We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay in Tain” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tain
Certificate of Excellence
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Place to Stay in Tain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Recently stayed at the Royal Hotel for the weekend because of a family celebration. The atmosphere is relaxed but very efficient. Nothing is too much trouble for Ivan and his friendly, helpful staff. The food was excellent - both for breakfast and at the wedding dinner. The breakfast menu is extensive and I particularly enjoyed the scambled egg and smoked salmon. We look forward to another enjoyable stay when we return to the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    68
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
25
53
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We only had dinner there, so this review is limited to the restaurant. It's one of the few places where one can find a late meal that is more than just fish and chips, and the food was very good and reasonably priced. Service was enthusiastic (though a bit slow), and the dining room has all the ambiance one would expect from a venerable old hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cardiffjops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I researched the Royal Hotel when looking at staying in Tain. It had good reviews and I would have stayed there; however, they were booked on the night I needed and I ended up staying in Inverness. Skip forward to my Sunday arrival in Tain when I found myself unexpectedly without a taxi (BIG HINT: taxis are infamously few and far between in the Tain area). Time was getting short and, when I recognized the Royal Hotel, I went in to lobby. I approached the front desk to inquire about a taxi service and the gentleman immediately helped me (even though I wasn't a guest). After proceeding to contact a couple taxi services on my behalf to no avail, he let the other staff at the desk know he'd be right back and offered to give me a ride personally!!

The Glenmorangie Distillery is a bit of a walk outside of Tain (especially with luggage), so this gesture was above and beyond what I would have expected. A HUGE thank you to Ivan, the manager of the Royal Hotel and a genuinely great gentleman. If your commitment to phenomenal customer service is indicative of the service within the hotel, then the guests who seek accommodation will be guaranteed a wonderful stay. I know I will seek out a reason to stay at the Royal Hotel and have already referred friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDB-by-Train
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We recently stayed at the Royal Tain as part of a family visit to the area. Ivan, the manager, and all the Hotel staff were exceptionally welcoming and made us feel right at home. Rooms were well proportioned and comfortable. Excellent freshly prepared food available at the restaurant and bar for evening meals and we have subsequently eaten here again on another visit to the area because it was that good. Reasonably priced meals which leave you feeling full and satisfied. Breakfast is the morning is freshly prepared and you can enjoy the traditional full cooked breakfast or even kippers!

If you are ever in the area don't go anywhere else, the Royal Tain is superior for eating and staying.

Room Tip: Because there is no lift, if you plan on staying and have mobility issues it is worth asking for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KB12Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridge of allan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stopped for 1 night.
Old and worn around the edges but nice. An institution that still delivers if you're not looking for anything too modern.
Good food. Rooms small (single), helpful staff, good location for town centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malbofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed here on a cycling holiday for one night recently. Lovely looking place from the outside, Tain is a small town with a few shops and I walked the high street in 10 minutes (just to give you some perspective). Inside, the hotel decor looks a bit dated but the staff were very efficient and caring. There is no lift and I had a heavy case so the trip to the room was a bit tough. Getting to the rooms took a while as well as there were a few corridors to contend with. When I got there though, it was pretty good. The bathroom was a bit dated but the overall level of equipment was good. We had a rear facing room and it was a bit noisy (but not too bad - Tain is quite small). The evening meal was a 3 course in the function room which was quite good (I had salmon and given the portion sizes could have eaten 2 of them). The service was quick and efficient. Overall pretty good.

Room Tip: Try and get a room not facing the rear as it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

After a very convivial welcome and starter the whole experience went downhill. The mains were late and overdone and the staff completely ignored us after collecting the plates. After watching the staff larking about behind the bar for over half an hour I had to go and get the supervisor to take our dessert order. That was not as the menu and delivered with bad grace and very messy, especially mine. I wonder what it was supposed to look like and whether I have eaten something that wasn't on the menu.
They probably get away with this being one of very few eateries in the town open in the evening

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidHalleyBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tain
0.4 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
0.5 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
15.9 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: High Street, Tain IV19 1AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Tain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Tain, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing