We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the friendliest of Welcomes!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tain
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not the friendliest of Welcomes!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I arrived at the Mansfield Castle for my first and last visit at 9.10pm. On checking in I asked if it was possible to have something to eat but was informed the chef had finished for the evening. A bit surprising considering they were still serving deserts in the dining room. How about some soup or sandwiches? Sorry cannot do anything was the reply but they could provide the address of a local takeaway!

Rooms were comfortable but the initial unhelpful response spoiled the experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    55
    39
    14
    11
See reviews for
38
88
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The welcome at Reception was friendly and the offer of carrying our bags to our room was kind. We were shown to our room, which was a nice touch. Our room was lovely - views out over the gardens and a lovely window seat in the bay window. The furnishings and decor throughout the hotel were tasteful and well kept. The bathroom was lovely and spacious - and everything was exceptionally clean.
A pot of tea in the bar at 5pm was no problem to the lovely and helpful barmaid - who told me she was local.
Dinner was fabulous - much, much better than I had expected. We ordered in the bar whilst relaxing with friends and were ushered to the dining room when our starters were ready.
Breakfast was very good - with all the ingredients for a Bloody Mary available on the buffet table. However I did expect slightly more when I ordered just beans, tomato and potato scone; most other places I have been offer to make your plateful up to a breakfast size.
Check out was efficient and easy.
The only disappointments were that the complementary decanter of sherry and the cuddly dog advertised on the hotel website as being in every room were not actually there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Needed to stay longer to explore the place better.
Friendly reception staff, the chef prepared the nice dinner for the whole group (we ordered in advance). The dinner was excellent!!!
And the breakfast in the morning, too!
Unlike many other hotels in the UK it was very warm in the rooms.
The bar had a nice selection of drinks (we tasted lots of whisky there during the evening).
Several lounges throughout the castle to sit with the friends if you don't want to be in the bar (at least 2 pretty rooms on the 2d floor).
Stunning view from the roof of the Tower Suite!!!

Room Tip: don't remember if there is wi-fi in the rooms, but in the public areas the connection was free a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I stayed there 2 nights in late July, 2014. I can't say enough nice things about the staff, particularly the owner/manager himself. He was so helpful and friendly to a couple of foreigners to Tain, Scotland. The hotel itself (a big house, really) was confortable. The room we stayed in was large and the bathroom was the largest and nicest hotel bath that I have ever seen. Breakfasts (included with the room fee) and dinners (extra) were good and the wait staff paid attention to our needs without being too often present. We really liked this one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at this amazing hotel over last weekend and had a fantastic break. I had always wanted to stay in a castle and loved every minute. The food was excellent, the staff very friendly and the owner mixed freely with the guests. A stunning place and we'll definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbo662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is not the first time in Mansfield Castle because is a great hotel.The staff is really very friendly, all time asking if is something else they can help me
Romantic style and very clean room.
Food delicious and very confortable dinning room.
Beautifull park to enjoy outdoor,not only in the hotel. Is beautifull place to visit.
The barI is very friendly and they have a wonderful whiskys

Room Tip: If somebody come with a partner I would recommend the room in the tower, they looks so romantic and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Esmeralda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Myself and my partner stayed the last 2 nights and absolutely loved this hotel. The quality of the food, the ambiance and the attention to detail from the staff far exceeded our expectations. A great place for a romantic break.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Btaperell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tain
5.1 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
8.4 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansfield Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansfield Castle Hotel

Property: Mansfield Castle Hotel
Address: Scotsburn Road, Tain IV19 1PR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Tain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mansfield Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mansfield Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansfield Castle Hotel Tain, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing