2002 vintages while watching accompanying clips to each and bought a bottle of the 2002. Can't give an excellent, I've visited too many distilleries to do that, but would visit again if I had the chance. 8.6 / 10

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marek90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balblair Distillery also viewed

Alness, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Balblair Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing